Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Polaris Imperius Pollux Epsilon

by lokijki - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys to move, Z to shoot.

Collect pipes by killing enemies, connect pipes to other planets to drain them of resources in order to power your planets massive scoreboard.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#70Graphics4.12
#83Fun3.78
#85Overall3.81
#87Audio3.66
#97Mood3.67
#164Innovation3.72
#204Humor3.00
#262Theme3.66

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

Interesting concept - I enjoyed the little touches in the gun mechanics, like the swinging and delays.

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19am

Quite challenging but fun and beautiful.

I really liked the fact that the enemies are the pipes :)

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19am

Fun, one of the first games I went back to play a few times!

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11am

Really fun, good job!

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Great job with this entry! Clever that you have to be careful which ones you pick up, in order to build the right way!

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Cool gameplay with smooth controls. Challenging in a good way.The music and sound effects are good and the graphics look nice.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:22pm

very nice, one of the best I've played so far

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Really terrific . . . I said out loud, "ooh, this is cool" within a few seconds of playing. Love the smooth controls and polish you were able to add in 48 hours. Great mechanic with using the enemy corpses as a resource to build. This is my first 5 star overall rating. Thanks for the great game!

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26pm

I really enjoyed the visuals and the controls were nice, but I never got anywhere near connecting my planet to one of the others. Quite a few enemies need killing to do that. So I would suggest having a little easier start, maybe some hearts one can kill for life-refill?

lokijki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24pm

@local minimum - Yeah, meant to have a way to refill life in there somewhere but never got to it. Will definitely be in a post-compo version.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:45am

After playing this, I immediately jumped to graphics and gave it 5 stars, it had an amazingly nice style, and the feel of the game was very nice. You did an excellent job, well done! :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Very nice game! I love the style. Pure eye candy.

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Really fun game! Really addicting. I kept playing it. Also really nicely polished. Sound effects are good, gameplay is solid and art style is unique. Game mechanics work really well and like I just said, it feels really polished. Good concept and take on the connected worlds theme. And just like someone else commented, I also really enjoyed the little touches you added in such as the slight jag when you shoot and hit an enemy. I think so far this might be one of my favorite game submissions I played and tried out. Would like to see you take this further in the future. Great work! :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Love the art-style! Shooting gameplay pretty enjoyable also. Good job!

SiMouth says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Impressive polishing, and very challenging, it's a great game

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Great graphics and sound. Sprite animation would go a long way. Game starts out a little too slow imho.

cmayhem says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:42am

Very interesting idea and good execution. Well done!

brokenbeach says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:08am

Really fun. Feel-good shooting and excellent sounds. It got really hard, really quickly though. I'd be fine against 1 or 2 enemies. Then suddenly like 4-5 would swarm me and I'd lose all my health almost instantly. Maybe some audio cues to let me know that enemies are spawning from else where.

Otherwise, a really really good submission. Actually fun. Which is something a lot of GameJam entries miss.

Artamus says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Nice game, congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]