Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Merge

by pusheax - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Puzzle game.

Controls:
arrows, wasd - movement
R - restart level
Backspace - restart game
Esc - exit

How to run locally: Execute run.bat

If web version is not working for you please check your security settings for java:
1. Go to Control Panel
2. Double click on Java
3. Open the Security tab
4. Select Medium
5. Click on Apply
6. Restart your web browser

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Overall3.69
#207Fun3.50
#236Innovation3.58
#239Theme3.68
#411Mood3.16
#545Graphics3.12
#568Audio2.70
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Really enjoyed the game, funny concept and very neat level design! NICE!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Nice idea :)

LPeter1997 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20am

Amazing levels!

Kaelaholme says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21am

Really like this one - add some music, higher quality sound effects, and work on the graphics and you have a full game right here. Definitely my favorite game so far.

Septi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08am

Hey, nice idea, but rules are not fully clear. Around level 7 (the first time you get a bunch of blocks in one place) they stop being obvious and I can't figure out when the blocks can and when they cannot be moved anymore. For now, I gave up at level ~10-12.

Can you please clarify the mechanics? I'd like to play it to the end.

pusheax says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:12am

@Kaelaholme You're right. Thanks for playing.
@Septi I know what you mean. When several crates are in one world they do not block each other's movement in this world. When any crate's movement is blocked in world A(only boundary and cross tiles are considered blocking tiles), it will block movement in worlds B and C but not in world A. I found nice consequences to this mechanic combined with repel and teleport tiles.
Narratively speaking crates located in one world are part of one component, that's why they can reorganize freely. I should have made separate sound effect for such motions.

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Very neat mechanic and levels. It's so simple but it works very well. The graphics are minimal but don't remove anything from the experience.

Good job !

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Chrome blocked you game..

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

All I ever get is "if al_debug is true the applet will load and extract resources with a delay, to be able to see the loader process."

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:28pm

fun game nice levels

moi93101 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Good puzzle game, with efficiency levels.

fcpfoof says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Awesome one! Really cool idea.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:38pm

This was very good, excellent level design!

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:47am

Awesome! Really well made level designs, the gameplay is solid. With a little more polish you have a complete, launchable game :)

dancingmad says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Very clever game :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]