Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dreamless

by Dietrich Epp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shadow: Don't touch anything. If you mess with the dream world, you mess with the physical world too.

Girl: What's wrong with your face?

Let me know if you have problems with graphics or sounds... there should be both, ideally.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#144Mood3.55
#223Audio3.31
#260Fun3.42
#281Overall3.49
#328Innovation3.45
#545Graphics3.12
#595Humor2.26
#643Theme3.14

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Waiting for a Windows build.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:18am

Loved the idea, and the levels were very well designed!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:24am

Hey, this is great.

I played all the way through to the end, and I was curious to see how the relationship between the girl and the shadow would turn out. Missed one of the dialogue boxes, though.

Great game and content.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:25am

Thanks for the Windows build!

Very nice game, I like those place-command games. Even comes with a bunch of stages.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:40am

"XML Parsing Error: unexpected parser state Location: jar:file:///B:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/Aurora/browser/omni.ja!/chrome/browser/content/browser/aboutneterror/netError.xhtml Line Number 305, Column 54: <div id="ed_netTimeout">&netTimeout.longDesc;</div> -----------------------------------------------------^"

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:44am

Interesting mechanics and well presented to the player. I would have liked to see what you could have done with all 3 jump, reverse jump and drop actions in play together though. Lots of potential there. I'm not sure why you need a gate for the player to activate the knights, assigning that to a key press would have made it less tedious to retry puzzles. Art-wise I like the wavy effect you got going on for the dream world. Animations would have added some nice polish though.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:51am

Nice work, this is a great puzzle game! The mood is spot on between the art style and the music. The puzzles are clever but not impossible. I love the shimmer effect during the planning phase that turns solid when you set the guys going. Great job!

Phaix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:52am

Great! Was really fun to play. Just the water like effect wasn't my favorite ;)

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:56am

Extremely awesome. Great visual effects. Loved the dialog. 5 stars. Would play again.

Njord says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:08am

Very nice ! I like the gameplay, and the mood of the game is great :)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:34am

Some good ideas, nice arts, i like the dialogue between the two main characters.
Maybe you should add some animation to the characters.
Good work, very pleasant game.

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

Great Game. Cool how the Shadow talks. Awesome music and cool fog effect!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

I loved how you put the power in the player's hands. Very creative. Very cool :)

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

Such amazing atmosphere! Good job! I am really impressed! The graphics effect is so nice! The music is amazing!

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

Unfortunately, this crashes for me as soon as I open the executable. Windows 7 64-bit. Might have to do with intel graphics card? It's a fairly crumby laptop.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:28am

whilefun: Sorry to hear that. Unfortunately, the error handling in this game is mostly done by calling the abort() function whenever an error appears.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

Great ideas. - Flurkin

SoupWithBits says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:51am

I like me a good puzzle.

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Inspiring ambient is what lacks in modern games. Think a minute before going to develoop, too. I did not see these problems in this game. I'll save to play on night.

dcampos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Waiting for the Linux port.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Good atmosphere - the music really helped it along! Nice way to tie in the theme too. A little bit of animation would have gone a long way.

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

That was fun. Well rounded and interesting. Good effort! :-)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:08am

Great game! It ended just as I was getting to the taste of it. I need more :)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Nice work especially in 48 hours

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:37am

Awesome! Really fun! Cool idea and awesome job overall!

OinkIguana says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:40am

Very well done in every way. Ending was a bit anticlimactic but excellent overall.

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:21am

Nice game Love the gameplay.

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:26am

I love the sound fx and audio, they really helped create the mood. The writing was also very strong and humorous. I actually solved a level before talking to the guy and replayed it just to read what was said :D

I think the level before last was a little frustrating because of how accurate the level design made you be. I had solved the puzzle in theory but had to replace them like 5 times to get it perfect.

Obviously could use a walking animation to go with the nice sfx.

jprogman says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:55am

The actions took me a try to get the idea on what each type does. A little trial and error, but nothing too concerning.
Is there a way I could remove the actions I have just placed?

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:53am

Great game! I like the concept and mood. If you improve the gfx and add some animations for the characters, you can easily sell that.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:23am

The sounds are all really nice! And clever game idea!

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:40am

Very atmospheric, I loved the puzzle mechanics and music!

Rehacked says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:05am

Good game but what happened to the story ?? i thought it had abetter story at end !anyway good job!

Teesquared says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:52am

Great game. Very complete. Graphics and audio are top notch. I like the wavy effect in dream land. Really sets the mood.

mystakin says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:24am

Really impressed by the wavy dream effect and mood. Gameplay reminded me a bit of Lemmings, which I adore, so that was also rad. Wish it explored multiple abilities more, but it is a short time to make a gamer after all. Great work!

Larzan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:05am

Nice one, i like the idea. Good effects too :)

klianc09 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:46pm

The music and fog effect create a great mysterious atmosphere.
Liked the puzzles, I just don't understand why I have to control a player character, and can't simply drag and drop the actions where I want?

panurge says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Really nicely planned puzzles and a lovely, mysterious mood. The challenge and the story were pitched just right to keep me playing. Good work!

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I like planning games, and this one is very cool! There is a bug withe dialog window when you are in the real world you can't press it away with space.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:36pm

I could not run the binaries on my ubuntu 14.4. When I try to build it from source, it says

/usr/bin/python3: can't open file './sglib/script/config.py': [Errno 2] No such file or directory

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:35am

@rfgpfeiffer: Whoops, you downloaded the source code! Here is a direct link to the Linux release: http://www.moria.us/ludumdare/ld30/Dreamless-1.1.0-Linux.tgz

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:38am

Er, I didn't read your comment well. I'll at least say that distributing binaries on Linux is a bit of a crapshoot: I tried to make the binary as portable as I could, but obviously something went wrong. If you get that error message when compiling, it's because you didn't check out the git submodules, or you downloaded a tagged release from GitHub. Can you tell me what went wrong when you tried to run the program? Any console output when you run it from a terminal?

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Nice game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]