Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Whimsical Adventure At The Other Side Of The Rainbow

by kibertoad - Jam Entry

"Whimsical Adventure at the Other Side of the Rainbow" is a short visual novel with multiple endings in the self-proclaimed "willpunk" setting. It has elements of mystical horror, maybe a (not) love story, and two of the coolest swords ever crafted by men.

The game is controlled almost completely by mouse, in a usual VN fashion. F12 to toggle fullscreen, F10 to quit.

Pay attention, unwise choices may lead you to an early ending or back to the start of the game. However, wise choices (or choice) may lead to a random result. It is fully intended; we are pretentious like that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#27Mood(Jam)4.06
#62Audio(Jam)3.86
#190Graphics(Jam)3.87
#197Overall(Jam)3.49
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#402Theme(Jam)3.13
#508Fun(Jam)2.82
#530Humor(Jam)2.03

Comments

Jvdo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:21am

Awesome. I have no idea what was going on, but the writing was exceptional. Everything complemented the writing: the intriguing drawings, the fascinating music and the eerie setting made this a truly unique experience. Well done.

"I..I feel like everything is connected somehow..."

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30am

This was a quite different game. I like it :D

skullum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:32am

Great visuals and writing, it was a very immersive experience

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50am

This game encourages you to use your imagination when playing through it, with the help of some abstract graphics and audio, I like it. Although, it is pretty confusing as to how the game ends, I think I may have found the right ending? Nevertheless, this game is spot on with the audio, graphic, and the mood is amazing, it is as though you were really in that universe.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01pm

how everything works together is just mind-blowing. gj

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Nice prose, great music, beautiful illustrations. AND the ability to stop the text from scanning, instead printing in one block! What more could you ask for? Great work for the Jam! =)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Illustations were very nice, nice entry and amazing experience.

dook says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Full marks on the graphics and mood in this one! I love the drawings and the writing was really good in parts. I played it a few times, never really 'getting it', but I guess I'm not supposed to and I enjoyed it anyway ;)

abeing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22pm

ok this got me... you are genius!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Very Unique Style. I like it...

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56am

Oh man, that was beautiful - the music was especially engaging and haunting. I'll definitely play through a few more times and find some other endings.

I am reminded just a touch of I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream, which is def. a cool thing to be reminded of.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:25am

Great visuals, sounds and writing, good job!

Toubib says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:31am

Nice game

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

You are an artistic genius! This was so cool! Thanks for posting it :)

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Very atmospheric adventure! Reminded me clips of Tool a bit. Nice experience.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Spooky! o.o
Also, I got to be free, apparently. