Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

99 LuftWaffels

by quill18 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Hello and welcome to The LuftWaffel, the most elite zeppelin corps on the planet. As traders, it is our job to connect people and places, much like how the Silk Road connected the Western World to the Far East realms so long ago."

Your goal is to bring together each region's unique goods and industries to grow your cities' population to 1 million people!

**Stand-alone builds coming soon!**

Created by Quill18 before a livestream audience! Big thanks to everyone who came out to watch, and an extra thanks to subscribers who help make the streams extra-awesome (and who appear in the game as default zeppelin names.)

quill18@quill18.com
http://youtube.com/quill18 -- Gaming Let's Play videos and commentaries
http://youtube.com/quill18creates -- Programming Tutorials
http://twitter.com/quill18
http://facebook.com/quill18

---

*HOW TO PLAY*

WASD/Arrows or Right/Middle-mouse to move the camera. Scroll to zoom.
Click "New Zeppelin" and setup a route by clicking industries/cities.

Recommendation: Start by building a route that goes: Wheat Farm, Wafflehaus, Megacattle Ranch, Wafflehaus. This will bring milk and wheat to the Wafflehaus and will start your food production. Build a second Zeppelin to bring this food to your cities.

Next, focus on either getting your Plank and Steel industries running (delivering these goods to cities will increase your population) or focus on luxury goods like Fruit Cakes (which will increase tax rates).

---

Production Chains:
Cattle -> Meat -> Food
Cattle -> Leather -> Vests/Goggles/Top Hat (Luxury Items)
Cattle -> Milk -> Waffles (Food)
Sand -> Glass Lenses -> Goggles (Luxury Item)
Copper -> Brass -> Goggles (Luxury Item)
Zinc -> Brass -> Goggles (Luxury Item)
Iron -> Steel -> Houses (Population Increase in Cities)
Coal -> Steel -> Houses (Population Increase in Cities)
Logging -> Planks -> Houses (Population Increase in Cities)
Wheat -> Waffles (Food)
Wheat -> Fruit Cakes (Luxury Item)
Fruit -> Fruit Cakes (Luxury Item)
Spices -> Fruit Cakes (Luxury Item)

---

Possible Upgrades:
- Increase your Zeppelin speed, globally.
- Increase the production rate of industry buildings.

You can also build as many Zeppelins as you want, though the cost for each increases. (You can sell Zeppelins at 75% of cost if you want to change a route.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Overall3.88
#118Humor3.29
#159Graphics3.83
#229Mood3.41
#236Innovation3.58
#260Fun3.42
#266Theme3.65
#473Audio2.82
#2202Coolness0%

Comments

Pixelaborate says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24am

Four months ago I saw your ludum dare stream and it inspired me to participate in the 30th. Both of your games that I saw were amazing, and looks significantly more polished. Kudos sir, and keep up the good work!

23evilrex says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24am

omg this game is osom for a 48 awere game

Vulture Tamer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38am

thanks for pushing me to join, although mine is crappy xD

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44am

I spent over an hour playing a Ludum Dare, game. I think that says it all, really.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

Nice job on this one, thanks for your tutorials! Wouldn't be in this if it weren't for your tutorials.

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

meh. game is ok i guess for 48 hours but it's not particularly fun. u just link up the places then sit and watch ur blimps float around.

a little bit like railroad tycoon but without the awesome autistic immersion of trains.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31am

My network of sky pigs is entirely dysfunctional

Wertle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32am

This is a pretty fun interpretation of a routing sort of game. It kind of made me think of Spacechem only with zeppelins and waffles :P It was super hard, though! I had trouble keeping track of what I had already routed (like if I already had something going from one place to the cities or not). My solution to all problems was just build more zeppelins, but apparently that's not so great seeing as my population declined x_x Nice work!

Weaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50am

Nice one! Reminds me of the Anno series a bit :)

Lashiz121 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26am

It's actually quite amazing.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43am

Hey just wanted to stop by and say I only started using Unity and programming a couple months ago and I learned largely by using your tutorials. In particle, I've been through your multiplayer FPS series a couple times. I successfully produced a game for this Ludum Dare (although it is incredibly unfinished), but I never would have managed it without your videos. Thanks!

Your videos have really helped me get started in Unity. I'm a bit too brain dead to figure out your game right now, but it sure looks impressive for 48 hours of time.

IgIzzy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50am

Fantastic as always! This is the first dare I have participated in, but I have played a few of your last compos games.

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

Quill is always great to watch, very entertaining. Everytime i'm torn between making my own game or watching him make one.
This time i made one, so i came into this one blindly, and i kinda liked it, even if i maybe found it too slow.
Anyways great job as always.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39am

Fantastic implementation in 48 hours, but there are some nice touches in the animations. Are you planning on continuing with this after the competition?

One thing I would like to see - the ability to speed up time.

