Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

System F

by Gareth Jenkins - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Connect the abstract worlds of System F to advance through an infinite series of increasingly difficult levels.

- Click on a world to select it, click on another to pull them together (hold to pull more)
- Only worlds of the same color can join
- A world can only join with one other world at a time, but you can still interact with it

- Make a single large world to move to the next level
- The first 7 levels introduce new colors

- Press ESC to restart
- You can drag between worlds to pull them as well (watch for the highlighting)

Occasionally a world refuses merge, ignore them and they'll drift off out of the game.

Context was I started making a walking/drifting exploration thing, but in frustration and messing around with some shaders I did this thing with intersecting circles that gave me an idea... and thus was born System F... a funky zen puzzle playground.

Some notes on strategies & "rules":

- Worlds spawn more quickly when you hold to attract them for longer
- The target "large world" size reduces for the first 8-10 levels
- There's no penalty to pull opposing worlds (other than pulling more spawns more planets), so you can use this to manipulate the movement of the worlds more effectively
- Watch for the pattern of how pulling more creates more worlds... there's a point at which pulling is ignored until another planet is spawned
- The worlds are reduced in size in a level transition disproportionately from their volume (i.e. larger worlds lose more volume)... it's mathematically advantageous to hit the level transition with as many large worlds as possible, but not always easy to pull off tactically


About 16 hours work on the second day of the compo.

Tools: Unity engine, Sublime for code, Ableton Live & Reaper for music & FX

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#155Audio3.46
#200Mood3.45
#357Fun3.27
#374Innovation3.40
#394Overall3.36
#441Graphics3.25
#546Theme3.27
#595Humor2.26

Comments

Deamon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

Web links to a 403 forbidden page btw

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14am

Yea -- doing web build today, ta.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:05am

The mechanic is great and I know this game is cool, but... I didn't expect what I should do. It's so confused. Well done ++

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:31am

Love the graphics and it's quite innovative.. The web version was a broken for me though, couldn't see a mouse cursor for some reason!

cmayhem says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:32am

More complex than seems at first, I really like the concept. Simple but cool graphics. Well done!

martindilling says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41am

great game ;)

megaelliott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:46am

I love this, it's strangely addictive. The overall design is fantastic with the cool backing music and the minimalistic graphics of the game. The gameplay works exactly how it should and the I've had no issue with the colliders thus far. I'm very impressed. Well done with this project!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:51am

Cool game! There was definitely a slight zen feeling there while I stared at these colorful ringed dark circles. Interesting thing, up until level 5 I just recklessly fused circles together thinking there was no losing condition but I soon found myself trapped haha. Miraculously I managed to finish the level and I found myself approaching level 6 with a much more strategic approach (I tried to focus on one color and keep that color in the middle while leaving the rest at the sides). Unfortunately I lost at level 6 but the change of dynamics was a nice surprise.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:54am

I had a hard time trying to figure out what was going on, but the maths involved must have been amazing :)

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Nice concept. I found it a little tricky to control - I wanted to keep control of the larger world after connecting two together. But I still think the idea is great and the art style is very lovely.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:59pm

This reminds me the game "Osmos".

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Really nice game. Well done.

Cliff Lee(CK) says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Great job!
I take a while to know what is going on, turn out it's so much fun!

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:55pm

wow...nice job. feels a bit trippy :)

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:52pm

A nice and calming game.
I really liked how sometimes planets keep circling each other before connecting.

Good job. :)

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

Moody and easy to play :)

Perjoka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

Can`t test it, your games crashes not only the unity plugin but my complete system every time i start it ;) (Macbook with Mavericks)

jawm says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

good game, nice sound.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:01am

Simple, yet very innovative. I could imagine this would be a decent sell on the Smartphone market? :-)
Good job!

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Solid entry, nice and neat game play and really sharp visuals. Great job!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Reminds me of osmosis, fun to play and well executed, nice work! :D

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:49pm

So weird and cool at the same time! Minimalistic graphics and audio suit the game well. Great work!!

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:50pm

This is a fun toy to tinker with. I felt kind of like I was advancing, but I never really felt like there was a way to fail, so I'm not sure if it's a game. Does it really require me to play? Music is good, visuals are pleasant. I think you did a nicely polished job and I bet it would be great with touch controls. After a little while of mouse play I noticed that dragging did something. Up until that point I was just clicking back and forth which also worked just not very well. But I had fun for a little while with this, so I think it's pretty good.

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I'm very impressed with the gameplay, well done.

chowee says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Very relaxing little game, the kind I could keep playing for hours without seeing time pass. Very ggod job !

The core mechanic is very simple to understand but complex to master and the overall game is well implemented and is a very pleasant experience. It gets kinda hard once you start going into the levels !

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:41am

Pretty nice. I don't see why the larger planets don't merge more quickly, instead of having tiny hitboxes at their foci.
Also, I think your bug with planets refusing to merge occurs when two planets are close to merging (oscillating around each other) and then are separated. That's what seemed to happen, anyway.

Crosstales says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:21pm

A great chill-out game - looks very polished and the sound is also very fittig!
Liked it alot - very good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]