Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Looking Glass

by sudorossy - Jam Entry

A story about Exploring the galaxy through a use of an alien technology known only as "Looking Glass"

I didn't get as many worlds as I'd like done. It's purely an exploration game, there's no enemies as such.

I won't spoil anything, but there's a secret world or two to find, you'll not find the code anywhere in-game. Keep an eye out in other places though ;)

Speaking of other places:
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/sudorossy
Facebook: https://facebook.com/omnomccom
ItchIo Page: https://sudorossy.itch.io

Controls
WASD to move, mouse to look around
left click to activate
space to jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Theme(Jam)4.35
#83Graphics(Jam)4.23
#186Overall(Jam)3.50
#193Fun(Jam)3.38
#259Mood(Jam)3.32
#367Innovation(Jam)3.08
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Konste says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42am

Good work on this! I liked the idea and the transition between words was as smooth visually as it was mechanically.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13pm

This was super ambitious! It's a real blast to explore-- I look forward to finding a secret or two, haha! Really great looking!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Despite it running very badly on my piece of shit laptop the transition between worlds is amazing, so uncanny it's like walking through a Tardis. I really like when people use impossible space in games, it's just a really weird feeling.

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:19am

Visually stunning, great concept - this deserves to be expanded! :D

Lizzip says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Really well made and interesting!

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I too liked the transitions. I couldn't find secret worlds :)

There wasn't too much to play, but I did like pretty much everything there, and believe this could be turned into something bigger. ...if one has the budget :D

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

a little confusing, but your visual style was great!

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Super impressive

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Could really do with some sound (and maybe some element of puzzle solving where you have to hop back and forth between worlds) but I love how each world you've created is well designed and the main gameplay concept fits the theme very well.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Great game man! I loved the texture work!

PurpleApes says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Great Exploration!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Couldn't find the secret worlds. Also, I got blocked by an invisible wall when climbing. :<
Also, the character movement is kinda slow, would like to have a running option or something.

sudorossy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Sorry about the invisible walls Sunflower! I could only have small areas around each gate, as everything had to fit in one scene :(

I had plans for Music and Audio, but sadly ran out of time before I could implement it

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Awesome! Fit to the theme

reheated says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:43pm

It's quite beautiful but I've never seen a game more desperate for some sound.

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:51am

You game jammers killed us 48 compo idiots nice art

psychomonster says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:13am

Wow this is so nice. Feels great and responsive. This game needs sound and some musics... goood job.

JangoBrick says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:02am

Wonderful graphics, and nice idea. Very well done. I like it.
A bit of music would have made this an even better experience.
I liked the floating text, that was great!

DesignerNap says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Really enjoyed the feel of this one. only crit is the stairs at the first room required a jump to get up. Loved the portal/stargate approach. great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]