Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

kunektd

by brodavi - Jam Entry

kunektd

- a game of connected worlds

wasd to move

==What went right==
javascript is awesome yay*

*(this does not mean the js code made for this game should be viewed by anyone. it is quite possibly the worst thing you can lay your eyes upon. be warned)

==What went wrong==
never used phaser before this LD... that was dumb of me

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Theme(Jam)3.83
#246Innovation(Jam)3.28
#395Mood(Jam)3.06
#422Humor(Jam)2.33
#557Overall(Jam)2.95
#583Fun(Jam)2.67
#610Audio(Jam)2.00
#615Graphics(Jam)2.79
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59am

Doesn't seem to run for me, not in Firefox nor in Chrome (running in Mac OS). I get a button to click on, then "this is a bit of test text" with a large grey square, and nothing seems to happen after that. :(

brodavi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07pm

@micahcowan aw that sucks! sorry, I don't have a Mac OS to test on :(

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I have the same problem, on Windows 7 64bit.

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

I have the same problem. Using Windows 7, 64bit.

stoz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Cool idea, having all these different worlds reachable through puzzle mechanics. I also liked the calm nature of it, but I wasn't quite sure what the overall point was.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Not sure how I feel about this game: at first it seems like a not-a-game where you can do nothing but look around, but then things happen...! I managed to reach the 3rd world, but could not go further as I didn't know what to do, and didn't feel like talking back to every person on each world.

With more polished NPCs and quests this could be a really nice & funny minimalist thing, but directions were really too unclear to really enjoy the game. Unlessed I missed something?

BTW, props for making it responsive!

brodavi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36pm

@ratking aahhh sorry I don't have windows 7 either :( I wish I knew what the problem was

brodavi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37pm

@stoz thanks! there was going to be a point, but I ran out of time :P

brodavi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39pm

@Z.B.G.E. thanks! yeah that last one definitely needs work. it is just a slightly different-colored block that triggers it. it's dumb. yeah directions need to be clearer for sure. thanks!

ob6160 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:32am

Great connection to the theme, loved the idea. Better graphics would make this even better :D

SoulGame says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:08am

This is ... strange. The way the game seems to not be a real game surprised me. And finally, the minimalist feel caught my attention for several minutes.
But currently, it lacks some clarity in order to solve the puzzles.
Anyway, interesting entry ^^

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

I manage to open three worlds then i kinda missed the next step and got stuck. But nice attempt and wise use of minimalist graphic.

miwuc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Nice little exploration game. I had fun playing it and I wish it was longer, so good job :)

Hint to anyone stuck on the third level: when everything is square, walls and people look alike.

brodavi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:01pm

@ob6160 Thanks :) I had considered doing 16-bit era graphics, but just ran out of time. But I kinda like the 'adventure' feel to it too.

@SoulGame "This is ... strange" is the best praise I can imagine :) thank you

@lasagnegames thanks! yeah that last step is dumb. sorry :P

@miwuc yeah I had originally planned 6 worlds, with a much much longer running time. But you know... 48 hours. Good hint btw ;)

Kojan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:15pm

I really enjoyed playing your game !
It's innovative and fun. And unlike some of these games, it's dynamic, which is a big plus ! Great job
The only negative sides are the lack of music and the collisions (we can't go up if we are stuck on the right and press "up" and "right" at the same time, it's not really important, but the dynamic decreases a little bit with this).
Well overall your game is a success ! Bravo

hbocao says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:37am

It reminds of the old game Adventure. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]