Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Intergalactopol

by prophile - Jam Entry

After a fruitful half-century of cooking Space Meth on three abandoned planets, the Space Rozzers have found your operation!

A fierce battle with the Space Filth has left your spaceship without an engine, but you still have your trusty tractor beam. Grab onto these planets and hold off the Intergalactopol agents for as long as possible!

A game by Alistair Lynn and Oliver Knott.

Music: Simon Porter

All assets made within the Jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#219Innovation(Jam)3.35
#224Fun(Jam)3.31
#363Audio(Jam)3.12
#405Overall(Jam)3.19
#410Humor(Jam)2.36
#460Theme(Jam)3.00
#473Mood(Jam)2.93
#535Graphics(Jam)2.97

Comments

chrupp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33am

Cool game! But I find i really hard because the ship does not shoot forward...

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17am

Really interesting twist on the asteroids genre. It seems to be a really addictive game.

I'm not so sure about using the mouse to aim your shooting, I would test how an always "forward cannon" would work.

Anyway great entry!

Zupoman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:32am

These green spaceships are such tough bastards... I think that the delay between crashing and respawning is a bit too long, it's slightly annoying. As others said, the mouse aiming seems a little counter-intuitive here, since everyone would expect the ship to simply shoot forward. Game is great, though, I love it.

prophile says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:36am

Having tried out the ship shooting forward, it doesn't play well. Maybe some kind of auto-aim, or a key to latch to the nearest planet and mouse-aim? Difficult to say.

Thanks for the feedback.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34pm

It's not very clear at first that the mouse controls where you shoot. Cool game though, very arcadey and should have a score counter! Nice music too, really suits the game

stoz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Interesting concept! However, tying everything to the mouse makes it unnecessarily frustrating. If you had a button that would just tether you to the nearest planet, rather than having to right-click that planet, it would free up the mouse entirely for shooting.

Still, I like the direction it's going overall!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Pretty addictive and fun game. Solid mechanics.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Good Game. Controls are really hard, though. You shouldn't have to use the mouse for both controlling the ship and aiming, this way the best strategy I've found was never to turn but stay the course you were launched from the green planet and use the mouse only for shooting.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Interesting idea of flying.

plash says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Wow! This is challenging. Bullet range is so short :<

The respawn delay does feel too long, but I can't complain too much when I have infinite lives. Music is a touch too repetitive, but the sound effects give it accent.

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Cool concept, a bit easy to hit an enemy for me :D
I liked it anyways!

sudorossy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Really tough! But a decent concept

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Took some time to get used to the controls but I absolutely loved the main gameplay mechanics.

UoLCompSoc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Brilliant idea; I feel like with a little extra polish (green ships are really strong, controls are a bit difficult) this could be a really addictive, brilliant game :)

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:43am

Goodjob.cool game

Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:22pm

"half-century of cooking Space Meth on three abandoned planets" hahahah x'D nice! xD very cool game! great work :D

Moosefly says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Fun game, but seems like it gets very repetitive very fast. Maybe that Space Meth could make you money to buy upgrades or defenses? I hope you keep working on this, since this has the potential to be a great game!

Joona@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]