Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Simple Realms

by mramaizng - Jam Entry

This is our game: Simple Realms. It was built by a team of 3. Somethings are a bit funky... We like to think the game just has character. In any case. We can't wait to hear your feedback.

Sounds By: http://www.bfxr.net/
Songs provided by Spiff Tune: https://soundcloud.com/spifftune/
Custom font provided at: http://www.fontspace.com/codeman38/press-start-2p

Images were done with photoshop and Pixelmator mostly

source: https://github.com/beersbr/ludum_dare_30

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#220Fun(Jam)3.32
#240Humor(Jam)2.77
#419Audio(Jam)2.97
#444Overall(Jam)3.13
#626Mood(Jam)2.59
#634Graphics(Jam)2.73
#687Theme(Jam)2.19
#705Innovation(Jam)2.24

Comments

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04am

Fun game, made it all the way and killed the dragon. Great sound effects, and great difficulty level. Difficult, but not horribly difficult, so I kept wanting to play.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21am

I forgot to mention, I am going to see those bear faces in my sleep. Thanks!

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27am

@Scott Baker : Haha, the same thing happened to me as soon as they were added to the repo. They crack me up!

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

Really enjoyed this.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36am

Yeah those bears are creepy as hell. Overall pretty nice and fun for a while. Beat the big bear boss before closing.

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

Its like bomberman mixed with binding of Isaac :)

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04am

Best part is the first boss bear, he is ridiculous looking. Was certainly a fun entry.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24am

it's a nice, simple game. Combat flowed well, and sounds and music were really well done
Also, is level loading based on internet speed? (my internet is going slow) Going to the next level took forever to load

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34pm

@Maxium - Binding of Isaac was indeed a source inspiration. :)
@Miziziziz - The levels are each their own file, but it's not that much data. I'm sorry it is taking a while for you. I'll look into making it a bit quicker. Thank you for the heads up!

jawm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34pm

decent game

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Good game! Solid mechanics. Sometimes the game would not let me go through doors unless I ran into them a few times. I'd also say the music was too quiet. The art really cracks me up for some reason. Love the bears and the Bomberman-like main character. Good job.

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:14pm

The bears are great! I really enjoyed the game!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Fun game! The load times between levels were a little sluggish at times, but it wasn't too bad. Also sometimes after switching levels my movement would get stuck, this caused me to walk into spikes and die after starting a new level even though I wasn't pressing any keys. I'm not entirely sure how it fits the theme, though I may not have played it enough to see that. Restarting the whole game on death was a bit discouraging at times as well.

That aside I really enjoyed the game. The art had a fun style to it and the overall gameplay was pretty smooth. Music and atmosphere had a new feel to it also. Great job! I'd love to see this built up and and expanded on some more!

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05pm

@LTPATS Thank you so much for the helpful review. I think we would like to expand on it a bit more as well. It was a blast to make. There are some buggy things, loading levels was not done as elegantly as it could have been, so the sluggishness comes from not letting ajax do its thing asynchronously. That can definitely be fixed.

The keys getting stuck has happened to a few people. I'm still trying to work out WHY it does that.

Well there different worlds and originally it wasn't going to be linear but there would be two doors and all the worlds would be connected and similar with different stuff on them. We didn't make it that far. Between content creation, coding, and our lack of experience we did what we could by the deadline.

Again, thank you for the great input!

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Very fun game! Good sounds and music.

matteblack says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Great game guys!

JoeEliTommy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Nice action game! The graphics are cute, and the music is really sweet! Those chords are classic.

The gameplay is also really fun, though I was briefly frustrated by the snakes. The unfortunate combination was:
(1) the snakes are agile in all directions, and
(2) it's only possible to shoot in 4 directions; hence,
(3) it takes practice to learn to fight them effectively, but
(4) upon dying, the entire game must be restarted.
Also, it's questionable whether the randomness (enemies and powerups) was good for your game.

I suppose the theme is technically fulfilled, since each level is thematically distinct, and connected to the next via a doorway.

Anyway, I enjoyed it!
-- Tommy

mramaizng says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:50pm

@JoeEliTommy Thank you for the great feedback. We also felt the randomness was not super useful as the snakes are a bit too agile and they are hard to kill in great numbers mixed with the cactuses. We just didn't have enough time to tweak things the way we wanted before submission date.

The difficulty progression of the game could be tweaked a quite a bit. We are working on a cleaner version but we don't want to confuse that version with the ludum version. In any case we would love to get your feedback on the new version. Thank you for the great feedback!!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:00am

Cool concept. It kind of reminds me of Adventure, or maybe Zelda.

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:26am

Nice little game, surprisingly fun! I'm not very good though (especially when the vegetation starts trying to kill you too) so I only made it to the boss of the second world. Good job!

Kyatric says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Too bad the controls (WASD) doesn't take into account the international keyboards/users.

I arrived once at the Bear boss, but frustrated because I couldn't control properly my character I rage quitted.

I haven't seen it, but I guess from the other comments, that once a boss is beaten, you're taken to another "world" with a similar layout but possibly stronger mobs.

Music's volume was a bit low as well, it changes from entries where a "bad" music will roar at your ears.

Congratulations on making a game during the jam.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:54pm

@Kyatric Thanks for pointing out the keyboard issue. We didn't even think about that, and will try to apply a fix today. We would love for you to take another stab at it once we do, so you aren't left out.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:08pm

@Kyatric it is now setup to support ZQSD layouts. If there is another layout you need, please let us know.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Oh I hate these controls. It's not your fault I hated them since I play the binding of issac.
At least the game wasn't too hard so I didn't have to endure for too long.
The audio was nice. The graphics did their job, although I think they could deserve some love :D

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Great game, it reminded me of Zelda and Bomberman. Good graphics, audio and levels progression. It could do with an improved AI but it was a good experience nonetheless. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]