Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dario Runner

by Herman Groenenboom - Jam Entry

EDIT: Ramped up the difficulty a bit, on request.

A small mouse only jam game made in one day by Victor "Silverdisc" Voorhuis and Herman "TehLulzinator" Groenenboom.
------------------
Help Dario run through the perilous Dungeon Zone by using your mouse. If you have trouble finding out what the objectives are read them below, but it should be easy enough. Feel free to post your scores as comment!
------------------




------------------
Minigame tutorials
------------------
Coins: mouse over them to put out the fires
Spikeballs: use the trampoline to bounce them away
Buttons: press them to open the gates

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Fun(Jam)3.63
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#315Audio(Jam)3.21
#376Innovation(Jam)3.05
#501Theme(Jam)2.89
#546Graphics(Jam)2.95
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Solid work. The difficulty could be a bit higher, though. :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Enjoyable, I got 321 meters. It could do with a quicker difficulty ramp, I was getting bored of the repetition by the time I finally died.

I guess it fits the theme but it's a bit of a stretch, the top part doesn't really feel like a world, since it's so random and there's no context...? Maybe I'm being picky.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

We aren't really artists so it was hard to convey the idea better than this. ;)

In any case, I'll ramp up the difficulty a bit!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Sweet! I'd really love to see more of this kind of endless runner, maybe with more minigames or something. Solid work!

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Awesome, nice use of the genre here! :D Glad to finally encounter a runner, haha. Great work :)

simonnaus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:21am

I got to 176 meters! Nice implementation of the theme.

nolife-team says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56am

Original game, congrats:)

9joao6 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:06am

I can't get past 95 ;_;
Loved it, good work :D

disease says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Great idea and a fun game!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:59pm

The best runner game I've played this LD! Good work :)

alvivar says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:00pm

196 meters! :) A runner with mini games, cool idea.

DaGamesta says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:16am

Interesting concept, I liked it. A bit of a stretch as far as the theme goes, but it works, and it's definitely solid.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:22am

Great graphics, music, and gameplay. Good job!

camlang says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:02am

Good job. I would love to play would be in the full game on mobile.

timtipgames says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:54am

Fun game. I like the level of difficulty and the music is great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]