Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shifted

by Scipio Xaos - Jam Entry

So guys! Here it is! My second (completed) Ludum Dare entry! The last one was LD28.. didn't make it through LD29 to have something to submit. :P

That being said, I'm really, REALLY happy with how this one turned out. I did just about everything right this time with time-management and project scope.. but more about that in the post-mortem I'll upload on Friday.. (Friday because the same reason the game isn't entirely complete.. College can really rear it's head sometimes. :P )

---Controls:
* WASD to move.
* Escape for Pause Screen
* Number keys to activate items. (When you get them!)

That being said, if you get stuck and something doesn't seem to be working.. my advice is to move around a bit! Enjoy the game!

(((Additionally, expect a Post-Compo version sometime during the weekend as well. It'll have the things I didn't get around to like the storyline and some polish.)))

EDIT: WAAAAHHH! Just noticed I uploaded a "DEBUG" version of the game. :P I fixed it now. If you downloaded it before seeing this update you should download it again or you'll spoil your playthrough. :P

EDIT (Aug. 26, 2014): Fixed a gamebreaking bug and a typo. Nothing to see here. :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#161Theme(Jam)3.63
#487Humor(Jam)2.13
#487Overall(Jam)3.06
#502Innovation(Jam)2.82
#536Mood(Jam)2.81
#553Fun(Jam)2.73
#626Audio(Jam)1.88
#648Graphics(Jam)2.66

Comments

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

Seems like an interesting idea. The controls seemed a little strange for some reason.

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58am

Solid entry. I started having a lot of fun once I figured out the first puzzle.

Unfortunately, a game crash prevented me from reaching the end. :-( Still giving a good rating though, b/c it was well thought out.

Trilby says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:26am

A tried and true game idea.

Would be a lot better if the player moves while a button is being held down.

(I've made a linux build of my game for you. :) )

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:59am

@JordanFitz: Ya. The walking is a little funky cause of some code I was trying to fix. Hopefully the post-compo version will have that worked out.

@Docjekyll Game crash? Do you have the error report? I'd like to fix it if I could. :P I thought I had all the crash bugs ironed out.

@Trilby The player doesn't move for you when the button is held down? I tested it on Ubuntu and WinXP and the player does indeed move when you hold the button down. It gets "reset" when you change dimensions, but you should be able to move continuously if you hold the button down. ... And yay! I'll play it as soon as I can. :)

And thanks for all the comments, guys!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:51am

@Docjekyll I've been notified by some friends that the Door Crash / OutofBounds bug managed to get through. That's probably why it crashed for you. I've fixed it so if you wanna give it another go, have at it! :D

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Walking is funny here :DDD

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:48pm

The puzzles were pretty good but I didn't like the tile based movement.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52pm

nice game. just missed the audio. still, great job!

Trilby says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I was running the game on a Mac. I'll run the game again some time this week to see if I can encounter the bug again. Thanks for playing my game.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:01am

Good job overall, but the controls are honestly horrendous. If some things were improved it could be a pretty cool game.

Budaniel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:35am

Nice puzzles, but I wasn't as fond of the block-by-block walking. If I could move freely it probably would have felt more smooth. Still, nice effort.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:44am

Fun puzzle game

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:40am

@TeamQuadratic Could you describe the controls problem to me? Others were telling me there were some unusual issues like with keypresses not reacting, but I haven't seen anything of the kind... Would love to get some feedback on why they're so horrendous as I can't see any problems on my end on the two systems I've tested it on.

@Budaniel Thanks. Yea, the block by block might push some people away, but Collision Detection was just so much easier if the player was grid-bound so I went with it. :P

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:49pm

There's a good idea here and it should be explored more.
Puzzles were pretty fun but basic controls were kinda stiff making it kind of awkward to maneuver them (although I'm sure your'e well aware of that). The no music was actually not that bad; sound effects would have made it better. Over all, this was more fun than anticipated. Neat!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:24am

Nice little game. As already said, you should put some sound on it, and improve the gameplay, but congratulations on completing it in time!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:55am

Awesome idea, very cool game. Good job!

Xentira says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:05am

Nice work.

Tifu says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Cool puzzles! Wish it had been a little longer to expand on some more things that could be done here :D

swich says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Really solid puzzles. The game reminds me of Corrypt, which I highly recommend (the big surprise reveals after a while).

The controls were a bit awkward, but ultimately usable. Sounds wouldn't hurt either. They could be used to signal that you can't switch, as you can't see it right now. That lead to my initial confusion.

Tosic says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:20am

It would be good with some sounds, but it is not bad!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:59am

I got stuck on that one where you start pushing crates into holes that teleport the crate to the other zone! Stuck at the end... It was cool tho.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:37am

Oh Darn! I just realized I had two tabs open and left this previous comment on the wrong game! I even gave this the ratings I meant for the other game too! (I was playing several games in a row on a live stream)
Corrected now, heres the proper comment for this one:

It was a pretty solid puzzle game, with simple mechanics that came together to make cool little situations. It wouldnt take much to make this into something really sweet, just a bit of polish and maybe a bit more puzzles and you might be able to get this sold, serious!
It took me a little bit to figure out how the white and black orbs work, maybe they could use some sort of particle effect or animation happening over the item in your hud to draw your attention to it.
Also, the movement feels a tiny bit clunky. Something about the slow speed of the movement between two grid spaces and how holding a direction sometimes unexpectedly made you move one extra space than what you wanted. The solution I think would be to speed up the motion between tiles, and add a slight pause between motions, just a few frames, during which the keyboard directions are ignored. Its the kind of thing that needs a lot of tweaking to get right tho.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:27am

Thanks for your comment, FrankieSmileShow. I've thought most of what you've said and am working on fixing up a good bit of the problems. The clunky movement and lack of feedback on item usage is being fixed. I don't have the Post-Compo version done yet.. and I'm a week over when I wanted to have it through, but it is on its way!

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:11am

I honestly couldn't get the item to activate for the first puzzle. Bug on my OS/Computer?

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Probably not, masterhyjinx. You probably walked through one of the oscillating dark fountains. They remove your power. To regain it you need to walk through the yellow fountain. (The Post-Compo version.. which is STILL in development :( ... tells you this. )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]