Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Office Hero!

by Hi_ImTemmy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Office Hero! a game by Pete Brisbourne (@Hi_ImTemmy). Well, I say game, it was more just an excuse to mess around with Unity for the first time ever...there isn't really a game there.

Idea
========
Imagine, you are a cat.
Then forget about that, and instead...
...imagine, you are a superhero.

Preserving your secret is of the utmost importance and to help blend in you have taken a job in a office. All well and good! What you overlooked however was the vicious employment contract which despite your superpowers you are powerless to alter. Now stuck between two worlds it doesn't matter that disasters are plaguing the planet, you have reports to write, and core hours to maintain! Only when you're finished can you get out and save the world!

Instructions
===========
The game is split into two 'worlds'; the office world and the superhero world. While in the office you must:

- Answer the phone (click the red button which appears)
- Write reports (press any key on your keyboard)

When 6pm rolls around, if you haven't got any unfinished jobs you're suddenly free to become a SUPERHERO! Clicking on the disaster messages makes you fly out to them and help. As you stop disasters the 'World-Threat-O-Meter' starts to fall.

A word of warning though; should the 'World-Threat-O-Meter' ever fill up then the world is DOOMED.


Sound Effects
=============
All sound effects were taken from freesound.org under the Creative Commons 0 license (https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/). Some modification of sounds was done by myself in Audacity.


Bugs
====
Well, what would you know? I seem to be good at writing bugs! Here are a few favorites I've put in:

- Occasionally a disaster message will disappear but the 'World-Threat-O-Meter' will keep rising. This is VERY BAD and guarantees you loosing the game. Sorry.

- In the Unity web player, when writing reports pressing a key seems to register as a few characters when inside Unity it decreases by two.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Humor4.39
#56Mood3.85
#58Overall3.86
#66Audio3.72
#92Fun3.75
#97Innovation3.89
#239Theme3.68
#273Graphics3.57
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51am

Haha nice game!

Ysty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56am

That was great. Very funny. :)

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

Unique take on the superhero genre, add a bit more stuff and could be very cool game!

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Haha, this is great!

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Ha this was way better than I expected! Really cool idea and very fun. Surprisingly tense!

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Great entry! Hectic and hilarious.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Congrats on your game! Super fun idea and a lot of fun to play. Cheers, Ben.

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Really nice idea! I think the nights are a bit too long, but a good execution overall. Love the humor and audio.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Really awesome unique game. :D
It could definitely do with some more content, but I love the idea. :D

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25pm

The execution of your so called not-a-game-thingie (I'd argue the consumer has the right to decide what something is or is not, eg. is this a book or is this toilet paper?) is top-notch. If you ever want to make something-more-like-game then I think you have the skills necessary to get it done. Made me smile and that's an A+ in my book.

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

I really like it :D it's funny and simple :D ! Great Work !:D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28pm

This was great!

Aomeas says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Nice take on the theme! It's pretty funny to play :D

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08am

I had really good time, playing this game. It's fun. Good Job dude!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Fun typing fast to write reports, if only... Some of the disaster messages appear outside the game window... which is tricky. Great presentation overall. Good job!

Galdon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Unfortunately, on the fourth night, for seemingly no reason the threat meter kept climbing in spite of there being no remaining alerts. Good game otherwise though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]