Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galactic Tollway Authority

by AdricZero - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Description:
Pirates are attacking the shipping lanes of the galaxy.

You run the Galactic Tollway Authority (GTA) and manage wormhole gates that can instantly transport space ships across the galaxy and connect worlds together. This keeps the ships out of the shipping lanes and away from the pirates and makes you a tidy profit at the same time.

Instructions:
Drag the gates around the galaxy and position them near planets.

Wormholes travel in only one direction, so you will have to earn enough in tolls to buy new gates.

You also have to maintain your existing gates as they break down often.

Collect enough in tolls to maintain your gate inventory and not run out of cash.

If you can build your gate network and keep the ships away from pirates long enough you will win the level.


Tips:
The ships have to pass by a wormhole to decide to take it our not.

If the gate does not take them near their destination, you won't collect any tolls. Time for a new gate!

About:
This was built using JavaScript and Phaser

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#141Theme3.82
#414Innovation3.35
#422Fun3.20
#560Audio2.71
#666Overall3.10
#688Graphics2.90
#879Humor1.79
#965Mood2.46

Comments

AdricZero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Fixed game not loading due to .ogg files with Safari. Converted and added MP3 versions to load properly.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28pm

I liked how the ships (mostly) find the shortest path between the planets. Screen size should be smaller, on a laptop, I often had to scroll to find a gate I just bought, and the game crashed on the 3rd level.

prophile says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Interesting. I like way this works. It's not immediately obvious how to play at the start of the game, it could use more tutorial.

Reyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Nice idea. Would be good to see which is the selected gate.

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Nice! That game was fun. I wish the graphics were a little bigger, but it was really enjoyable.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Gameplay needs refine. Tutorial must be better.
liked the idea though.

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13pm

I Like grind type games! Much fun! Sometimes the sounds effects are too much heaped (when too much conections)

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Take that pirates! Really interesting idea and a fun game, well done :)

Squidtank says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

This is an awesome game. It is a little confusing at first and I think if there was a better indication of which end of the wormhole I was picking up it'd be a bit easier. I see the purple outline but it gets hard when dealing with so many wormholes.

I'd definitely love to see this as a finished game!

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Interesting concept and nice graphics :)

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Cool, quit innovative gameplay. Would perhaps like some distinction between wormhole entrance and wormhole exit. Great game though, would be well worth polishing up a bit post-compo and releasing.

rjhunter says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:42pm

I like it!

I found it started a bit quickly -- I felt a bit flustered while I figured out what was going on. I'd like to see this developed further.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Great little sci-fi game!

Capitals says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I enjoyed it but I found that it crashed for no obvious reason at points.

dunin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:03pm

interesting idea.
Need more test and polish (hard to see pirats, sound fx too presents, need to see Tollways, we don't really have to manage cash...)
anyway, it took me a while...

mrjohnson22 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

This is a fun game, but it was hurt by cryptic UI. It took me a few tries before I could tell what was going on and what I was supposed to do, but that wouldn't have happened if the the game's visuals did a better job of explaining things.

For instance, entry & exit wormholes are coloured differently from each other, but that doesn't inherently indicate which is which until the player sees how ships interact with them (the chosen colours are also hard to tell apart). If they each had a different icon, like an O for an entry and an X for an exit, there would have been no problem. It's also not possible to know which wormholes are paired until they're clicked on or when a "repair/offline" message pops up on them; maybe each wormhole could have a little number beside it that's the same as the one it's paired with.

Also, it looks like the only indicator of a ship's destination is the direction in which it travels. It would have been nice to have colour-coded the ships the same as their destination planets, to make it easier to set up efficient wormhole paths without having to wait & see where ships are trying to get to.

The game itself is enjoyable, though! If you fixed those UI issues and maybe added some new features, like roadblocks or something, this could shape up to be pretty interesting.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:17am

Once I figured out the gameplay it was fun. Keep working on this one.

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Liking the take on 'connected worlds' - enjoyed the sounds and background music. Unfortunately it seemed to bug out and freeze on level 3 :( but was fun nevertheless!

Great job!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Really cool idea! It got a bit confusing when I had too many wormholes, as I couldn't tell which direction they went,but I'd like to see this game developed further. :)

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Great use of the theme, I thought it was pretty fun too!

Endurion says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Can't fairly vote.

Loading screen plus progress bar appears. Title appears, music starts playing, but the game doesn't start on a click.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Wasnt quite sure how to play in the end. I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mlEPiXm0ehY

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]