Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fiscally Judicious

by whilefun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You work for Mega Industries Inc., a consumer products company. You have been tasked with overseeing manufacturing overseas. You must build factories to make Mega Industries products.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#48Innovation4.04
#189Humor3.06
#227Theme3.70
#288Overall3.48
#306Mood3.29
#497Fun3.11
#827Graphics2.67

Comments

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15am

so the workers get sick at the same time and you can only repair one factory per turn?

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I like the concept, the two different worlds connected - the employees and the capitalists :) Great job for a LD compo! A bit slow to my taste, animations are around 1FPS, causing some mouse cursor lagging, and cannot exit, only from task manager (Win8.1 x64)

whilefun says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08pm

@honestcritic that is correct. A definite balance issue I think. I wanted to make the illness/injury more randomized and not 100% of the workers, but ran out of tuning time. Thanks for playing!

whilefun says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:09pm

@BitOfGold thanks for your feedback. Are you able to quit via the "Give Up" button, then exit button on the main menu? Thanks for playing! :)

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Very good! This almost seems like an art game, raising questions about the impossible situation which our economy creates. There is no real way to make money and keep the factories repaired. So long as there are no regulations forcing the other imaginary corporations to maintain a high workplace standard (thereby driving up the market price of the goods you sell), you CAN'T maintain those standards.

I R impressed.

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Wow, had fun finding the right amount of factories to make good profit! Had no problems running the game.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Not too good in terms of graphics, but I like the complexity of this! I very much enjoyed playing.

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

Thanks a lot for playing, nintendoeats :)

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:56am

Cool! Thanks for playing, magmaCrab!

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

@jahmaican totally fair...haha, the graphics were the last thing I did on Sunday afternoon. I am glad you liked the complexity. Thanks for playing! :)

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:19am

A bit depressing, but well executed!

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:26am

It was very difficult to keep a factory going for any period of time, and closing down demolishing a factory and building a new one else where was cheaper than repairing it and sending aid. It feels like you were trying to make a statement with this game.

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Thanks, ninjascript!

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Thanks for playing, DeathPidgeon :) I need to work on the balance a bit more, but that was the idea. Perhaps too ambitious an idea for a 48 hour game though.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Seems interesting but I couldn't figure out how to not kill all my employees so I gave up. Graphics are pretty good though a bit blurry at times, no sound (as you mentioned).

n42k says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Wow, well-executed game with a genius message behind it, I loved playing this and maximizing profits! Unfortunately, and correct me if I'm wrong, there were no sounds.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Being a stereotypical evil corporate overlord is apparently harder than I expected. I spent most of the game scrambling to stay alive as the people died and rebelled all around my company. The 1-action-per-turn limitation only made it harder to avert disaster, and I was itching for a way to deselect all commands. The take on corporate themes presented was quite refreshing, and I think that was this game's biggest strength.

whilefun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:11am

Thanks for playing, OinkIguana! :) I have made a more explanatory post-compo version (linked above in the entry listing) if you are interested in giving it another go.

whilefun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:12am

Thanks for playing, n42k. You are correct, I did not have time to add sounds unfortunately. Glad you enjoyed the game!

whilefun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:13am

Thanks for your feedback and for playing, Piscythe! :)

rjhelms says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

A nice to see an economic sim here. I agree with others that there's some balance problems, but a good entry all the same.

I love this games like force you to take a ruthless role win, but then see consequences of what your doing.

whilefun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Thanks for playing, rjhelms! :)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Great game keep going

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:12am

Had fun playing this, nice challenge of balancing workers and factories. The text was a bit hard to read.

whilefun says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Thanks, KingBolonzo :)

whilefun says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:19pm

I've made a note about the font. It was definitely sub-optimal, especially for darker colors. Thanks for playing, elefantopia! :)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:38pm

This was great. Took a few runs to figure out all the intricacies but then ended up with a stable system, so I guess there's hope for the capitalist system?

whilefun says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:50am

There may be hope indeed. Maybe. Thanks for playing, vividhelix! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]