Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

How did I end up here?

by rob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#123Graphics3.94
#699Fun2.88
#833Theme2.82
#880Overall2.88
#1156Innovation2.00
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24am

Jumping 2 squares high is kind of tricky. Also, I found a knife but once I found the rocket ship the knife stopped working even after I died. I could still switch with 1/2/3.

I really like the checker floor 3D effect art!

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23am

I like the whimsical graphics. I found the game hard to control. Please consider adding gamepad support, as it makes platforming games much easier to control.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48am

I love the graphics, especially the parallax effect on the floor. I liked the exploration aspect between the different worlds, but it was often hard to tell where I was supposed to go, or where a particular door would lead (or if the door would set me back, forcing me to retread a certain area again.)

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:13pm

The graphics are cool! I just had no idea what's going on

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:15pm

the design is one of the best i've seen so far, in 48h is pretty impressive

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:16pm

I spent ages just walking back and forth in front of the door with the black and white floor tiles. The art style reminded me of 90's nickelodeon cartoons. I found it hard to avoid enemies though.

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Graphics were nice, controls were tricky, would've been better with some audio for aural feedback. Kind of wandered around until I got stuck and then died.

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:27pm

I got the knife, i knifed the blobs, dodged the flower as much as I could, avoided the pinky aliens that were trying to pidgeon-poop-bomb me annnnddddddd I had no idea what to do at the rocket. Although props or the sweet floor in the castle, that looked sweet! I must give this game another try when drunk o/

duncankeller says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38am

I had a lot of fun with this one! I wish the controls were tighter, and the bugs really detracted from the game at points. Sadly, it froze up once I got to the rocket and shot the enemy with the flower item. I liked the art a ton, but the blurryness killed it a bit for me, a smaller resolution would have actually solved the issue for me.

The different worlds were pretty cool, and I liked the behavior of the floating enemies. Using the knife didn't feel great, but the bombs were enjoyable. The element of exploration, though small, actually helped my feeling of discovery with the game and compelled me to see it through as far as I could.

Despite the flaws, I thought it was great. Good work!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice work on the graphics, I really enjoy the backgrounds.
I found the blue sphere, then I shot at the alien near the rocket and the game freeze.
Good job in creating these fantastic worlds.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:59pm

I really hated not being able to jump with w. I really like the parallax floor effect. Wish there was sound.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:00pm

What a vibrant look and feel. It's a little unintuitive when figuring out where you want to go, but the art style is really original.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:17am

The pink ballons were very hard to avoid! It was good therefore that the items remained with one after being killed. Good job!

AlexFili says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:56am

Very cool, especially the checkerboard 3D effect. Would be nice if it was a bit clearer on what you were meant to do and what items you need. Smashing idea!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]