Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stomper

by mipi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

wohoo! done!

---Instructions to a new Player---
------------------------------------------------
-You can make changes to left and right side. You must make the two sides identical to each other.
-You must optimize your play and think carefully as you can't click infinitely. Starts easy and goes nuts hard! Enjoy!

Controls:
-Click to shoot
-R to retry level
-Number keys 1,2,3... to change weapons Or Click to weapon icons.
-Sometimes it's smart to click the blue background with weapons that have large radius.

Please don't rate if you don't play past lvl 2 to see any other weapons than the starting pistol!
------------------------------------------------

Update(25.8.2014):
-A "5-minute fix" for a game breaking win condition bug was done.

Update(26.8.2014) Post-Compo:
-Fixed problem with twice looping background music after completing the game with sounds on.
-Fixed problem with freezed whites not properly turning to whites (but blues) after melting.
-Shooting sounds now work when shooting anywhere on the playing field (which includes
the empty blue background)

Update(28.8.2014) Post-Compo2:
-Removed old level 2, player gets faster to the interesting gameplay ( it felt a bit unnecessary and people just might quit playing... )
-Added visualization helpers for the different weapons.

Update (29.8.2014) Post-Compo2:
-Changed the freeze graphics to proper ones from the temp graphics.
-Better information about different medal conditions for the player.
-Improved the tutorial: Now player learns quickly and easily the gun selection.
-Tweaked the medal condition values.

Update (30.8.2014) Post-Compo2:
-Main menu level selection was added.
-Save loading functionality: Game now remembers which level you were in after you start the game again.
-Freeze now cancels out after being used instead of staying since the freeze is practically needed only occasionally and not repeatedly.

New content is coming soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#390Fun3.23
#436Humor2.50
#468Innovation3.27
#666Overall3.10
#739Audio2.34
#776Mood2.74
#948Theme2.60
#1104Graphics2.14

Comments

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39am

Logic game... I love logic games. And your game too!)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Greatly done logic game!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03am

Hi there. Nice puzzler you've made there. Like the chiptone music. Like lights-out for the modern age...

Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:05am

Fun little puzzler. I like it.
~funkeh

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:42pm

This one is clever! The music is.. interesting :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Nice puzzle game. Only thing odd for me were the drawings or photos of the guns.

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Curse you for taking away my pistol. I was doing fine half-assing my way through the levels. Then suddenly I had to start thinking.

I did manage to finish the game in the end. Great fun!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:23pm

I like the enhancements in the post compo too! I got to play some levels and I like how the different arms play in the game. Good luck with the entry.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Awesome innovation! A very fun puzzle game!

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Cool puzzle game, and I liked the different ways of changing the tiles, which made it a lot more interesting in terms of trying to figure out the least number of moves. Not sure how the gun/weapon imagery fit in though. It may be nicer for the overall look of the game to go with more abstract images depicting what can be done. Just a thought, but well done!

dunin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:33pm

interesting logic game. I like the music.
I think weapons would be on pixel-art too. And a little explanation about each will be nice...

pjimmy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:52pm

very nice puzzle game

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:05pm

This game is great! I would love to see even more puzzles.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Nicely done. Made me think, but wasn't aggravatingly difficult.

mocker says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:20pm

good concept for a puzzle, I didn't get far enough to see more weapons. color scheme kinda hurts my eyes though

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nice puzzle game!

mocker says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I did see several weapons just not all in the screenshot, definitely enough to get a feel for the gameplay.. I think that's being a little defensive.

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Good job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I like this one. Great puzzle game.

Oana says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:18am

I really liked the idea, and had quite a bit of fun with it. The post-compo version fixes a lot of the issues I had initially (like trying to figure out what the shotgun did). I still have to vote based on the original, but good job in understanding the issues the game initially had and fixing them!

Only one complaint: music gave me a headache. Literally. Sorry man, love your game, but it needs new music!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]