Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Colonization

by Ellian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Colonization, a game in which you colonize space.

[SPACE] Pause/Unpause time
[WASD] Move camera
[MOUSE] Click planets and buttons

There is (sadly) no goal.

Make sure your planets don't starve, manage your population, create tools from planet's minerals, and build spaceships to make more colonies!

Building costs:
- Spaceships: 20 food, 20 tools, 20 population
- Space Station: 50 tools, 100 minerals
- Factory: 50 tools
- Fleet: 50 tools, 20 population, 20 minerals
- Farm: 50 tools

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#184Graphics3.77
#272Mood3.33
#297Audio3.17
#496Overall3.27
#519Humor2.38
#527Theme3.30
#663Innovation3.03
#749Fun2.83
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

MaesK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Great retro font, I liked the visuals, specially planets and controls. Music helps the mood, but it repeats somewhat often. A goal might have improved the game, but it is good enough as it is (remember, Minecraft had no goal :P). Nice work!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I'm really bad in this kind of games but
it was fun to play nonetheless! I always thought
about how complex it might be to create these kind
of games so seeing one done in 48 hours is astonishing.
Awesome work!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04pm

This is a very good-looking game, and the sound is nice, too. I spent longer on this game than I expected to.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Finally something else than decent action games! It is simply amazing how a game like this could have been done in 48 hours.

martindilling says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38pm

I really don't get it O.o
Am i missing something or is this kinda impossible? eventually a planet that can gather food, uses more food than it gatherers, and there is no way to get food from one planet to another? and planets without food, how can i use them if I cant send food to that planet?
:/

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:46am

Super complicated, but interesting

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:04am

This is really awesome! could do with more shortcuts or clearer HUD.

It's quite hard to process so many numbers at the same time.

hellochar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:36am

Really fun! Looks like the beginning of a fun sim game

Navarckyx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:46am

Simple but good music, looks really good and is an interesting resource management / expansion game. There were times when things went wrong and my colony started starving ... :( I think it switches to "None" when it's finished building a ship etc. It should probably automatically switch to food, it seems to be the safest of the options.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:54pm

nice game, but it takes a while to learn all comands

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Hi there. Interesting looking resource management/strategy setup. I couldn't work out how to operate it properly though... a short tutorial or easy first couple of planets would have been very helpful... I know these things take time though. I liked the sounds and look&feel.

Loren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45pm

very fun, curious if you'll do something with it post-compo :)

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:48pm

It's a solid prototype for a jam, but players should receive more feedback, like how much resources are needed for something and so on. Very nice pixel art. Annoying music.

Cireon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Wow. Such a cool interface in so little time. I just love how the game looks and feels. Sadly, I find it difficult to understand the game and the management doesn't work in such a way that you can just leave a planet running.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

Really liked it and would like to see you expand it more. Agree with SkyWolf that there should be feedback in game about how many resources are needed to build. Also you should add trading between planets but other than that you got yourself a really nice planet management game here.

Ellian says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:34am

Thanks everyone!
The lack of feedback is actually a bug that appeared in the last 30mn before submission (and that I didn't see in time, of course -__-); as for trading, it was planned (this is what Space Stations were for) but... well, 48h is a short time.
But thanks everyone! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]