Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dalek Invasion

by haveric - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE:
I tested this on Firefox and Chrome. Please use the latest version of your preference for best results.

You play as The Doctor trying to stop a Dalek invasion. Try to get to the T.A.R.D.I.S before all of the cities are destroyed while avoiding Dalek lasers on the ground.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#581Humor2.28
#859Audio2.09
#1002Graphics2.35
#1090Mood2.00
#1152Fun2.05
#1153Theme1.94
#1155Innovation2.03
#1199Overall2.18

Comments

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47am

I don't follow Dr Who, so I have no idea what's happening, but I made it to the phone booth and somehow defeated the robots, yay! Also, really great job getting so many options and stuff in there in such a short period of time.

Shmackson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

Not a Doctor Who fan, so I had no real concept of what was going on, but I did still find some enjoyment in the fast-paced imminent feel of it.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24am

Am I the only one who wasn't able to get the phone booth thing to open? I tried the screwdriver on it, and it opened, but he never went inside. All in all though, it's an okay game.

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17am

The cities in the back were a bit confusing (I understand that it's nice that they are in the bg, but still are part of the game). But I LOLed at the idea and I managed to beat it in hard. :) Nice job.

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44am

Congrats on finishing your game. I honestly found it a bit confusing especially with the buildings in the background

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51am

@fserb @kidando I agree with the cities. I like the idea of them, but the art made them blend in with the foreground more than I had intended it to.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05pm

An interesting idea and reminds me of really old computer games, but I died randomly and idk why :P

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:01pm

It was a little glitchy, at least in safari. But I love the Doctor Who aspect of the game :)

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Was a bit confusing at first, but still the game is really funny. The jump physics could be improved though, especially holding down jump keeps jumping (intentional?). But otherwise interesting idea with the cities in the background.

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14pm

@Fanttum You probably got hit by a laser. I would definitely make them bigger and more noticeable if doing this again.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:11pm

As a Doctor Who fan, I really appreciated this. It's quite a bit of fun, and I loved how you drew the doctor. Excellent game!

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:48am

Good job publishing a working game!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Controls were really weird

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:38am

A bit confusing and the controls aren't the best, but the wide variety of difficulty options is a great feature. Also, Doctor Who, so that's cool.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:41am

Did you really make all the art for this? The TARDIS looks absolutely perfect!

I agree with the above comments, the jump physics doesn't feel very good, and it also felt pretty easy.

The best strategy seemed to be run really fast jumping constantly until you find the TARDIS, which I doubt you intended.

gnuwind says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:13pm

It's a good game. nice job.

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Good job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]