Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Star-crossed lovers

by creative630 - Jam Entry

Welcome to Star-crossed lovers, the universally famous interstellar dating show!

In Star-crossed lovers you take the role of bob, a lonely planet looking for love on an intergalactic reality TV show. The shows host Joey Prime introduces bob to a trio of celestial babes hidden under silhouette. The babes are asked questions by bob, who picks out his favorite answers. Based on the answers he chooses which planet he would like to date.

Once chosen, bob needs to track down his chosen partner. (He better do it fast, before the babe gets cold feet!) Finally after the quick trip across The Universe, it is smooching time!

Who knows what happens after that. Maybe even baby planets? ;)

Once chosen, you need to track down your chosen partner.
After the quick trip across The Universe, it is smooching time!

-------------Controls:------------
WSAD or ARROWS - navigation
Enter/Return button - selection
Escape - restart game (you'll need it at the end)

-------------Credits:-------------
This was built in 72hrs by a three-man gang, comprised of programmer Ryan Mazzolini, artist Ben Rausch and sound-design Jason Sutherland.

The three of us really enjoyed spending the past three days making this weird little pixelated baby. We hope you'll have a good time taking her out for a spin! Happy smooching!

High fives from Team Perfect Match!
PS----
Play through multiple times to see different answers and different outcomes!

-------------UPDATE:-------------
At the click to play section hit enter!!
During the smooch section mash ENTER!!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#8Humor(Jam)4.26
#10Theme(Jam)4.30
#36Innovation(Jam)4.00
#66Overall(Jam)3.83
#75Audio(Jam)3.81
#92Fun(Jam)3.60
#159Mood(Jam)3.56
#183Graphics(Jam)3.88

Comments

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

That was weird.

LuxPerpetua says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

One thing is for sure.. its something new ;)

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17am

Absolutely great execution here... love the art, sound, and story. I made four little babies! I wasn't sure what to do on the last stage, or I definitely could've been 'busier'.

The game I made is also about connecting two planets in a love match! Although, a bit more indirectly.

Pretty clever implementation here. High marks all around. Thanks for the fun!

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21am

Funny little game! I got a bug (I think) at the kiss, the planets moved apart instead of towards each other (guess it wasn't meant to be :P ). Lovely art, and the audio is a nice touch!

3CGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21am

Great interpretation of the theme!

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22am

I liked flying around at the end, but I guess I ran out of time and didn't get to make out.

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27am

Great creativity.

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:29am

Thanks for all the early feedback everyone!

Future players of Star-crossed lovers:

BASH ENTER TO SMOOCH!!!

SupSuper says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36am

Hilarious, never though I'd see the day I'd be making baby planets...

Amvere says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37am

I wasn't able to get past "Click to play!" on the web version. Tried with firefox+chrome.

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45am

Brilliant usage of the theme. I find it very amusing. Great work :)

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

@Amvere - just click enter and you're good to go!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:33am

Definitely humorous and an interesting take on the theme. GJ

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54am

Interesting, funny and creative.
I also like how the planets are designed, great job!
You had me with baby planets

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44am

Hahaha, fun >.< Good stuff!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:00pm

The space puns were out of this world.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Kiss kiss kiss! Audience, let's meet them now!
You have been creative. I saw something new. Well done ++

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Well, that was interesting!

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:23pm

HILARIOUS! OMG AHHAHA! I thoroughly enjoyed that. Great work!

nannaventer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:18am

those PUNS <3 that was awesome

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:33am

Managed to make 9 planet baby's! Not bad :)

polyboxgames says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:24pm

That was hilarious! Great job!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:59am

Dear lord, 16 children? LOL. I liked all of the space puns, and you had great writing! The results felt a little beyond my control, but I guess that's the point of those kinds of shows, right? Babbies are up to you, a good match is up to the host. Thanks for the creative game!

Aomeas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Space puns are the best :D

creative630 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Thanks for the comments everyone! @Victory Garden 16 babies??? How!? That's the highest I've heard so far.

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:22pm

What the hell did I just play? :|

Anyway, Britta forever. Wouldn't mind getting to her Lagrange point L3. 8 babies achieved. Mad and funny, I don't know what else to say :D

Larzan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:16am

Aaaaah, this was just one of the best entries ever! I love games that have different game mechanics and switch the point of view as you have done here with basically three games (questions, steering, key-breaking).
Love it, the texts made me laugh tears, sooo entertaining!
thank you

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Brilliant idea, a agreat take on the theme I really wasn't expecting xD

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Those aren't babies, they are space nuggets! Funny game, and also pretty fun to play. Good job!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Cash says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Great concept,great graphics and great music,maybe the final part gameplay wasn't really the best but I really liked the humor in this game and it's one of the best game I played for now.

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:10pm

wow great game. I made 23 baby planets!

glenaskey says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:48am

haha, fantastic

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:35am

Hahaha Really new on concept Really liked it!Good job!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]