Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interplanetary Bridge Builder

by Banni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Have you ever wanted a career as a bridge builder?

Do you want to go to space?

Well this is the job for you!

Interplanetary Bridge Builder is tile-based puzzle game that requires to you connect planets together with a mighty space bridge. You'll have to link up satellites, dodge asteroids and [not much] more.

Comes with an extensive 3-page tutorial that teaches you everything you need to know to be a successful builder-of-bridges-between-planets.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#81Innovation3.94
#158Theme3.79
#324Overall3.44
#344Fun3.29
#516Graphics3.15
#528Audio2.75
#534Mood3.00
#536Humor2.36
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

Budget makes it a bit more challenging than when I playtested it in IRC. Like the mechanic alot, with more time this could be a really cool game.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:59am

Interesting mechanic. Found some of the sounds a bit harsh on the ears. Pretty good overall.

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

"Have you ever wanted a career as a bridge builder?"
YES
"Do you want to go to space?"
YES!

I liked this one. Would be a good one on the go. Took me a second to get what was going on but after that it was pretty easy!

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

Really cool game mechanics :)

The hard levels were not hard enough, but it's not easy to create and balance a game in 48h.

FelipeTavares says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14am

Very complete!

siat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19am

Interesting mechanic! I'd love to have an undo...

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Fun game, didn't take long to figure out the best pattern to solve all the puzzles though - I liked the budget mechanic because it made the game require a little more thinking than it would have without. Would be good to see some more difficult levels.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Cool idea for a puzzle game, and it looks nice too. :) Sounds were a little sharp, but overall, I really like it. Not sure I really understood how to stick to a budget though, can't figure out the last level. :)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:58pm

A very strong puzzle with the charm and playability of 2048 perhaps! I could easily imagine the smartphone app to play when commuting, for example.

(And its a bonus you're in Iceland as I want to expose that part of the map in my game, so thanks for that service too!)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Nice game and the tutorial explains it well.

miwuc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Neat innovative game. It's missing a bit of challenge currently, but if you had more time for level design, I think it could become very interesting. The budget thing was a good idea to prevent you from abusing the 10+ rule.

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Interesting matching mechanic. I suppose any 9 you create will end up as a dead end?
I didn't beat all the levels, but liked those I beat. Had to think carefully when the bridge had to be split to reach multiple goals :)

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Very smart concept! Good thing I'm up on my math. :) Interface is very polished as well. The whole thing feels very clean and finished.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:04am

Nicely done tutorial. I am never able to build a tutorial for an LD game.

someone says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Solid, polished gameplay. Very nice.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:26am

Very clever mechanics! I enjoyed playing the tutorial levels, they ease getting into the game. The level design is good too, the progression is smooth. Great job!

Code White says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Nice little game, with quite a few missions to keep you busy :). Like the little visual effects like lights flashing and asteroids rotating. Well done!

Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:34pm

This is a really neat idea! I agree that the budget mechanic probably is what makes it work, it'd be too easy otherwise.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]