Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bacon Installer

by badlydrawnrod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I was going to write a game about connecting worlds with communications beacons, but my wife misread "Beacon" as "Bacon" and so "Bacon Installer" was born. Much more fun, although I had to stop myself from calling it "Pork Chop Lifter".

It's a web game, written using Javascript and phaser.js. It should work on all modern browsers, but it works best in Chrome.

NOTE: You can't shoot when you have a pig in your tractor-beam.

My daughter's game, "Cat Planet" can be found at the following link. This is our 3rd father/daughter Ludum Dare competition within the competition. Her games are getting better and better, and I suspect she'll beat me one year. Please review her game too and make an old man proud!

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=31739

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Humor3.73
#218Fun3.49
#435Graphics3.26
#475Mood3.08
#486Overall3.28
#491Audio2.80
#723Innovation2.94
#1090Theme2.22

Comments

madmaw says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03am

+1 for pigs

xhunterko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

A little difficult to understand at first but very neat idea!

SupSuper says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

Love your original take on the theme. :) The scrolling gives me migraines though..

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33am

Hi. Squashed a load of pigs, it was an accident guv' Played both games as requested. Love your b/w graphics

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

Strange but really entertaining game! Although the scrolling was a bit headache-inducing, the floor scrolling looked really cool and the graphics overall were nice. The shooting mechanic was also pretty cool. Lastly, the sounds were hilarious and amazing :D Very nice entry!

luismb55 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:02pm

It's a fun game and gameplay feels polished.

Also the pigs and "uhmm bacon" sound effect add a lot to the experience.

Good job!

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05pm

MMM bacon. This is a fun little game, with several things going on. It's nicely fleshed out and polished too.

ceosol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Funny and cute. It would have been even better with a little gameboy kind of jingle background music with the mmm bacon :D

The scrolling was a little choppy, but overall a nice entry.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

very cool idea, first time i played it I thought I was meant to shoot the pigs, then I get a game over for losing too many pigs xD haha very good fun little game

WeaselZone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Loved the dying pig sounds :D Fun little game and quite challenging. Dig the style

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18am

Gave me a B-Movie vibe, which is always a good thing!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20am

No joke, I had a bacon butty while playing this. It was good. Nice work. :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:39am

Feels really polished. Loved the aesthetic and the parallax. Excellent audio and game feel. Great job!

Tosic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:43am

Yeah, my friend pronounces beacon as bacon...
But about the game it is pretty awesome, I like the pacman - style enemies and retro graphics, really nice!

rantt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36pm

lol, I loved the pig sounds. The black and white graphics were really nice. Fun game, good job.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Like it! (MMM BACON!)

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Nice Atari style. The gameplay is easy to understand, but challenging. Especially not hitting all pigs, while trying to kill the ghosts.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Mmmm. Bacon.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34pm

The look of the game is pretty awesome, and i love the parallax effect maybe it gives headache to somepeople but i love it. The game is hard to manage, and more because i have try the game in an AZERTY keyboard.. you could imagine the mess.

The game is hard but not more than any 8bit oldschool game thats we can found on the web.

One chiptune song and it will be perfect.

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Hilarious! I gotta get mah bacon. Love how you have the pigs die in a few instances!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Hilarious game :D Mmm, bacon

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:10pm

The moment I saw your username I recognized you from COAL NOT DOLE and realized I had to play your game. I was not disappointed.

The parallax scrolling on the soil looks great, and the sound effects are hilarious. I love this game even better than your previous entries (which is saying something!)

frogcheese says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Short but hilarious. Liked the old school graphics, though it took a minute to get used to the parallax effect the moment you start moving. Nice job on that, btw! Really appreciated the pig mechanics, too - I was very surprised the first time I lowered my ship too far and smooshed one to the ground. And that time I tried to avoid a helicopter and accidentally made some pork chops on its rotor. It really is the little details that make a game sometimes! : )

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Bacon for the win! I enjoyed though as some say it was difficult to get at first what was the goal to achieve. Nice graphics and great gameplay!

Dohan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

I've managed to finish the game with minimal pig casualties. The paralax effect to the floor gives the game a really cool look.

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:21am

love the ground parallax and choplifter-esque goodness. More fun than I expected. Great work!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Pigs for the win ;) Remind me of pre ZX-spectrum era, with 4 shades of gray and speaker only sounds. Very nice entry.

Snoother says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Recognised your name from your last entry, Coal Not Dole. This one also makes me giggle, and I'm liking the cool b&w graphic style. Would have liked some music, though -- maybe a sort of 8bit energetic tune?

steve says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Good fun, reminds me of choplifter, although if I were to ever change jobs, I would be a terrible bacon installer ;(

bentog says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Fun little game, has a nice flow :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

Funny game, cool graphics, but a bit challenging. I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/1LqxxVg5Vuk

owyoow says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:37pm

I liked the art style. Great game

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Aw man... I killed so many pigs. Like... a lot. Very fun and funny! The aesthetics remembers old sci-fi movies. Nice!

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I got to 1685. It was extra hard because I'm left-handed so I usually play with arrow keys, I had to play cross-handed to get my right hand onto wasd.

Also the pigs are really easy to squish, I didn't realize the tractor beam was automatic, and rescuing 10 pigs is either too difficult if you haven't killed the enemies or too tedious if you have. The enemies use the pigs as meat shields, even though they're on different Z planes. The helicopters are hard to dodge and it used my CPU heavily.

Kind of fun, though. The "bacon" voiceover got annoying the second time I heard it.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:49pm

I had some troubles with hitboxes (a bit large maybe) for my first tries, but when you are used to it it becomes fun to avoid helicopter and projectiles.

You succeed in creating a coherent graphics universe which goes well with the story plot.

Hum Bacon (40/40 pigs 2250pts).

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:20pm

5 stars for humor, very cool game

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Good job!

panurge says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:29pm

I like nostalgia, I like bacon, I like alien abductions (so long as I'm not the abductee). In short, I liked this. A really cute, fun concept, nicely realised. Good stuff!

DrCicero says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Simple and fun.
I did find the info text on my third time, as it was kind o f hidden by having to press left / right.
i guess advancing text with space, and starting after the text would have been better.

JaJ says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Nice game! The parallax effect made me a tiny bit motion sick XD

sbarrio says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Loved the simple GameBoy-like graphics. The sound effects are also nice :)

Nice little game you got here, congratulations!

P.S- MMMH, BACON

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Nice game - I think I'm traumatised after landing on a pig though!

robbiehunt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Really nice one, dude! Love the graphics and the concept, very well considered, it's more challenging than I anticipated and so more rewarding to play than I anticipated! Thumbs up!!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:53am

Cool game! I liked the graphics although the camera whiplash made me a little nauseous. It's really cute though. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]