Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

GeoQuest

by caranha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A top down world, you have to collect the coins and power ups. But where does this world come from? From your GPS!

In GeoQuest, information from the Real World is used to create and influence the Game World.

Level generation is controlled by the physical location of your device. Is the current level too hard? Just go over the next block to look for a new one. Did you find a level with a lot of loot? Try to remember where you played, and you can play it again.

** WARNINGS **

(0) If you find a locked door, the key is ALWAYS on another level. Go find it and return. Behind the door is a lot of points.

(1) When playing on android, if your location services is disabled, the game will crash after the splash screen. Sorry. I know how to fix this bug and will push a patch to the Play Store soon. Until then, make sure location services is on.

(2) The main idea of the game only works on mobile devices. There is a Desktop version if you can't use the Android version, but you need a mobile device for the full experience.

(3) The 3rd screenshot is a QR code with a link to the play store page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#155Audio3.46
#239Theme3.68
#308Innovation3.48
#350Mood3.24
#379Overall3.38
#422Fun3.20
#476Humor2.45
#813Graphics2.70

Comments

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33am

Excellent job! Although I did try the Desktop version out, I still had a blast playing the game. Had a very nostalgic feel to it :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16am

the audio is really good. the windows jar works on osx, you should note that.

Tosic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30am

I can't run it on my android...

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37am

Tosic: What did you get? Also, I the play store page is now live.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14am

Good game!
13400

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09am

Cool idea! I played this on my android tablet and blackberry phone. I found it challenging to get my ship to go where I wanted it to. Great idea

Tosic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:18am

Oh I got: Unfortunately, the application GeoQuest stopped working

madmaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55am

This is such a great idea

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21pm

It runs, and crashes just after Flying Rock logo with enigmatic msg: "Unfortunately, the application GeoQuest stopped working."

It was on android 4.1.2 on Xperia J.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:50pm

It crashed..

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Hm, okay I downloaded desktop jar.

I like the idea, it's simple but playable! Too bad that sometimes it's nearly impossible to outsmart enemies.

jimmymcmillan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:19pm

If it crashes on a nexus 5, it probably won't work on anything

caranha says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:34am

Hey guys, sorry for all the crashes. It worked on my nexus 7 and my fujitsu phone, but there is obviously something missing, might be an API thng. If you could play the Playstore version so I get crash reports ( or send me logcat reports if you know how to) that would be awesome.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Running the .jar, I ended up spawning with coordinates that made it impossible to get any keys. Game looks like it would be fun on an actual phone, though.

Tosic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

OMG, I played the desktop version and it is really awesome, but what makes the game awesome is the innovative idea and a perfect interpretation of the theme!

caranha says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Tosic: Thanks for making an effort to play the game! :-D
Thingo: The coordinates on the Jar are different every time you play :-)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Decent entry, though the power-up descriptions left me somewhat confused about what they actually did. u_u"
Also, at the beginning I had no idea I'm supposed to collect the keys in other worlds, thus I was wandering aimlessly in the first level. ^^"

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice work good game

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Great game. The level at my desk is WAYYY too hard :D

psychomonster says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:16am

Played the Mac version of the game... nice concept and great use of the theme. Great entry... now I will try the mobile version!

hbocao says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:06am

Awww... I wish I had an android device to test with. I tried the desktop version and it look so much fun, although the controls was very difficult. The music really sets the mood. Nice entry, man.

The Lag Pack says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:07pm

A really good game. The music was catchy and the graphics were good.

It took me a couple of levels to understand what to do though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]