Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gargantuan

by TheGreenTie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Year 2048.
A gigantic, unidentifyed object hits the surface of the Earth.
Prism-shaped rock.
No signs of threat.
Yet, humanity can not risk the chances that it may be hostile.
Objective: Destroy the prism

/ / / / / HOW TO PLAY / / / / /

W-A-S-D: Move
Left Mouse Button: Shoot
Mouse Wheel: Zoom in/zoom out

ESC/P: Pause
F: Full Screen/Window Mode

/ / / / / / / / / / / / / / / /

Code & Art: Rodrigo Gomez Maitret (TheGreenTie)
Special thanks to: Jorge Figueroa

I wanted to add a completely different story but I ran out of time. Also, sorry for non-web version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#79Audio3.69
#130Mood3.59
#192Overall3.61
#246Fun3.44
#301Graphics3.50
#457Humor2.48
#649Innovation3.04
#991Theme2.50

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02am

Really good game, cool art and music, responsive controls and great gameplay c:

Yasho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00am

Great Game! I really do like it when LD games have some kind of story in them, makes them really stand out. Also the athmosphere was pretty great. However, I think the game could have been a bit more fast paced (but then again it would kind of ruin the mood it has). Nevertheless, one of the best games I played today

taviandir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Really cool game!! :)

arhpositive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Second stage is hard, and I pushed ESC, hoping for a pause menu in habit. Starting over seemed like too much of a chore considering going over first stage again.

Still, this feels like a complete Ludum Dare entry where nothing is left behind. Graphics, sound effects and gameplay feels complete. Good work!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Pretty cool, I like intense boss battles like these. Good job.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Why you no Mac?

abeing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11pm

wow great sounds, atmosphere and challenging. a bit too hard for me(couldnt beat the second enemy ) but all in all really good game!

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34pm

@arhpositive I'm sorry to hear that. I just updated the game and now you can have an actual pause screen by pressing "Esc" or "P".
You can also press "B" and "R" at the same time at the menu screen to go directly to the second boss if you'd like to try again ;)

Also, thanks everyone for playing the game :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Couldn't get past the first level :( It would be nice if the guy moved just a little faster, I found it really hard to dodge the crystals.

Still, it was some hectic fun while it lasted! The audio really seemed to fit the mood of the game.

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21pm

@Yasho @andrewkennedy I tweaked a couple, simple variables. Now the character moves faster, and it does feel better now. Thanks for the suggestion.

Zylann says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35am

You made me murder this prism! It never caused danger to humanity, until you forced me to shoot at it!
No joke, this is a really good one. Sound is way too noisy at times, but I enjoyed the story and its implication in gameplay.
The trick to win is to always turn around the enemy and shoot, which is basically what happens in every 2D shooter where you can rotate... it made the action a bit repetitive, however the three stages introduced variations so it wasn't too bad.
Really good job!

muriel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13am

I liked it :)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Chrome blocked it

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:40pm

the sound design was amazing, and overall the game felt so tense and epic! It was so much fun, and everything about it just felt so important and really emerged me into the game. Excellent job! :)

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:33am

@elkiwydev I bet my game is not the first game at Ludum Dare that Google Chrome blocks by thinking it is a virus.

To stop this, go to Settings > Advanced Options > Privacy > And then uncheck the "Block malware" or something.

If not, try downloading the games using another web browser, Internet Explorer for instance...

This is all I can do to help.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:39am

I enjoyed the challenge of this game. Serious gamers know that easy=boring! Great game!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:45am

Wow, awesome game. Very unique and very polished. I wish I was good enough to beat that second guy!

rRootagea says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:51am

Awesome effects, wish there was a little more to it than just circle strafing

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:35am

Love the art, the lil' blue dude (or dudette!) is cute. I second opinions that it'd be nice if you moved a *little* bit faster though - felt a tiny bit sluggish, especially once the crystals appeared.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:56am

That was AWESOME! It made me feel like such a badass. The second stage was definitely the best, although it would be nice if the camera pulled back a little sometimes during that stage. (Wait a second... now I read the instructions and see that there's a zoom control. I'm a dope.)

Raphy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Very nice sound design and a nice flow to the game making it cool to play. The giant structure perspective felt kindda weird though, never know where you're projectile is gonna hit!

But good job!

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Very immersive ! Audio and graphics are really good. I like the giant boss too. Congrats !

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Awesome boss fighter thing :) A lot more to it than I thought at first and the little story was rather good.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Good graphics, mood, and audio. However, it didn't have much to do with the theme. I like how the boss fight progressed.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:39pm

The graphics and sound were good. Since the boss patterns were mostly streaming, I found myself in much more danger from the boss flailing around than anything else.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:57pm

I can't get it to run. :/ I get and error message saying: "TestPlatformer" "Command line option syntax error. Type Command /? for Help." I've not rated because of this.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Love it! :D
Reminded me at the beginning of "Rendezvous with Rama". You've really managed to set the mood in this game, especially with the sounds, nice work! The final stage was really creepy!

Benjamin says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:25pm

I can't play it because of my azerty keyboard. Fullscreen prevent me from language shift. Please add arrow keys on your next LD entries so frenchies can enjoy your games too :)

camlang says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:59am

Good mood. I would love to play would be in the full game.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:00pm

This was cool! I especially liked the intense sound. Smooth responsive controls. I had s strange effect where the smoke from my jet pack always displayed behind the prism. Great job!

MRvanderPants says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Great artwork and cool concept!

romandtom says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Nice game :)
I didn't understand what to do until I read here.
but when I did it was good :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]