Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Low Battery 2: Electric Boogaloo

by RHY3756547 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a robot with a spring in place of its legs. You can only move using your grappling hook and switching dimensions with your Hyper-Reality-Mega-Omegadrive-Dimension-Warp-Device.

You were originally exploring the cave for treasure but you didn't find any! So now you have to leave empty handed.

However, you need to escape before your batteries run out! Imagine that!!! This low battery robot in a cave thing sure happens a lot.

Do you have what it takes to WIN VIDEOGAMES?? Post your total deaths or level you got up to in the comments!

----------------------------- FEATURES -----------------------------

- Custom WebGL engine rendered tiles
- Deferred lighting
- Grappling Hook
- Cool particles
- Grating Music that will drive you insane
- Bullet Points
- Hyper-Reality-Mega-Omegadrive-Dimension-Warp-Device
- VIDEOGAMES

----------------------------- Instructions -----------------------------

Instructional graphic on game page. Press 1 2 and 3 to switch between worlds. Use left click to grapple. Have fun!!!

The game is meant to be difficult, so don't be frustrated if you can't complete the levels easily - I have a little trouble with some of them too! (my record is like 48 deaths)

If you're having any trouble you can experiment with the controls in the sandbox page (post compo, coming soon).

----------------------------- FAQ -----------------------------

Q: The game is running slowly!

A: The game uses WebGL to render tiles and relies on using graphics hardware to render the lighting at an acceptable rate.

If your game is running slowly your Graphics Hardware may be BLACKLISTED for WebGL by your browser. This will force the browser to render WebGL using a software renderer which runs on the CPU, which doesn't play nicely with my deferred lighting system.

Check here:
http://www.khronos.org/webgl/wiki/BlacklistsAndWhitelists
You may get better performance by switching to another browser, try both Firefox and Google Chrome.

-----------------------------

Q: Game won't run! WebGL could not be initialized!

A: Make sure you have the latest version of either Google Chrome or Firefox. Safari should work too. Your graphics hardware may also be blacklisted, read the above.

-----------------------------

Q: Game won't run at all! There is no error message!!!

A: Make sure you have the latest version of either Google Chrome or Firefox. Check the console and post what it says in the comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#72Audio3.71
#115Graphics3.96
#124Fun3.65
#167Overall3.65
#204Humor3.00
#372Mood3.21
#516Innovation3.21
#877Theme2.73

Comments

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30am

unplayble on chrome. framerate too low

anssipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07am

Very playable on Chrome here. Really nice graphics and mood...Love the juice on this one :) However I found 3 connected worlds a bit too much for this kind of fast paced arcade experience.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

really nice, and fast - kinda hard on my notebook with touchpad :D

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Yep, I really recommend using a mouse to play this.

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25pm

So fast! And quite hard :P Great music. Great graphics. Impressive!

eyeofbri says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Really fun, addicting fast gameplay & awesome game mechanic! I agree with world 3 seeming a little too fast.

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:44am

Man, this game is awesome! Great concept! I feel like a spiderman!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Fast paced and fun, great graphics and music! I only really feel that the grapple range should be a bit longer, but I managed to beat it as is. Good job!

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Fun game, not a huge fan of the audio, but that's just personal preference. I love how the change in colour schemes is smooth and unobtrusive.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

The game did not worked on my browser, it shows the first screen with the instructions when I hit to play to don't show the game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Love the swinging. The camera motion is a bit too much.

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Pretty good, I gave great rating. Fun, graphics are awesome. Music is awesome. Just a question though. If this was for the 48 hour challenge, where is the source code?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Ran perfectly fine for me (on chrome). I really liked the graphics and light. The concept was cool as well, but I did not really like the "zone" swapping mechanic, it feels like it was shoehorned into an already good game just to fit the theme.

Still one of the best games I have come across so far!

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice artwork and music , had a lot of fun playing it , very hard tho :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Fast paced and pretty fun! although also very, very difficult. I don't think the world swapping really fit this kind of game.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:41pm

LexGear: just forgot to include it. Zipping it up and including right now.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Done! The source was always available at /game.js, though not packaged with the resources (just url references). I've also included the working fw.pngs for the character and tilesets.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:33pm

The game is BLOODY AWESOME. But it barely fits the theme.. it looks like the theme was just an after-thought, you could had completely ignored the world-switch gimmick and the game would still work incredibly well.

