Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Leikr

by SarahFrisk - Jam Entry

The fate of the Mythological Norse Worlds lies in the balance. Play against a friend and choose either the side of Loki or Thor to defend the worlds of The Tree of Life.

Done with my friends at Team Awesome McPants. (http://www.teamawesomemcpants.com/)

DIRECTIONS (since people have been requesting them)

This game is a deck building game made for two players, local play only.

During your turn, you drag the cards in your hand (the cards in front of you at the bottom of the screen that are face up and not your character cards) into either the World deck (the top right deck), or your 'played/discard' deck. Playing cards into the World deck will add those resources towards your bid to control that world, but you will be unable to buy or use those cards again until after the world is used. Placing your cards into the deck below the world deck, will allow you to purchase cards on the left hand side of the screen, which will give you more element/magic points to be added into your hand later. You can see the value of the cards you've played at the bottom of the screen. When you can't make any more moves, hit the "End Turn" button, and let the other player take over the screen.

The game is over when all of the World Cards have been acquired. The one with the most World Cards wins the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1948Coolness22%

Comments

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25am

Looked it over for a few minutes but couldn't glean any clues about how to actually play it! You should at least put some instructions on this page so people know the rules and what to do.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24am

For some reason the game would not load, using chrome btw. I will come back later and will refrain from voting for now.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38am

Looks promising, but I've got the same problem as "graebor"... I simply couldn't figure it out, how to play the game :-(
Probably you should add some tutorial or documentation (and audio^^).

Anyway, keep on working on it - probably it will become the "Heartstone" alternative for web browsers! ;-)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:45am

No idea how to play. Cards look nice though. Can you add some instructions?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Didn't load for me in chrome for some reason either but I'll try it on another computer tomorrow.

SarahFrisk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I have posted directions above in the description.

Mapboy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:00am

It seems neat, but you should possibly make the game more streight-forward?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Cute cards with a good sense of humor and accurate mythological references... I really liked the look of it! Despite your instructions, though, I still really couldn't tell what to do. I seem to have ended up in some kind of stalemate after the very first turn, and couldn't manage to buy the special upgrade cards at all. Thematically, it was all there... I was very eager to play, but some sort of idea of how to play a good hand would be helpful.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Hmm, the link appears to be dead over here :(

I'll check back later, this looks interesting

Yoni says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Does not load :(

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

What happened with the link?
I don't know what this game is about, but I like the idea of play cards. I will return later.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Hi there. Website appears to be down. Not rated

SarahFrisk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Should be back up.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I got some questions...
How much does a card cost, how do you buy it (clicking on it?), when do you get it after you bought it (next turn, is it added to your deck)?
When are the bids compared (As soon as one player has bid both a elemental and a magic point?)? Who wins a bid (sum of magic+elemetal)? Why does loki have thors cards and vice versa?
Do i have to use all cards in my turn? etc...

This game needs way more info. Please give a structured overview of the possible moves of a turn and the computer logic behind it. For example: [[[

REGIONS:

1111.2.4
1111.3.5
........
67.88888

1: Shop
2: Lokis bid for the current world
3: Thors bid for the current world
4: The current world
5: Discarded cards
6: Current Player
7: Deck
8: Your Hand

TURN
Drag a card of [your hand] and
1) drop it on [the current world] to raise your [bid for the current world] by the cards resources, or
2) discard it.
* If you raise your bid with a bought card, you wont be able to use such a card again, until the next world.
* For every discarded card you can buy a card of the top left box by clicking it. This card will be on your hand on the next turn.

GAME
Until 5 worlds have been won, repeat:
1) Lokis turn
2) Thors turn
3) Both bid values are calculated by adding the magic + elemental bid, higher bid wins the world card.

]]]
I guess there are some errors in this example descriptions, because i did not understand it fully...

bugs:
* The worlds claimed counter is not reset on new game. (7/5 worlds)
* Some cards miss the black+blue/red card background (only the picture and the text is shown)

Nice art + concept! :)

Larzan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:09am

I love the gfx, but i couldn't figure out how to play :( looks promising though, you should try to add an non-hotseat version.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]