Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stellar

by sanojian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Conquer each solar system by sending your fleets along the paths connecting the planets. But beware, you may not be the only one looking to expand.

HTML5 game. Drag between planets to send fleets. Click planets to shield them (they don't grow while shielded). There are 4 levels.

Waiting longer makes your fleet bigger.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#27Audio3.96
#146Graphics3.86
#158Mood3.52
#158Theme3.79
#241Overall3.55
#436Humor2.50
#439Fun3.18
#755Innovation2.89

Comments

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02am

I was dancing the second the music loaded up. Great job in the audio department, man.
To offer a criticism, I feel like it either takes far too many ships to conquer a planet, or the conditions that make it possible to conquer a planet are a bit unclear.

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02am

Really cool concept :D
The dragging seems a bit weird, but other than that i liked the game much.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37am

The dragging is a bit finicky, but great pixel art and music!

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41am

Love the music and the Graphic style

PERECil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45am

The idea of connecting planets through lanes has been re-used in lot of games, but this one is clearly the best I've seen yet using these mechanisms.

We're however missing a visual feedback on how close to conquer a planet we are...

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:14am

Nice concept and i like the game good work.
I have some points :D
sometimes the drag don't work
I don't know when or why sometimes the planet send more than one ship so some instruction at first may be great
And Good Work :D

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

drag, drag, drag, drag, drag, drag...
how about selecting source with left mouse button and target with right?
And why do the planets take so many ships?

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Nice graphic and music. Dragging is not the best idea here, but anyway the whole game presents really nice.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Hey. Loved the pixel look and the chiptune sound. The dragging is awkward mainly because no visual feedback until drag completed - in my opinion. Good job overall!

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Awesome music and graphics!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:45am

Looks good, sounds good, but I really couldn't work out how to get anything to move at all! Perhaps drag is broken on mac touchpads?

I could get some firing and shields happening, but where's the instructions about them? I haven't worked out *how* I managed to get my planet to fire, it just happened.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:47am

Constantly dragging is quite a pain, even more so with a lack of visual feedback. How about only dragging from a planet out to a part of the track you want to send ships along?

And it seems quite tough sometimes to keep hold of a planet.
I kept frantically trying to keep the third planet on the "final test" level, but eventually I chose to give up.

Both enemies have a much shorter path, and are constantly sending their ships over.. Maybe it's possible, but certainly not easy, and coupled with the constant dragging across half the screen, it's just too tedious.

On the upside, the music is quite catchy, and the sounds are fine. The graphics are beautiful, and I especially like the little portraits.
If the gameplay was more enjoyable I'd certainly look forward to seeing what new enemies might come up and what crazy alien looks they have.

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53am

You left a comment on my game so I had to check yours :)
VERY nice across the board! Good sound, one of the better uses of the theme that I've seen, and those character portraits were a great touch.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Absolutely amazing game. At first, I thought the timing of the drags didn't matter. Then I realized, that the power builds up. Much later did I notice, that you can protect your planet by clicking on it. Otherwise I couldn't win at all. The game is super polished as well. That's clearly the best game I've seen, as for now. More levels and maybe some more specials and I'd pay for it.

Frump says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08am

Really cool and clever game. I feel like the pace of the ships could be a bit faster.

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:48am

Wow, much fun! There were many connected-planets game on this compo, but this is my favorite! I like the music,the tempo matches the quick action, cool!

miwuc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice game, it took me a while to really get what was going on, but when I did the concept seemed very good to me. The last level really brings it out. However, I didn't beat it because it was quite cumbersome to play with a trackpad. I would have changed it so that you don't need to drag all the way to the destination planet, only drag in that direction. Unless you intended the dragging accuracy to be part of the difficulty, but I don't find it very entertaining.
I also liked the graphics. Overall, great job!

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:44am

Loved the music.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:50am

I like the concept and the graphics. As first I did not read you instructions, but as soon as I learnt that you must wait to build up an army I was able to win.

Bernte says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Love the music, love the art, love the gameplay. Solid good work. And your code is very readable. Will absolutely have a look on phaser. Great Job!

snooze82 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:13pm

challenging - cool idea :)

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Very nice graphics! I got tired of dragging real quick, but I liked the concept.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]