Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Complement Chicky

by pythong - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Complement Chicky!

This was a pitch from me in the direction of Monument Valley and Fez. Don't get too exited: I invested 48 hours, and you can play it in less than 5 minutes :v Still, you want to make a game like this? It's hard you guys. ;)

Kudos to ustwo and Phil Fish Fez ;)

Have fun everyone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#385Mood3.19
#398Graphics3.35
#542Theme3.28
#565Overall3.20
#641Humor2.20
#653Audio2.54
#676Innovation3.01
#882Fun2.67

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26am

Strange optical illusion. Good concept which can be improved. Well done ++

Vandash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

Unity Web player version not working for me, it says error bad file length...

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:42am

I think i found a bug, if you click in the same location twice you go backwards before going forward

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:42am

Impressive for 48 hours!

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:44am

Great concept!

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

It reminds me so much to "Manument Valley" game. I like it so :-)

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46am

Impressive work for 48 hours.

pythong says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07am

yes, sorry, but the movement really is a bit buggy :) That's why in the last level there's no movement at all. I had it before, but then gave it up ;)

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Nicely done. I got few problems with path finding though.

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Great work for 48 hours!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07pm

How to connect two worlds together? :D

Clean design but remove those background soft particles :) Also movement need some hotfix but this is definitely good for 48 hrs!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Nice work. I'm sure I recognise the style ;)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30am

Nice job. Impressive just working out how Monument Valley did things.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:02am

Cool graphics with illusions. Nice

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Very good work ! It beautiful

K55 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32pm

I liked it! Rotations were slow, that felt like something the player could control. Fun regardless.

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Not trivial technical implementation, nice effect concepts. Looks nice

dunin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Good tribute to Monument Valley and Fez. It seems really hard to make a game like this, even more in 48h!

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Great work for a short time. Would wait for an upgraded and more tricky version. Amazing mechanics, it'll surely work even better with some more sfx or music...good job!!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Love the transitions between puzzles!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Cute game. Short and sweet. Perhaps the rotations could have been bit faster.

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

it's great that you're trying to clone monument valley

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Woah!!
This is a really good effort.
Kudos.

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:17pm

If this game is not so similar to monument valley, it's really amazing!!
I think chapter 3 is a bit confusing though I finally solve it. Nice work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Nice work!

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Great work! Especially with getting the illusion tech working. Very Monument-Valley-esque obviously, but it's still not that beaten an idea yet.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:51am

would you mind making a linux build?

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:41am

Really amazing job. Never played Monument Valley though, but I really enjoyed this game. might have to look into get MV now :)

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:31am

The style was really neat, and the optical illusions were amazing. The puzzles weren't always clear--I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do in the last stage, and figured it out through trial and error.

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:30am

Thanks everyone! I just added a linux build as well (didn't knew that...well, that's what LD is for :D learning new things :D )

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:40am

Yeah, source of inspiration is apparent :) Great job for 48 hours, I always wondered how such things are implemented technically.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Nice little game.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:29pm

thanks for the linux build! i really like this type of games, it reminds me echochrome

Aaants says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Really cool that you managed to pull off something so intricate in 48 hours. Great work.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Pretty interesting puzzler. Eventually gave up on the earlier puzzles as I had no idea what to do next (the first pink cog I think) but I loved the art style and the sounds fitted the mood pretty well.

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:10am

Ambitious project! and a chicken! cool!

I believe adding sounds when something of the world moves could improve a lot the general feeling of the game.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:03am

really interesting idea, didn't really understand the last stage but somehow I won lol, I could see this being a full puzzle game, good job :)

anssipe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Awesome job for a 48h game!

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:37am

Very neat game. I wish there were more levels.

orukinawa says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:04am

I've always been curious how Monument Valley pulled it off (from a technical point) and you managed to pull it off in 48h :D Awesome job! I love the ending :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Technically impressive, though it feels a bit slow. Could use some level variety, and the final puzzle felt disconnected from the rest of the game, but nice work for the allotted time!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:10am

Beautiful game. In some levels the movement felt really buggy and I couldn't get them to move even a bit. Other than that, a really enjoyable experience.

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:11am

Interesting idea, but I think all the animations are WAY to slow. If doors closed much faster and the camera moved quicker it'd be more interesting. I think it makes the game a little boring when it otherwise could be cool!

I also don't think the violin sound is a particularly nice sound. Perhaps another instrument would be better, or a higher quality recording.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:46pm

The movement was a little awkward in places, but overall this was a great idea.

mechabit says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:58pm

wow, awesome optical illusions

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Good concept, well done !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]