Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rocks

by Zoomyzoom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rocks is an action adventure mining buildem up, following the journey of a mining team of robots that give the game its namesake. Control the Rocks as they mine and build their way through the many worlds that they encounter, and lead them towards their unknown future.

Controls:
SPACE - Select All 'Rocks'
SHIFT - Deselect All
Right Click - Give Target
Left Click - Deselect All
LEft Drag - Select All In Area

Timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G7UF-hafOqY

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#312Humor2.77
#559Innovation3.15
#615Graphics3.00
#645Fun2.94
#658Audio2.53
#667Mood2.86
#676Overall3.09
#955Theme2.59

Comments

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02am

very nice entry, remember me donjon keeper ! :D The only things to improve will be a select all button, its a bit hard to select on my laptop, else great ! GG :)

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03am

I didn't get very well what was the point, looks funny though. I advanced some levels and got stuck :(
I like the filter effect you applied :)

Norfinel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27am

The game crash after a mouse right click.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37am

@Makio There is a select all button haha! = SPACE

@Norfinel Doesn't seem to work with firefox right now.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

cool idea. and very innovative, haven't seen anything like this before. the robot collective is good. maybe you can expand on this?

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Nice strategy game :)
My only probably was that there were a few too many characters for me to care about managing. Perhaps only have a couple in the early levels and then as you go further you find new allies?

Brilliant entry!

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:19pm

@JosephLittle I think you are spot one :) Maybe if you could find capsules with more characters in? Thanks for the kind words :D

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Sometimes the portal goes missing. Nice idea though

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08pm

The filter is great and like the way you've given personality to the robots with the different names and little portraits.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Couldn't find any portals, but enjoyed mining - felt a bit like curiosity cube

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Wow this game surprised me. I wasn't sure what to expect from the description and it quickly put a smile on my face while playing.

I like the simple concept and the way things work. The game is quite interesting and is really fun to play. You had me going there for quite sometime too.

I liked the writing it was humorous enough and the little "Ed" (I am guessing it is though) thing was a nice touch.

The overall sounds are OK, I'd love to see some music as it would give some extra atmosphere to the game.

I particularly loved the black and white worlds they looked cool XD.

One thing though, I'd love some explanation as to what each rock does, I had to guess a few of them but wasn't sure my guess was correct or not.

Well done game and great work! :D

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Robot names are pretty creative :D

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Made me open in IE, 0 / 10. (Not really).

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:03pm

@xgeovanni I shall burn for my sins XD (Get chrome!)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

cool little guys :) Thought to dungeon keeper too as i played the first two levels...

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Got to world 10 and died ;(

Had alot of fun with this game! :D Really interesting to use different bots for different situations

akymos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Really good job.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:58am

Great graphics, cool innovation. Nice job!

Larzan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:47am

Nice concept, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]