Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Morpheus

by Tex Killer - Jam Entry

Once again, too much concept and not enough time...

Morpheus was made with our own engine, so please take it easy on the bugs! :D

Two more "dreams" were planned, as well as a level on the real world, but it was pretty hard to finish the first dream in time, so I guess that will have to do.

Thank you for playing!

Keyboard:
Left/Right Arrows (Move)
Space Bar (Jump)

Credits:
Lucas Vinicius Pimenta (Visual Artist)
Marcos Tulio Cavalcante (SFX Artist)
Faister Cabrera Carvalho (Programmer)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#288Mood(Jam)3.28
#321Audio(Jam)3.20
#502Graphics(Jam)3.07
#631Theme(Jam)2.44
#697Innovation(Jam)2.27
#704Overall(Jam)2.63
#737Fun(Jam)2.13

Comments

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:31pm

The game doesn't seem to start when I run it. Am I doing something wrong? (Windows 7 x86_64)

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Doesn't start for me either, running Windows 8 64-bit.

gladers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Right click on the EXE and "Run as Admin" got the game to start for me. But the game crashed as soon as i scrolled right a little

Transmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Crashes right away.

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Windows7 x64, audigy sound card. Just after the dream starts, sound gets looped on one "frame" and game crashes seconds later.

Tex Killer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:03am

Sorry guys, it seems some of the compiler optimizations were making the game crash some times. I've recompiled the game without optimizations and it seems to work alright now. Could you guys try again?

Thank you very much!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:30am

Update: found some memory errors that were being ignored when I debuged the game. Should work well now, even on Linux via Wine.

DaGamesta says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:21am

Does this first level go on forever? There doesn't seem to be an end, and I'm honestly getting creeped out. XD Anyways, solid work if this is your own engine. Did you make the graphics? That's what impresses me the most.

DaGamesta says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:22am

Does this first level go on forever? There doesn't seem to be an end, and I'm honestly getting creeped out. XD Anyways, solid work if this is your own engine. Did you make the graphics? That's what impresses me the most... not enough story to really connect the game with the theme though...

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:51am

I love the music and atmosphere, but the interaction with the swinging chains seems weird (especially if you TRY to get hit by them--the hit boxes are off).

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:52am

Awesome graphics, well done.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:56am

DaGamesta, the level is limited. Once you pass 20 gates the level ends.

Dietrich Epp, Yeah, I was trying to fix them the best I could, but at least they only kill you when you are really hit by them. If I develop a "post-compo" version I might fine tune the detection more.

Thank you all for playing!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:01am

DaGamesta, to answer your questions about the engine, yes, the game is made on our own engine with our own graphics. About the theme, once you clear the first "dream" you should see that the blades come back with you to the "real world". Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to create the second dream, although the artwork is halfway done and the concept is already sort of finished. Thank you for playing!

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:32am

Neat aesthetic, felt like an old adventure game in a good way. The biggest thing I felt was lacking though was a sense of mid-game accomplishment. If you had numbers next to each door it would have helped a lot with letting the player feel they'd made some progress towards a destination. Also some kind of shadow on the floor to help you workout where the blades were would have been nice-I could never really work out where to stand to try and dodge them. (The blades/chains animation looked awesome though regardless). Still, a neat entry :).

oranebeast says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:40am

I FEEL THE ACES ARE OUT TO GET ME ARGH!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:46am

SwiftIllusion, thank you for playing! Nice tips, if I make a post-compo version I'll be sure to implement them.

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:34am

There is no sense of progression and sometimes you spawn in different places (a black room - bug?, and then I was spawned inside a trapped room).

The chains/blades need a more clear visual of where the danger is. When I was trapped and trying to die from them I couldn't. I didn't feel that much in control of when I was going to get hit or not.

The run cycle was pretty good and didn't feel slidey, though maybe a little stiff.

The audio was creepy and good, especially the axes. Good storytelling since you could follow along with what was happening (prison->dream).

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:51pm

@Tex Killer,
No worries :)!
Glad the suggestions were of value, if you do work on a post-compo version I wish you the best of luck :).

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Crefossus, thank you for playing! I don't know why sometimes it spawns to a black screen, do you know how to reproduce that?

Ramiel says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:18pm

I really like the atmosphere of the game. I would have liked to see the connection to the real world.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:06am

Ramiel, did you finish the first dream? You can see one of the blades on the real world after you wake up. There was supposed to be a final level on the real world at the end of the game, but we didn't have nearly enough time. Thank you for playing!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:47am

I played for a while, but ended up quitting because I had no idea where I was getting set back to when I died, and because the 2.5D graphics made it hard to figure out what my hitbox was--I had no idea where I needed to be in order to not be hit. Really good job on the graphics and mood, though, with hallucinatory audio. Your animations are nice and the character looks like she was made from a paper cutting. Thanks for the game!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:56am

Thank you for playing, Victory Garden! When you died you were sent back to the first room. After you passed 20 rooms you would have cleared the first dream.

About the collisions, I couldn't get it any better on the time I had. Maybe if I do a "post-compo" version I'll improve it.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:15am

The creepiest thing about this game is that the guy doesn't have a toilet in his cell, not even a bucket. That's nasty.
Good overall presentation, nice music and fluid animation. The amount of repeating rooms you used is clearly too much. Getting the same cutscene>endgame screen afterwards was anticlimactic.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:49pm

kibertoad, thank you for playing! Didn't think 20 rooms was too much, but thank you for the tip! By the way, did you notice that there was one blade on the real world after you woke up?

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:09am

Nice! I just find it too easy to avoid the axes. I didn't understand if that's what I'm supposed to do. I would appreciate to see more levels. Nice to see people creating their own engines. Congratulations!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:32am

Thank you for playing, hbocao!

The collision detection for the axes are really not very good, but it was the best I could do before the time was over.

We had also planned a second dream, and the artwork was halfway done, but there was no time left to program it.

Manou says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:15am

Epic audio, so scary!

silentlamb says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Nice! The audio is creepy indeed! Not sure if I got stucked or if that's part of the game/plot, but I died like 3 to 5 times and whole background has gone. It was only me, blackness and invisible collision things.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Thank you guys for playing!

silentlamb, we are aware of this error, but don't yet know what is triggering it. Do you know how to reproduce it?

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:48am

No bugs for me. Kudos on using your own engine.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:02am

Thank you, kirbytails7! This is the third time we tried using it, the previous two didn't end up playable.

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Thank you for fixing this!

The game is aweosme! It gets a bit repetitive, but the timing puzzles are very nicely done. The 2d/3d sprite graphics are REALLY cool. I especially love how you see a little bit of the player's front as you turn from left to right. One problem with these graphics is that it's difficult to tell where the hitbox for the axes starts and stops. The little cutscenes at the beginning and end really drive home a dark, trapped mood.

Overall, it was graphically awesome, hwoever teh gameplay got a little boring after the same chamber over and over. 4/5 stars! And best of luck with more games in your homebrew engine!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:12am

Thank you very much, DeltaF1! The collision detection with the axes is really not very good, even if it wasn't 2.5D... I just didn't have enough time to program it better. Maybe if we develop a post-compo version I will make the collision detection better.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]