Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gunship Diplomacy

by rfgpfeiffer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a small ship in a big universe. Different factions ware at war over territory. You can intervene, make friends and enemies.

As usual, made with python2.7 and pygame. There are now downloads available for Windows (.exe) and the Ouya (.apk)

System Requirements

- Python 2.7
- PyGame 1.8 or higher

- game controller recommended

game play

Factions will send ships to connected worlds in order to capture planets. If a faction attacks another faction's planet, alliances deteriorate. If a faction is friendly to another faction, it is less likely to attack. Factions do not care how friendly other factions are, only how much they attack. If a faction attacks a common enemy, alliances can be forged.

You can only indirectly influence these alliances by shooting ships. Shooting a ship will make you lose repuation with the ship's faction and its allies factions. You gain reputation with the enemies of the ship in proportion to the enimity. If you are in good standing with a faction, you will be healed in its territory. If a faction hates you, they send their ships to attack you.

If you gain reputation by destroying a ship, you get score points. This means you have to switch sided from time to time to gain new reputation and score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#274Theme3.64
#387Innovation3.38
#430Fun3.19
#504Overall3.26
#596Mood2.94
#713Humor2.12
#761Audio2.28
#839Graphics2.66

Comments

BuddaKaeks says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Rules for the 48 hours compo: Source must be included.
And aren#t you able to create a windows version of the game?

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Butterkeks: Source *is* included. Thank you for jumping to conclusions. Wenn man keine Ahnung hat...

peejaygee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Look forward to seeing a windows port of this.

eott says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Great game, I really like how dynamic the game really is. Alliances and may switch at the drop of a hat and even the battlefield changes (in contrast to be conquered by the player alone as in so many games).

MikeTheWayne says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Love how you've released a game for the OUYA :) I dont have one, just like the fact people are developing things for it. Good work Sir!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:28am

Great idea, needs some work. Felt the controls weren't right. - Flurkin

Wevel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:36am

Controls aren't right for game-pad but otherwise a great game.

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

Good idea about indirectional control of alliances, though it's not very obvious at first sight. There're some interesting ideas and really good theme connection. Nice work

MintArcade says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

OUYA Port is mega awesome! I had a blast playing it there. Nice visuals and gameplay in general. Effeminately fun game, thank you.

Wevel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

I used a fake x-box controller for PC, and looking around is inverted and 90 degrees out. Put the game works fine with keyboard and mouse.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:01am

Really nice dynamics! I wish there was a clearer goal in the game, but it was fun to manipulate the alliances; in general I really liked the organic feeling of the game.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:07am

Wevel: Even after the calibration thingy?

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:17am

Good fun game, I found myself simply favouring one faction was thus disappointed not to see the game end when they gained dominance, but I am aware that was not the goal, so good work.

Wevel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:53am

rfgpfeiffer: yes i did what it said to set it up.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

Wevel: In this case, have you tried *not* running the setup? The Xbox360 Controller should work out of the box. Oh well. I do not have that many controllers to test with. So I only hardcoded the 360 pad.

Wevel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

It doesn't matter the game is great anyway.

Wevel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:52pm

rfgpfeiffer: you can now play a Linux build of my game as you asked, though i can't test it.

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:00am

Lots of stuff going on here, maybe there could be more cues about alliances by having coloured lines? Would be good to have more influence over the other factions like in drox operative. Pay insurgents to destabilise a planet or spread rumours about other factions, stuff like that.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

@mechabit: Never heard of Drox Operative. They even have a demo for Linux. Will definitely check it out. Thanks!

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:23pm

mac :(

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Nicely done. The reputation system makes it interesting

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Fun game, I'm not quite sure but maybe it could be better if I was one of these Factions. I also liked how the graph changed, even though I didn't understand the logic behind it.

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:46pm

This is a nice game! Mix of sounds make it feels like music :)

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Crazy game ;) i did not under stand how to play at first but i did received my portion of fun, so i think this game is very good. But i kept being confused with reputation system

slowfrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Interesting concept that fits the theme perfectly.
I think it's a bit difficult to adapt to changing alliances when changing worlds, because you have to keep an eye on incoming ships at the same time. So perhaps some visual clues to easily see if you're going to shoot allies would be helpful.
Solid anyways.

Bernte says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Ouya! :) should definitely get one

jpmit says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Good game, well done. There is definitely a lot of good stuff in there. Adding music would perhaps have been a good use of an hour or two.

No doubt many (lazy) people will be put off by the Python + Pygame requirements, but as a fellow pygamer (though not for this LD), I feel your pain!

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:28am

Fun game, especially the alliance and reputation twist to keep track of.

jahmaican says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:24pm

The sound effects are killing me. Nice idea nonetheless, seems quite complex for 48 hours.

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Interesting game, reputation is cool ^^ Sounds a bit annoying, kept ringing in my head after I left the game... XD
But good game !

Endurion says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:29am

Interesting concept. I would have like a goal to work towards (like having a home faction), but it's neat as is.

The faction reputation changes were a bit to harsh IMHO, suddenly my best friend had me on their hate scala.

bobombe says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:26pm

It remembered me some of my Graphs classes ^^
A little hard to understand the reputation/alliances but after, it's very interesting to play with it.
Just one think I found strange, i tried to help one faction, it loved me, and suddenly it fire at me, i don't know why ...
Anyway, a very good concept to develop !

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:33am

Once again you've made a really aweosme Ludum Dare submission! I really liked the cpmplicated political network, and the way the worlds moved around fluidly and all connected together was awesome. Some background music might have helped, but it also may have distracted, idk.

On a side note, do you have anything to say about the modded version of gnome fortress I sent you? Or the list of changes? Please just send me an email back about what you think of the changes I made.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Nicely done with the game mechanics - it's all very dynamic and interesting in that sense. I do however feel a lack of purpose or goal, like what I'm doing doesn't have much importance. Maybe it's the speed of the game? That factions balance themselves out too quickly when I switch sides or go somewhere else?

Overall it's a nice set of rules, and the dynamic playing field is cool. I think if there was a clearer goal, like "help a specific faction capture all of the planets" that could be achieved through using these rules and tools, that would lift the game to another level.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Nice game! I really like the dynamic alliances!

Btw.: I made a Linux build of "Der Klappermann" maybe you could check if it works and tell us about it ;)

fleegle2000 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Nicely done, I really like the mechanic. It's neat to see how the web changes and rearranges as alliances shift. Great work!

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Great concept, challenging to play. Needs some tweaking but very cool concept.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:28am

This is a cool game but I found the alliances and reputation system a little confusing.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:41pm

I like the idea but it's difficult to play and understand who's allied to whom at the same time. Shooting noise is painful.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]