Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dimension Plane

by TBSHRichard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In my game, Dimension Plane, you take the role of a young girl, half complete in two similar but separate universes, who is journeying to regain her full self. By cooperating with her inter-dimensional partner, she must solve the puzzle of these strange worlds in order to escape.

Objectives and Notes:
* Make it to the end of the 3rd screen by picking up and placing orbs from and on the pedestals
* When an orb is on a pedestal, it exists in both worlds but it only exists in one while being held
* Placing an orb on a pedestal will open/close any doors of the same color that is connected to that pedestal
* Pedestal connections to doors are denoted by wires travelling from the pedestal to the door
* You cannot move onto the next screen unless both characters reach the edge of the current screen
* You've completed the game if you make it past the 3rd screen and all you see is a white rectangle

Controls:
(Left Arrow): Move left
(Right Arrow): Move right
(Up Arrow): Jump
(Z): Pickup/Place orb (top dimension)
(X): Pickup/Place orb (bottom dimension)

Issues:
* Abrupt ending; I meant to have a little congratulations screen but I didn't have enough time
* I think I have resolved collision issues, but it still may be possible that the character falls through the floor. If this happens, you'll have to refresh the page, unfortunately.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#552Graphics3.11
#623Theme3.17
#755Innovation2.89
#788Mood2.73
#791Fun2.78
#816Overall2.95
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Hi there. Really like that there are 2 worlds, but 3 orb colours. Excellent graphics, shame no sound. Great puzzles!

ClownAround says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

Nice graphics.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

Really liked the gameplay

Logan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:28am

Wow, THAT was a lot to wrap my head around. I can only imagine it must have taken a lot of thought to play the progression of this puzzle, and to make sure the player couldn't get stuck.

I was grateful that the two dimensions were forced to align at the screen edges.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Haha, neat game!

TBSHRichard says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Thanks for the comments so far! I'm glad there has been some enjoyment!

@Logan: Yes, I made sure to do all my planning before moving on to actually creating the game. Most of the trouble I had with the player getting stuck was the situation where the player entered the second screen without the green orb and jumped over the "hill". I for the most part fixed this by adding a bunch of inverted green doors in the first room, but after reading your comment, I just realized that I missed some areas and it is very possible to get stuck. I wish I had noticed sooner, but I at least tried to prevent it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:46am

You got very high marks from me except in sound. You must have spent a lot of time working out the puzzles. The game mechanics were excellent. Great job.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:02am

Awesome innovation. Really neat idea, fun! Good job!

tbam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:04am

Solid gameplay, and tough puzzles!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Very well designed puzzles, congratulations!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]