Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Chain of the World

by noffle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hugely incomplete, but not too bad to look at.

Things to look out for: the horrendously repetitive sound track; the lack of things to shoot with your fancy gun; an ending; gameplay.

Arrow keys for movement. Spacebar shoots.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#277Graphics3.56
#582Mood2.96
#741Audio2.33
#1087Theme2.23
#1139Fun2.09
#1151Innovation2.05
#1160Overall2.35
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19am

Nice graphics but the characters got stuck after reaching the chain(hapenned twice)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05pm

The game stops at the first dialog box, with the big chain. Too bad, I liked the mood and visual, I would have played more :D

steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Loved the graphical style

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55am

Cool graphics! Reminds me old ZX Spectrum games.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54pm

I like the visuals a lot, and it has a funny message :D

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Nice graphics! Just waiting for the gameplay now , hahah :P

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Hi, has promise... That soundtrack... Nice b/w look to it.

Sheepolution says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Too bad you weren't able to finish it. Better luck next time :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52pm

It ends at the chain? That's a shame, it shows so much promise!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:24am

Promising

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42pm

The art style is really neat, I hope you go on to finish it.

igoramendola says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:49pm

The graphics are simple but pretty good. And like others said, is looks really promising! Would be interesting play it once you finish it :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

Gave you nice marks for art as I really liked the look of it. Nice job just submitting and getting that far. Lots of potential. I'd keep working on it.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:00am

I love the image. . . very nice. Please do continue? I'm excited to learn what this is all about!

the says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Game ended so dramatically :D

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:23am

Nice graphics... But we want some more !!

MaesK says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:42pm

We need more! Graphics are simple but effective, specially with negative-space colors. Reminds me of my old Spectrum.

I got stuck on the chain, I guess either that's the end or my game got bugged :D

Nice animations, and nice chain. Too bad I never got to shoot at it :<

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Not sure to understand if the game ending to the chain is normal... But graphical style is cool.

glenaskey says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:15am

I liked the part about the chain

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]