Still the game is a lot of fun. The difficulty is where its supposed to be. Awesome job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Fun but difficulty is steep.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I actually thought the theme would be the thing to give the game its depth when I came up with the idea - I specifically thought about the style of platforming in level 3 the most (swing across platforms from different worlds interchangably), but the others tend to go in a more direct route to the finish. Thanks for the feedback!

bulletmagnet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Excellent graphics, fast paced, not too easy, does what it says on the tin ( for the competition requirements ). Well done sir!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41am

Great game! :D I really liked the music, graphics & the game mechanic, also it fits the theme nicely, good job! :D

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Wow, weird hard. "It's meant to be that way" - yeah sure, lame excuse :-p

Made it through level 1, level 2 was unbeatable for me. But it sure looks and sounds cool and if it was just a tad easier, it would be a lot of fun.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:28pm

bad @ videogames

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Damn, that's hard. Great entry and I'm all for hard games but it could use some levels for noobs :)

steve says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:11am

The grappling mechanic feels fantastic, however the timer and collision switching are unnecessary and just muddy what this game is about. I really think you have a gem here, you just need to remove the cruft and improve the difficulty curve.

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:20am

The mechanic was fun. Really nice graphics and effects. The theme felt a little forced. The difficulty just killed it for me. I wanted to be good at this, I really did. It was so exciting to play, but after it took me about 10 minutes to get past the 1st level, I rage quit after trying to beat the 2nd level for 15 minutes. I had 2 suggestions:

- Lowering the gravity
- Give the player a few levels to warm up to the mechanic, each with slightly increasing difficulty.

Slowly building the player's muscle memory to the game often gives a much better experience.

Aside from the extreme learning curve, this was a very nice entry.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

I think that the problem is that I wanted to sell the full depth of the mechanic but didn't have the time to make enough levels to slowly ease the player into it. I don't think maybe even 5 more levels for smoother difficulty ramping would get the player up to where I'd ideally want them to be for the final level, so it would have been near impossible to get something like that ready for 48h compo.

The theme only really comes into direct play on the 3rd level... I'm pretty impressed that you stuck with it for 25 minutes, and I do agree that the player needs more preparation for the tricks in level 2. (and even the swing up in level 1) My other friend was able to beat it in that time from first try - so the ideal difficulty probably varies drastically from person to person - but right now I'm only providing content for the higher end.

Either way, I'm glad to see that you had fun with the first two levels.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:21am

A really outstanding entry! Really outstanding!

I admit I was hopeless at it, its far to fast paced for me. But I can appreciate a thing of beauty.

And a thing that feels finished :) So now I just have to read your post about the sequel and hope there's a video ;)

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:36am

Dang that's a hard game, awesome though! :D

spotco says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:13am

Impressive stuff tech-wise (saw all that webgl stuff in the source!), controls could have used a bit of polish/simplification (really frustrating to get stuck under ledge, etc). Music was a little jarring, but great work!

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:32am

Alright, I wanted to give this one another shot because I really think it's a fun game mechanic. I was surprised that I breezed through the first 2 levels in about 5 minutes. Level 3 though...that took me about 20 minutes to beat. Level 4 was fun, but level 5 kicked my butt and I stopped.

I still stand by my previous comments about it being too difficult, but let me be clear, there is a big difference between a game feeling difficult and a game being unfair, and your game was not unfair.

I did feel the theme a bit more with the 3rd 4th and 5th level as you stated. Also, I can understand you wanting to be sure to showcase the mechanics depth, I've been in that position before. Unfortunately, many Ludum Dare participants don't have the patience to stick with a game that has such a high learning curve.

Just to emphasize what I said before, this was a nice entry, and a lot of fun once you get the hang of it.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:28am

Thanks for coming back and sticking with it! I've been having a few thoughts about a full game based on this concept - so a version with a smooth difficulty may be something that exists eventually.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:08am

Very nice! Challenging and interesting gameplay. Enjoyed a lot.
Also I like style and graphics.

skiddings says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:49am

Hard but I wanted to keep playing!

Trilby says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Gosh, this is hard. Lots of trial and error here, but the game overall feels polished.

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Okkkkkay, your won the Most Difficult LD Entry award :D

I would have liked to like this, but unfortunately I suck at playing games that go superfast like this one.

Really cool swinging. Would have wanted to play more, but... damn. That was tough.

Ventura says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:46pm

lol, addictive game and music :D haha. I died 10000 times but i kept trying. Good light and good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]