Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

See You Later, Gladiator

by Devtactics - Jam Entry

Oh, brave gladiator! For the past 10-12 hours, you've battled your way through an always-online single-player action RPG filled with thrills and terrors. Now you've arrived at the grand arena, and it's finally time for an epic showdown with the slime that stole your lover! No more escapes. No more illusions.

This is it -- the final boss battle. The odds are stacked against you, but don't be so quick to admit defeat!

* Note: Your experience with this single-player game will no doubt be enhanced by the game's always-online requirement and convenient cloud-saving technologies. Online interactions with other players may alter your experience with the solo campaign. Internet access required for some features (i.e. all but the title screen).

-- CONTROLS --

Move: WASD (or gamepad)
Jump: Space
Attack: To the death! [Edit to clarify: There's no attack button, but the slime *can* be damaged.]

--------------

I highly recommend the standalone versions rather than the Web player. Looks much nicer and probably runs a lot smoother...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#215Graphics(Jam)3.81
#259Humor(Jam)2.71
#371Innovation(Jam)3.07
#591Mood(Jam)2.68
#635Fun(Jam)2.55
#646Audio(Jam)1.58
#687Overall(Jam)2.71
#699Theme(Jam)2.15

Comments

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:00am

The graphics are good. The game is nice to look at.

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:54am

How exactly do you attack? I love how the game looks. The camera is really strange though, why is not the player in the middle?

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59am

The graphics are nice, I like how the sand changes after you walk on it. So,you cannot attack the slime, only die ? The camera angle is weird, and at some point it just randomly changed.

Devtactics says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03pm

There's no attack button -- you and the slime both take damage when you collide. As for the camera, I didn't put the player in the middle because I wanted it nice and low and his fat head kept blocking the view. :D

Devtactics says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07pm

You start with 10 health and the slime has 1000. You each take 1 point when you collide. Seems hopeless, but it isn't.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Graphics are stylish and nice, but I couldn't figure out if I were doing it right. I guess it's impossible to win?
Also I don't get the singleplayer comment in the description. Oh well.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59pm

I love the camera angle! Makes it feel like a cool movie. Unfortunately it tends to glitch a lot when I try to attack. Audio was missing which was a shame. I'd still love to see more :)

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:00am

I think I understand what I need to do but it sure seems hard (and slow!). I keep getting myself stuck on a wall (because I can't see them), which makes it harder. The camera really spazzes out if I get attacked near a wall. Certainly a very nice looking game, though!

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07am

Pretty funny idea, and clever twist on the theme. I like the cartoony look too. Good work!

(Am I the only one who "gets it"?)

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:41am

Gets easier once the Americans wake up and come online! ;)

I still couldn't complete it though. Had a nice matador tactic going but once I got trapped against a wall it was all over. Got down to around 600 one time...

Very crafty idea nicely executed. The art style is lovely and clean. A few sounds would have gone a long way. Good work!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:22pm

hahaha very funny game, I just did not figure how to attack though.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Awesome art style and a cool idea.

I couldn't get the mac version to run. I always just got a message that the app couldn't be opened. The web player ran fine though.

Also, a couple times when I was close to both a wall and the slime, the camera would start spinning really fast and not stop until I was dead.

paps says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Nice game,love the graphics. That cartoony style is so good.
To bad we can't attack, and to bad there is no sound, it would have strengthen the feel. I think there is a trick but I can figure it out.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Noooooooooooooooooo I got "connection lost" when it was only 9 points left! whyyyyyyyy! :P Nice take on the theme!

Devtactics says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:49am

Sorry about the broken Mac build -- I've re-built it for "x86" (instead of "Universal" as before) and re-uploaded it.

Thanks for all the comments! Glad to see some people picked up on the angle I was going for. :)

Jiyambi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:42am

Kudos for a unique take on the theme, though I do have to say I felt the butt of the joke rather than sharing in the laugh ;)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

This game looks great, but I can't figure out how to actually play it.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:47am

Liked the aesthetic, including the action-y camera. Nice entry. :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:47am

The game looks nice but the camera did some tricks on me while I was being pushed up from jumping at the slime. I would like to know if there is a way to beat it. Good work!

Devtactics says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:23am

Let me put it this way: If you can get the slime's health to go down far enough that the game ends, then you've beat it. :)

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Very impressive in art style, perspective, and concept. Unfortunately I keep getting disconnected at 1 health. I can't even tell if that's a bug or not. Oh well. Pretty neat anyway.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:58pm

3d games done for ludum dare have a tendency to look awful, but here that is not the case! It has a distinct style and looks polished.
Now the gamplay on the other hand feels very unfinished, but I'm willing to look past that for such nice graphics!

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:21am

While running away from your opponent isn't the most fun mechanic, I did enjoy the game. Interesting camera angle, but it worked.

skiddings says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:09am

I'm afraid to say I didn't really get it. The camera kept glitching out too when against a wall.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]