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58am

Fine for a while, but slowly gets same old, but it is still good

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53am

It may of just been me but the shadows were really flickery so i could not play it for very long. But in the time that i did, i had a great time

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50am

As usual, fantastic work. The music is a bit umm... repetetive. Nice to see all the little animations.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52am

So much content and made in 48 hours. Truly skilled game programmer work.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:05pm

This is very nice and solid game.

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

As always good job!
You are good with unity and blender.
I've learnt my unity programming basis watching your videos, so the cause I'm here It's you :) thanks quill and continue this way you deserve all the good the things that you have.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Good game, reminds me a little of Caesar IV.

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Great graphics and such, but gameplay is boring, click things and watch stuff go round.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Great idea, fun, and a good take on the theme. Just wish there was more to fully play!

moses102 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Lots of fun Quill, 10/10

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Nice game :D Humorous and complicated (in funny way) !

Anti says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Was awesome to see this game created on the live-stream. It's such a fun game.

breadstix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Fantastic game. Expected nothing less

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09pm

i like the game. i've watched parts of you making it.
thnx to you i've uploaded a entrie myself too this time.

good work !!

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26pm

A lot of nice 3d graphics and interesting game mechanic, well done for 48h.

lightsoda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Nice job. Once you get the order of things down, it's pretty easy.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56pm

This is a fun game. Well done! My entry this time was inspired by Drill18, so I hope you'll check it out and give me your thoughts. I also enjoyed watching your livestream while I worked.

Aske says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Great Game! And really love graphics!

MacTee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Nice Game!
New Bruessels Pop. : 1.534.746.383 Pop -> http://www.directupload.net/file/d/3725/vtnccysw_png.htm
then
http://www.directupload.net/file/d/3725/jdd4iipa_png.htm =)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:07am

I had to force myself to stop playing. If I didn't I would have played this all night! Well Done Quill!

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11am

Very impressive! Great use of theme and I love the little 3D touches to the models! It looks like a living board game of sorts :)

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39am

technically impressive, nice graphics. game isn't my style to play though. nice job!

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01am

I really enjoyed your game, and i found my self losing track of time (and sleep). I really enjoyed the tycoon aspect of it, it took some time to get used to the system but after awhile i had it down.

Xentira says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:53am

Really great job. I wish I had been able to catch you actually making this, and thanks to twitch being stupid now most of your broadcast is muted. Oh well still a great job, shows what can be done in a short amount of time!

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:28am

The little details are what made this, bread in the oven, moving scissors at the leather workers, lava sparks at the steel mill...
Music resets every time the window focus/unfocuses...
Overall one of the better games Quill!

Kojan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:31am

Really nice work ! The gameplay is really complete !
I just find that the colors aren't well chosen, but this is only a personal thought ;)
Overall I really liked it

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Lovely level design. I'm not into micro management but once I worked out how to route zeppelins I got quite a busy little network going and I sat back and watched them fly about in a pleasing pattern.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Fantastic job! Is the stream not recorded on twitch? I'd like to watch it but couldn't find it.

twintrite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:57pm

I'm not a big fan of such games but you did a great job on that one...and cool visuals except for the UI (plus the best game name) :)

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Excellent game!

naksrifati says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:29am

Cool idea, and astonishing amount of work did you here)

dylanigan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Well done!

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:16pm

First off, I want to thank you fro streaming your Ludum Dare work - it always helps keep me motivated for mine! As for the game, I appreciated all the jokes and the graphics are charming. It gets a little overwhelming when you have a bunch of zeppelins to remember which routes you set up. Impressive for 48 hours!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Kinda took a while to get the hang of the game, but I never got more population though! Catchy music, and fun game!

vogon101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Amazing game - WAFFLES

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:00am

zeppelins and farms/factories never update their cargo (but cities do), so I had the impression I was missing something (like a pick/deliver instruction), but that was before I noticed that my money was increasing more and more quickly.

I think you should add some visual effects here and there to give feedback to the player (like a little "+1 wheat" that fades away on top of your farms, or a thin line showing the current road for your zeppelins)

blurryroots says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Fun mechanics and surprisingly complex (in a good way).

Wevel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:47pm

You end up not being able to move food around so all your population dies.

tbam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:58am

The sheer size and scope of games you make for Ludum Dare always blows me away. Well done!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Good job on creating such an engaging game in under 48 hours! I found your explanations to the game above very important to clarify how to play it. The only bad thing I could say is that music was very repetitive. Apart from that, well done!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Ah, like good old Anno...I think there's a bug where buttons don't consume mouse clicks so if there's a building behind the ok button for building a zepellin adds that building to the route (and it can't be removed later)

robbiehunt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Nice job! I agree with what was said earlier - the little animations of the various factories was a REALLY great touch. Gave the game tons of personality!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]