Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Nether

by GFM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There are three close worlds that are connected by an area void of life. That came to be called as "Neutral area", with the others being "Dark World", inhabited by Dark'ans; "Light World", inhabited by Light'ans; and "The Nether", were creatures lives.

Those that lives on The Nether don't usually cause harm by themselves. But when commanded, they can make into a fearsome force.

Lately, both worlds have been attacked, through the neutral area, by nether creatures. Since there has always been animosity between them and they are oblivious to the fact that both are being attacked, each is blaming the other one...

-----------------------------------------------------------

Controls:

Press '0' to mute the music. (Forgot to say it earlier; it's built into Flixel)

Click on your units to select it and issue commands.
'ESCAPE' and 'P' pauses the game (great for selecting a unit)
Arrow keys and 'A' - 'D' moves the camera.

The text windows can only be passed with the keyboard.

Also, text options must also be selected with the keyboard.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Known bugs:

The pathfinding sucks. Therefore, anything that uses it (i.e., any in game action) is may behave weirdly...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#413Humor2.54
#509Graphics3.16
#520Innovation3.20
#621Audio2.60
#803Mood2.72
#890Overall2.86
#979Theme2.54
#1071Fun2.33

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Fresh vision of lemmings type games

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Nice!

enderargent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41am

Lemmings!!

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:07am

Nice! Wasn't expecting a unit management game but got a nice surprise.

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:28pm

I like this idea! It is kind of like Lemmings with tactics like gameplay. Good work!

gillenew says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I couldn't play very well, and the music disturbs a bit

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I like the drawn in chalk style graphics. Good job.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Controls were a little awkward , but the concept is great!

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:38am

Thanks for all the comments. :)

The game wasn't supposed to look like Lemmings... but since I was really short on time I put more than enough player for it to be beatable (if the AI helps XD).

I'm aware about the controls... After +/- 10 hours trying to fix it, that was the best I could do.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Menus are unresponsive. I have to click a dozen times before I find the "hotspot" that brings it up. (The actual menu effect is probably the game's best feature.)

Also, please kill the music! That annoying bleepy jingly thing doesn't fit at all. (And find yourself a good proofreader. Yes, I'm offering.)

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:30pm

I like the concept a lot! It was a bit confusing at first about what to do, but once you get going it works well. My only complaint is that everything was a bit small and hard to click, like the menu system.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Never played a sidescrolling RTS like this, weird. I beat the first battle as the dark'ans, then I guess the game froze during the cinematic? Or is that the end?

Not very much fun telling a dozen guys to fire their weapons and then watching the little baddies outrun the bullets for ten seconds. Music got old quick too. I'm impressed that you've made a unit management game with full cinematics in 48 hours, but I'm not sure where the strategy or skill enters the gameplay. Also clicking little people and menus is annoying, would prefer keyboard controls or multi-select.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:25am

Wasn't expecting to micro manage - nice!

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:16am

I liked the idea, but couldnt play at all.. the menus were unresponsive... also the music was a little annoying. Congrats for finishing anyway! =D

Loren says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:08pm

very interesting, looked fun!

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Nice game, congrats!

GFM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:16am

Thanks again for all the feedback! =D

Since most of my time was spent trying to fix the pathfinding, I ended doing a lot of things in a rush (and badly coded). For example, even though each type of player should have it's own speed, I opted to make everything equally fast. This made following the path returned by the pathfinder (and calculating jump distance) really easy, but it also made the "game" really stupid.

I might come back to this idea at a later time, but there are actually two other games I want to (try to) make before this one.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:16pm

dude chalk are....awesome havent seen that b4. Nice Work

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Honestly I wasn't expecting to see a game like this in LD30, but that isn't a bad thing, I really liked it.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:10pm

awesome chalk art!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:32am

Agree about the controls not being ideal, but the mechanics were cool :)

ramoncb says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:22pm

The buttons could be a little bit larger, was difficult to click ^^'

Nice game! and complex for a compo entry, good job! =O

and sorry my bad english ^^'

Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:59am

funny weird game. with bugs though

jerombd says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Some great ideas, but there are few bad ones that spoil the gameplay :/ Too bad you didn't have to time to balance everything.
No future V2, version post-gamejam?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]