Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World2

by MemoryLeek - Jam Entry

This is a top-down puzzle game. You control a character that can shift between worlds, and you have to use this ability to get through each level and reach the goal without dying.

Keyboard/mouse controls:
- Hold mouse button to move
- Tab switches between the two worlds

Gamepad controls:
- Left stick to move
- A to switch worlds

We created two similar music tracks, one for each world, and the game fades between them depending on the world you're currently in. You can adjust the volume of the music and the sound effects individually by scolling on the values in the bottom left of the level selection screen.

The game resolution is fixed at 1024x768 so that map vision is the same for everyone, if we had more time we might have implemented scaling, but only windowed mode for now.

Overall this feels like our most polished LD entry thus far. It's licensed under GPLv2, so feel free to browse the source and borrow stuff for your own games.

It's available for Linux (32- and 64-bit) and Windows. We bundle all required libraries in the Windows build. The Linux build comes only with the required SDL2 libraries, and assumes that you have generic libraries like libogg already installed. Tell us in the comments if you can't get it to run or if you don't hear the music and so on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#116Theme(Jam)3.73
#243Audio(Jam)3.37
#261Graphics(Jam)3.67
#312Overall(Jam)3.32
#371Humor(Jam)2.44
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#427Innovation(Jam)2.96
#520Mood(Jam)2.84

Comments

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Nice job, very nice pixel art and music. Though it was kind of trial and error to tell if you were going to teleport into a wall.

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29am

Lovely game! At some point it really was blind guess but overall I like it. :)

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30am

Good entry, I really like the polish overall and the concept can make a great full game.

The level design and deaths can be a bit frustrating sometimes because you never really know if you're going into a wall, but still, great job overall.

PS: Linux version url on my game is fixed, I think.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32am

Very smooth and polished. Enjoyed very much, although the guessing where the walls were got a bit annoying especially in the longer levels.

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33am

Really nice game. It's not as easy as it first looks and its fun. The music and sounds are well chosen.

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nice graphics and music. The puzzling was rather fun, but as other said it got a bit annoying with all the deaths due to not knowing where one would end up in the other world.

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Love the art. It was a bit difficult to place the player with the mouse, especially since the camera is moving, would have preferred arrow keys or having the character walk up to where I clicked. Thanks

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:28am

Was a great idea. I really liked it. - Flurkin

Njord says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:13am

Very nice game. Makes you die a lot of time and hate yourself for not being just a tiny bit more precise :D

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

Not bad. But gameplay looking too primitive for me. Music is awesome, anyway =)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:35am

This was really fun, fit the theme well.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Nice game! Too big screen (i can only see half of the level 6 button on the menu, don't know if there is anything below it.)

>:( I don't like dying, when i cannot warp. Isn't the lost time of an impossible warp punishment enough?

Also, the game crashed on me from time to time (Lin32): "run.sh: Zeile 2: 25351 Speicherzugriffsfehler LD_LIBRARY_PATH=lib ./world2"
I guess this line doesn't really help debugging, though...

DaGamesta says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:27am

This is probably the most polished game I've seen so far. It might not be a lot, but the concept is good and everything just feels so natural, from the menu to the gameplay. Though getting squished by walls or falling into pits is annoying. XD Great job nontheless.

mystakin says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:13am

Oh hey, the world swap mechanic in this game reminds me of my game except slightly different. Really cool to see a separate take on a similar idea. Lots of fun, though, and tons of puzzle potential! Only wish the switch button was on the right mouse as well so I could play with just the mouse. :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]