Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WetWalkerWorld

by monkeymad2 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short game about a world where most people are constant users of a VR device, those who do not use the device constantly are WetWalkers.

You meet a lady in a VR club to discuss something stolen.

Tested In Chrome.
Images: Pixelmator & bamboo tablet.
TextEditor: Sublime Text

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1985Coolness20%

Comments

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:35pm

I like the concept and dialog and I am quite taken by most of the graphics. Good job on this one.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Really innovative concept and novel interpretation of the theme! I would have liked to have been able to move about a bit more quickly, and to the right of Samantha/Candy--where the rest of the game is supposed to be happening--my character just disappeared and I couldn't progress. I would really like to see more of this concept, more gameplay of it, so please do continue!

Endurion says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:15am

Can't vote, doesn't show anything but the borders, using IE 11.

ra4king says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Unique idea, never thought connected worlds applied to VR. Nice job!

dook says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Really neat idea, and great interpretation of the theme! It was a bit buggy, though, and I wasn't sure if I made it to the end or got stuck, or what happened... but there was just nothing more to do perhaps?

Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Theme was perfectly matched by gameplay. It was a nice experience and fun to play, but I found it a little buggy. When going outside, I went left until the main character got out of the screen. I tried to go back but couldn't. Luckily in the second try I got to see "Fin". Good work!

kristof says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:49pm

nice game! i found funky butt stuff but i couldn't do anything further:( great story!

TKia_ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Nicely written dialogue, and a cool-sounding concept. I wouldn't mind seeing this being continued into something more.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:24am

Interesting game. Only issue I had was the window was too small. It cut off some text, too.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:56am

The idea of the two worlds is great! Loved graphics. Shame it doesn't have sounds :(

Crosstales says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:03am

Nice game with good graphics and dialogs.
I also liked the VR-idea alot!
Please finish it! ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]