About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 18 hours, 34 minutes, 50 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 18 hours, 46 minutes, 50 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 19 hours, 34 minutes, 50 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Copulus - zapaman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Copulus - the love making and weight lifting simulator / god game is a 2D tile-based game, designed around the limitations of a NDS screen, in which the player assumes the role of a God. He must train and provide food for his warriors, in order to make them stronger, and more attractive. The goal of the game is to raise the tribe's population to the maximum (50), in order to send them to connect and populate other worlds.

    Mini Tutorial:
    Hunt: You summon a pack of wolves (4 + nrOfSummons) that can be devoured by your followers. Note that wolves will attack and engage them. Killing a wolf fills the individual's hunger bar and awards XP.
    Train: Your followers begin lifting weights to gain XP and increase their level (and damage / defense). While training the hunger bar depletes faster.
    Idle: Your followers roam around the island and engage in social activity, in search of a mate. If a mate has been found visual indication (in the form of a heart) will appear above their heads. While in the idle mode, hunger depletes slowly and Health is regenerated.

    Goal: reach 50 individuals in your tribe.
    Loose: if you have less then 2 individuals (since you know, 0 or 1 cannot pro-create).

    The hunger bar is the yellow one on the left side of a follower. Health bar is the red one over their head. The number to the right represents the level.

    The game requires you to manage and switch between summoning wolves, training (to defeat stronger wolves) and "copulating" to increase your tribe's population.

    Currently (24-08-2014) only the windows build is available (it includes the source code). I will submit a Linux and Mac OSX (and maybe android) tomorrow (been up for 43h, and I gotta go to work in the morning). The source code and assets are made available under the MIT license. Feel free to use them how ever you see fit.

    The game features "random generated islands", asexual weight lifters, wolves, portals, hearts and gore.

    I will write a post-mortem on my experience with building a bare-minimum god-game tomorrow evening, including how helpful it was to have a WIKI as a notebook. If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment or poke me on twitter (@Zapakitul)

    --------------------
    If you are wondering why the game has that art style or (upscaled) low resolution graphics, here are the limitations I set for myself at the beginning of this challenge:
    Self-Imposed Limitations:

    Must involve some kind of an AI
    256 / 384 resolution (Nintendo DS style)
    32 color palette
    Mouse only (touch applies)
    32x32 sprites ( 8 / 6 tiles) or 16x16 (16 / 12 tiles)


    Edit: Copulus comes from: Populous (a great god game) and Copulation :)

    Edit2: Android version up. I only tested it on a Nexus 4 and a High-end 'droid tablet. No idea how it runs on less-powerful devices.

    View zapaman's journal. | View all entries by zapaman

    Ratings

    Coolness67%
    #301Graphics3.50
    #436Humor2.50
    #555Overall3.21
    #677Innovation3.00
    #689Fun2.89
    #755Mood2.76
    #775Audio2.25
    #1111Theme2.16

    Comments

    datacr4sh says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:11am

    fun game, great art!

    Kedume Bits says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47am

    I like the graphic stuff.

    gwa says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21am

    i like it but i am a bad god :)

    Kuupu says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29am

    Nice concept!
    I couldn't manage to win yet :(
    What kind of algorithm did you use to generate the world?

    zapaman says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

    @Kuupu: it's a simple 'algorithm'. Create a map that's all water. Then, take 3 passes over it.

    First Pass:
    - select a random tile on the map
    - move around the tile in a clock wise rotation (spiral) and mark random tiles in your path as grass tiles
    - the more grass neighbors a tile has, the more chances to become a grass tile
    - repeat this process <mapWidth/2> times

    Second Pass:
    - loop through the entire map again and check for single grass tiles (separated from the land-mass)
    - remove all (or mostly all) stray grass tiles

    Third Pass:
    - loop through the map and place trees and mountains on grass regions that have grass neighbors. Bonus points if you can center the trees/bushes around the center of an island
    - finally, check to see if a grass tile has a water tile beneath it. If so, replace the water tile with a transition tile between grass and water.

    There are a few more in-depth articles that cover a similar usage if you search for island procedural generation on google.

    LostTrainDude says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:02pm

    Being a fan of the genre, I really loved to see a game like this between the entries.

    You did a great job in the short span we had to develop. It's maybe still unbalanced (or maybe I just suck at it :P) but I hope to see an enhanced version sooner or later!

    Congratulations!

    Flyinpig5 says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

    Fun little game! Really liked the art style of it! Not too sure how it is linked in with the theme, though...

    tigerbyte says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

    Fun little game. I managed to kill all my guys in record time!

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

    The idle mode was sort of uninteresting for me, it just seemed like a lot of waiting and my population seemed to increase anyway although maybe not quickly? At least I think it would help being able to see some progress in the idle state?

    I found a bug where a member would get stuck in hunt mode and not being able to attack. Might happen just on the portals?

    Also when a new member was born they would always be too weak and get eaten as soon as I hunt. No matter how much I trained.

    Otherwise, was fun to play! :D

    JaJ says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

    I didn't get past 6, died of hunger hunting for food each time. Other than that, the game is really charming.

    capsizedmoose says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18pm

    it's a little buggy but it's pretty fun :D i like the easy controlls :)

    From Smiling says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46pm

    Enjoyable! I like the idea, and the graphics suit it well! I feel like the game is sort of arbitrary / random though, sometimes they would just never mate, and some ai would just run away and starve

    royvanrijn says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:56am

    Loved it!

    robbiehunt says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05pm

    This seemed like the sort of game I wouldn't enjoy.

    But it totally changed my mind, I played more than twice. Nice job, now I'm curious about more games like this. I hope you develop this further!

    DrPrettyPatty says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:59am

    That was unbelievably hard! I did better when I started off training them half to death then hunting, but I never managed to beat it. Great job though, I'm really impressed that you managed this in 48 hours!

    bogdanmaier49 says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:55pm

    Interesant :)

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:07pm

    Boy, I cannot get these goblins to live, even when it spawns a bunch of them for me. I can't seem to see any health indicators on wolves, so I can't tell whether my people are hitting them or not, and sometimes I get goblins that just don't fight or wander off into the corner of the map and starve. It makes me wish I had some kind of rally point to send them all to, and/or gather and share food so that one strong goblin doesn't keep killing and eating all the wolves before the others can get there.

    Noah Ratcliff says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:19am

    Interesting concept. It seemed like at times my subjects would not feed, and that resulted in them inevitably dying off :(

    damrem says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:20pm

    Couldn't get more than 6 warriors at once, but loved the concept.

    runvs says ...
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:41pm

    Nice Idea, though i did not really manage to create a tribe with enough people. I think this could work great as a tamagotchi for grown ups.
    Sound would have been nice.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]