Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

City of Marble

by strong99 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Witness your sister being kidnapped by the overly eager police from the city of Marble. Venture through the world of telecommunications as you try to get her back.

True connected worlds through telecommunications and physics running.

-----
The game runs on the Islandworks' GameCreator. I tested the game in Chrome, Opera and IE10. Hopefully the audio works in all the browsers. If not, please leave me a message. Thank you! (wav/ogg and mp3 audio support).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#204Mood3.44
#291Innovation3.51
#298Graphics3.51
#339Overall3.42
#423Audio2.91
#545Fun3.06
#600Theme3.20
#630Humor2.22

Comments

raulincze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46am

Hi! The webpage you linked to is not working for me. (This webpage is not available - Chrome)

strong99 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

I can't reproduce that. But I added a cached version with a separate link. If you still experience any problems, ask :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Good idea, read your post, 10 hours of sleep in 2 days is not much at all :D

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02pm

After you overload, or disable a unit you cant ever reactivate it, this means you can simply gameover by overloading around 4 units...

So i got the whole board under control and now? Researching doesnt seem to bring any valuable infos... Did i win?

strong99 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:22pm

@coffeemuggames Thanks.

@DrCicerco The research gives you a clue on the location on the map. You should find a route to get there. Disabled nodes get enabled after a while, fastests is by guards. There are at least 3 routes to get to the end.

vandriver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:25pm

i think the game was interesting. was the green faction just some other hackers? took forever to finish, partly because i had to lag behind the red and green guys while reading hints - research should really pause the game.

the ending didn't really explain much, though i got a few hints about the girl in the other logs.

FurtherForm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Nice idea, eventually conquered every node. Didn't really find out that much use from the research - is that the game end? Once got the screen to change to red, thought I lost then. Really liked the map, the feeling, units moving about, sounds worked well and it was addictive and interesting to keep my attention to very end. The counterhacks of the green team were nicely effective now and then :)

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:10am

Interesting game, though the green "enemy" seemed to give up after a while. Expected more from the ending!

strong99 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:09am

@FurtherForm, No, that's halfway through. You need to get to the base, which is mentioned in the research and displayed on the map. The red screen is just a variation. The game ends with a cinematic like the start. The game ends with the text "The End" ;)

@vandriver <spoiler> Their homebase icon on the map gives the hint about who they are.

@Spotco Hehe, it was quite hard to achieve a immersing and solid story, and a fun game in 48 hours ^.^

If you have any suggestion on the ending or otherwise, feel free to contact me through twitter @strong99 or linkedin. I appreciate it.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Hi there. Interesting game. Spent quite a time hacking, overloading, powering off the nodes, which was fun.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

I think it was good use of the theme. I like the concept, and I added it to my play again list. nice job.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Nice hacking mechanic, I enjoyed the visuals but for some reason I couldn't hear anything

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Nice take, great sense of hacking.

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Great take on the theme. Sort of like a low fi watch dogs. If you expand the game you could add in a bunch of cyber punk themes like ghost in the shell or sentient AIs or being able to hack a robot to make it do things on the map. Good job.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Very interesting! I think I used overload to much in the end and ended up cutting my self off :) Back to hacker school I guess

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Very nice. It was a bit confusing at first, but I really liked the interpretation of the theme. The networks as the second world under/over the other one :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Cool game. I liked the hacking mechanic. It was difficult to keep up with the green hackers and also read hints / deal with police. I especially liked the music, one of the better tracks I've heard in the compo. Good job!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:58pm

good grphics! nice story. It was a littleb bit hard for me to get what to do at first but then it was pretty interesting.

Toubib says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

That's a lot of work for 48h only, great job! By far my favorite entry, maybe a little bit too much of watch dog.

someone says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Nice story, good mechanics.
The sense of hacking was great.
The research could be improved, it seems odd when it does nothing after every one having a message.
It would also be helpful to mark nodes that have been researched.
I lost the first time due to expanding slowly and reading everything, but the mechanics seem to favour taking over the map quickly.

ripter says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:07pm

I really enjoyed this!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:28am

Took me the whole of first try to get the hang of it, but my second try went quite smoothly. My strategy on the second try was to rush for the control of the whole network, and research after that, instead of researching while expanding. Would be cool if the game paused during the research text so that the player could piece the story together while hacking additional nodes. There was even a fair bit of strategy involved especially with the overloading mechanic. It was cool to contain the enemy by overloading a strategic node and continuing to expand somewhere else. One bug I noticed was that I could click the research etc. buttons during the victory sequence.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Katamori says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:11am

Helluva lot of fun!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Took me some time that I have to select the menu entries of the nodes.
Good implementation and nice music and sound. But I haven't fully understood what the best strategy is. I have just tried around until I reached the end.

DSalles says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:00am

Took me a while to figure it out but very interesting, I haven't played anything like it. The kind of game that creeps into my subconscious.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Interesting game :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]