Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Gate Command

by Tifu - Jam Entry

I worked solo on this, but the game was too ambitious for 48 hours, especially with having to work on Saturday, so here is my Jam Entry - Space Gate Command!

Space Gate Command is an X-Com style game based on the Stargate movie/TV show. The game takes place in two stages, first you manage your base, hire soldiers, do research, equip your troops, and secondly, you can dial through the starg- SPACE gate, and send your troops through to an alien world to retrieve alien artefacts that can make you rich. The second part takes the form of a simple turn based tactical RPG style combat.

There is no end goal, the game just goes on forever until either your commander dies, or you run out of money. The closest thing to an end goal is creating 'Power Armour' - as that is the most advanced thing you can create and requires the most research, but you'll get the gist of the game long before you unlock that. To make money, you have to acquire goods, and research them. Once sufficiently researched, you are able to sell the technology for profit.

Game uses mouse only.

There is an issue I encountered sometimes where, occasionally if the AI gets first move, it sometimes doesn't know what to do and freezes up - I wasn't able to fix this, but I did put in a patchwork fix that makes it so if the game freezes like that for more than a couple of seconds, the enemy will just forfeit their turn and should be fine next round. So if the enemy freezes, just leave it a second and it should be ok, hopefully :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#197Humor(Jam)2.93
#272Fun(Jam)3.23
#318Theme(Jam)3.31
#454Innovation(Jam)2.92
#478Overall(Jam)3.08
#507Mood(Jam)2.87
#594Graphics(Jam)2.85
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:42pm

I like Stargate and I like X-Com so I am just about your target audience! All the ingredients are here for a very enjoyable turn-based game - stats, upgrades, tech, varied soldier and opponent types, random levels etc. I really enjoyed the missions I played (the little Jaffa and Goauld sprites are very cute, by the way!). The only thing needed now is polish - a few sounds in particular would have gone a long way.

kyru says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Good idea for a game using this theme.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:30am

Awesome, another stargate inspired entry! The majority of the game mechanics seem to be working pretty well, which is pretty impressive for a game of this scope. I liked interacting with the different areas of the base. I also enjoyed the firefly references in the naming of the units.

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Tactical turn-based strategy? Now that's already a good game in my book. You don't really see many of these, and yours actually looks like a solid enough game. Nice. Also, Firefly references are the best references.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:51am

SPACE GATE! Will have to play more later.. Mind is wandering at the moment. :P

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Fun game , but it kept sending me to start screen randomly :?

Tifu says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:00pm

@malf: odd, it should only send you back to the start screen if you run out of funds or your commander dies, neither was happening when this happened to you?

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:12am

Great idea, solid execution! The game works well, and is very enjoyable! Needs polish but is overall a very nice entry and I would love to see more of this in the future!

Joona@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]