Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Our Dream World

by PapyPilgrim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Important: It could take a while to load

------------------------
What Kind of game is it?
------------------------
A match4 game (played with the mouse or on a touch screen)
You get a pair of symbols that you can only put on the board if it overlaps an existing symbol.



--------------
Known problems
--------------
Exclusively sound issues on some browser
- Huge Sound lag on IE. Seems to work fine with chrome and firefox
- Music tends to pause randomly on ipads
- Small sound lag when the symbol you have to place 'snaps' to another symbol on the board



-----
Theme
-----
I keep a notebook of game ideas and mechanics that I might try someday (don't know if they are fun or not), and I was a bit lucky with the theme since it matches one of those mechanic REALLY well:
- connect symbols together to score points
- you are given a set of 2 symbols that you have to place together on the board
- you must connect one of the 2 symbols with a symbol already present on the board
So I had my mechanic from the get go!
Now for the "world" part, I had to think a bit about that one... The mechanic screams "make a game where you build something and then harvest it", but I could not find a way to match that idea with "world" in a way that I liked.
I was several hours into development when I finally found the way I could do it, and I must say I am very happy about the way everything came together.





--------------------------------
Not-so-useful technical features
--------------------------------
- Random music in the background, following a basic chord progression
- Dynamic sound effects that rely on the chord played in the background
- Generation of persistent islands based on your score and matches



-----------
Tools Used
-----------
Construct 2
Inkscape
audacity - My KORG SP-280



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#40Audio3.85
#264Mood3.34
#301Graphics3.50
#324Overall3.44
#349Humor2.68
#451Fun3.16
#468Innovation3.27
#771Theme2.92

Comments

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51pm

This is great! :D

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Match game with an interesting tiles placement mechanic. Like it. :)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Vary catchy. Great game! I like the music.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Excellent over all. Nice music, nice graphics and something new in the match 4 genre. Very relaxing too.

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Loved the characters' "voices" in the intro, and the audio in general :)

Nice twist on the typical match 4. At first I was placing tiles at random and messing things up, but once I understood what I was doing, it went well.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:15am

Nice to see a good puzzle game. Mood is great too!!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Looks very good, nice work.
5/5

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Nice game. Cool to connect idea with matching and constructing own island.

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:34pm

As usual I skimmed over the instructions and didn't quite grasp the gameplay until I had filled half the board with useless tiles.

My top score is a humble 490.

Its fun & the setting & sound effects are very pleasant.

It might be nice if there was some feedback at the end on what sort of island I'd created (like... if I'd created an island with lots of volcanos or something. idk.). The intro is pretty long so I wish that there was some story at the end in order to tie things together.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Wow super addicting. Calming music just tops the whole thing! I would've wished for a little bit more responsive controls on the HTML5 version. Very solid puzzle game still.

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Nice touch with the slight moving of things. Makes it feel more alive.

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Clever concept! Great music.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Very very fun to play, pretty addicting as well! It took me some time to understand what to do and at times it took a couple tries to get the next tile to be placed, but overall I liked this a lot! The audio & art is great and the intro made me laugh, haha. Nice!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Fun to play - as others said, once I figured it out. I think that the different images for tile types before vs after being placed doesn't really help with that. Also was unclear why sometimes tiles would be greyed out and I couldn't place tiles on them. And the end of the game (round?) happened all of a sudden. Like I didn't know when the game would end and then it did and I got a score screen that didn't fully make sense and when I tried clicking on it I got sent into a new game, which was a bit frustrating. Those UX things aside, great concept and game mechanic, fun to play.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:52pm

He has not liked it, although I have not understood too

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Nicely done, especially considering it's a compo entry! I prefer my islands without a volcano, too.

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Gameplay is new enough to me. Surprisingly I picked up on the rules pretty fast even though I went in blind, so I guess it must be pretty intuitive. Feels to me the player is a bit too much at the mercy of which tiles they get, though.

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Atmospheric and very peaceful, really nice! Took a little while for me to understand anything that was happening gameplay-wise though.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:54am

Very nice game. The intro could be a bit shorter.

Capitals says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Small game with a simple idea, this is let down in the slightest is the mouse handling is a bit dodgy.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:11am

Really nice idea for a puzzle game. I would publish this on mobile if I were you.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:18am

I failed massively the first time, and did MUCH better the second time around! Relaxing atmosphere, good music, and charming graphics :)

NicePenguins says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Nice idea and story :)

Lokiman says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:33pm

A little bit difficult on the first try (I didn't get the rules) but when I found out I was much better :)

I like the music and sound effects. Also the intro was great! Really a solid game.

DustyStylus says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Nice game. Thought I'd figured it out but got 0 marks. :d Really lovely atmosphere and mood. Well done.

dook says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Very nice! Took me a moment to figure out what the point was and it was rather challenging too! Well done. Might be better if there was either some logic to the tiles you got or if it would just tell you what came after the current one :)

Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Great game, love the graphics! :)

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Relaxing and challenging.
I like a lot the dominoes'like mechanic, and the symbols sorting works fine.
I didn't find the randomness in the music, and the sfx are quite enjoyable.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:19am

The music was so relaxing! The plays were quite short, it would have been good to have a larger board. I liked the intro story and how do you have to plan in advance your moves. Great job!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Music worked really nicely with the gameplay. Liked the puzzle aspect but did take me a second to realise what I was meant to do. Think the tiles and two options should be further emphasised as being linked.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I played this on my iPad and it worked really well, the gameplay was fairly deep for a simple game and the overall mood was great. Nice work!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Very solid, somewhat addicting entry with good audiovisuals. The intro was a bit lengthy and I didn't quite know what to do at the beginning (that habit of mine, checking the game first and its description later... ^^"), but once I got the hang of it, it got quite pleasant.
Also, I'm not sure, but are the dreamt things (i.e. 4-matched groups) appearing in the background? If so, then it's quite a nice touch; I like that sort of gameplay and story integration.

Also, apparently I got a bug after losing due to filling the board. I clicked to proceed, then the board restarted, then the losing screen appeared, and it became unplayable, or so it seemed. ^^"

brookman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Wow, I really enjoyed that!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Nice little puzzle game. The cut scene was pretty nice too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]