Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Intergalactic Delivery Services Corporation

by sP0CkEr2 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Intergalactic Delivery Services Corporation
"We Connect Worlds"

Thanks for trying the game. It is a very simple puzzle type game where you need to trade resources with other planets. You have limited fuel so choose your course carefully.

I intend to add to this game to make it more difficult. This was out of scope for the compo.

Have Fun!

Don't forget to comment so I can try your game too.

- Paul


how to play:

touch a planet to begin launch
release to travel

trade resources with planets

needed resources are in red

available resources are in blue

8/24
fixed major bug in one of the levels which caused a crash

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#310Theme3.58
#360Innovation3.42
#506Audio2.78
#562Graphics3.10
#585Fun3.00
#618Overall3.15
#679Humor2.15
#707Mood2.81

Comments

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51pm

I really enjoyed the non-standard mix of strategy and physics-based gameplay. The art, the music and the sounds were top-notch and blended very well together. More gameplay elements to deal with would be nice, it was a little simple for my taste (Pick planet ordering then launch to those planets in order, rinse and repeat).

Flyinpig5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Music and graphics are cool (Although that pulsating buzz in the levels was really annoying). Great little mobile game!

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:53pm

I couldn't not rate this one, since I did a similar take on the theme (different mechanics)

cptnwaffles says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Your UI elements require holding down the mouse for a long time, causing me to think the game was buggy since I couldn't get the play button to click immediately. Also, the controls could use some tuning to make this more playable.

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Pretty fun! After I figured out how the puzzle piece of it worked I ended up flying through the stages (although aiming things gets much harder later on)! Great job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13pm

@cptnwaffles sorry you had trouble with the ui, no one else has reported problems. also, what would you suggest for tuning? thanks for the great feedback.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Very fun game! I like the idea a lot, and the graphics worked well. Super hard!

Wertle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28pm

I think you have a really clever core mechanic going on here. A big challenge you have is in UI and how to convey all the information going on, I was confused at first that the colors of the planets were telling me what was needed/obtainable, etc. Also, more feedback for how much fuel you have would be helpful since it's really important. I'd say if you plan on continuing working on this, that pacing out all these different mechanics will be really important (for example, having fuel not be an issue on the first level and just teaching out to escape planet gravitational pull, then introduce resources, then introduce different color planets with different gravity, etc). If you spread all that stuff out a little at a time, it'll make learning all this extra information easier without putting a huge burden on UI.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41pm

@Wertle Great feedback. Wanted to work on the UI ramp up but no time. Thanks.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Launching between planets is quite fun once you get the hang of it, though some additional visual to help make it obvious that you're "charging" while winding up I think would help. Solid result for 48 hours, good work!

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

Nice Game ... I got confused with the the coloring of the planets :)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17pm

It took me sometime to control well the trajectory of the shuttle, then the game becomes challenging when you try to go between two planets to reach a third one.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:32am

Interesting gameplay mechanics, I could see it evolving into a fun game with some more mechanics thrown in. Maybe make some planets that change what they provide with a set time, or regenerate goods. Some wormholes to jump through, other puzzle features and I could see this working well. Has potential for a mobile game too since it's a one touch interface. I'm sure it was an oversight from the 48 hour limit, but in level 4 the inventory GUI covered up the planet GUI for me.

StrideWide says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:03pm

It took me a while to realize that I needed to speed up for a while to launch, but other than that I liked it.

Linusson says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:17pm

A fun idea and well implemented. The background sound got a bit tedious after a while but other than that it was a really nice game and I played through all the levels. :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:37am

Great physics! Really nice mechanic and mix of genre!

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:05am

Great concept, moving the ship around felt pretty good. Was a bit easy to get the optimal path though.

smizmeal says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

Very good use of gravity / trading among planets. I didn't have any trouble with the UI. The levels were fun, too!

Mapboy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:49am

Music sounded really neat and it was a fun little game to play. Enjoyed it!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

This was cute. I liked it. The graphics are nice, the idea was pretty novel, and the gameplay was intuitive and fun. nicely done.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:53am

Objectives of the game was bit confusing at the start. However I did end up playing for quite a bit and ended up completing most of the levels :D. Overall I enjoyed it and I would recommend you move this to the app market, I think it would go well with touch input and especially with the level progression system. Good Luck!

mcapraro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:12am

very interesting mechanic, great job on your 48hr entry!

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:11am

Nice work for 48 hours. Good theme usage, ok graphics, ok sounds and music (volume need some adjusts, though).

dook says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:48am

The concept is really great, but it felt like the controls could use a little work. Like how quickly the ship speeds up, how easy it is to see where it'll go before you let go and so on. Could probably work well as a mobile game :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:39am

Fun :D I love the launch mechanic and the little space ship is adorable.

gwa says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Nice gravity game

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Playing this game is very confusing. I finished the first level without understanding the mechanics.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:19pm

@kylemac - really? what confused you the instructions at the beginning or the trading concept?

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Great game!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Nice game. I found it difficult to get the ship were I wanted though. Good effort!

sikosis says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:58am

Nice physics launching.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I really like the primary gameplay mechanic and the puzzles seem well thought out as well although the controls might need a little fine-tuning (Sometimes it launches just as soon as I hold the button down).

Also I should note that the green planet on the bottom of level 4 is obscured by your UI.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I loved the launching mechanic, although I think speed should ramp up a little faster. The physics worked well. Simple but interesting game. Good job!

malf says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Very good game , fun and simple :D

Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:37am

It's a really fun and simple game with an interesting mechanic. Loved it!

I had some problems in lv 7 with the red and green planets. As they are too close to each other the ship bounced from one to the other whenever I wanted to land on one of them, wasting fuel and usually leaving me on the wrong one. Took me a few attempts to get it right. I kinda missed a way to insta-retry the level (for when you make a mistake).

A solid entry though. Good job!

Razoric says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:31am

Fantastic game all around. Love the polish, the graphics, slingshot mechanic and the overall challenge. Again, great game!

panurge says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Very nice, polished entry with fun puzzles. The 'wind-up' launching mechanic was fun too.

Only (very small ) bug I spotted was on level 4 - the list of resources held covers up the resources needed on one of the planets. Didn't really affect anything though as I could guess what must be there.

Altogether, a very enjoyable game!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Neat idea. You could polish this up and head to mobile I think? A lot of good feedback above for polish so I won't repeat it. Solid entry and well done 48hr game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]