Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mirrored Forest

by IndieST - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You wake up in a strange forest. In the ripple of water you see a different yet connected world. Can you solve the puzzles through the mirrored reflection?

Controls:
Use A/D to move left/right;
Use W to Jump;
Use Mouse and left click to throw stick to water;
Use Alt to switch between worlds;
Use R to restart current level.

NOTE:
The character should have animations but I didn't have enough time to do it. Use your imagination :)

EDIT:
In case you don't get the subtitles in game, I'm writing down some of them here:
The 3rd screen: "Move mouse and click the water to throw wood"
The 4th screen: (The cat says) "Where's my kid? I won't leave until I see him..."
The 6th screen: "Watch out the water weeds"


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#86Theme3.94
#158Mood3.52
#333Audio3.10
#352Overall3.41
#369Innovation3.41
#430Fun3.19
#460Graphics3.22
#847Humor1.88

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:13pm

I liked a lot of the shader of the water, the puzzles were nice too.

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:35am

The lack of animations on the player kind of made it feel a little creepy almost :)

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:37am

Pretty nice, you should expand it.

jacklehamster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:42am

Very nice entry. Now I'm not sure if it's because I'm on a mac, but the ALT key doesn't seem to do anything. I got stuck at the 3rd screen not knowing what to do.

scriptblocks says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:59am

It was fun until it got stuck on the throw stick part.

samooJAM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:23am

More helpful subtitles would be good, tho it was fun to figure out myself how the system works. Didn't know what to do in the third area and I think I didn't get that subtitle text that's in the screenshot or I didn't notice it before it disappeared. Very nice mood, felt like i'm in a fairy tale. The water shader and using it in the gameplay is clever.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:51am

Brilliant idea! I also got stuck on the throw stick screen...

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:43am

The game as a whole is wonderful, love the puzzles and love water effect

Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Good stuff. Also got stuck on the screen with the stick. Couldn't figure out what the white kitty did either.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:04pm

The puzzles are well designed, it was fun to play!

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Good game , I was unable to pass the cat :?

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:31pm

I liked the water effect and some of the level designs, but to get the kitten I used a bug in the wood platform, where you can jump by only touching it, even under it :X

Shivur says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:37am

Charming!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Wow, nice game. Especially the shaders on the water were really nicely done, plus who doen't love a a puzzle game.Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]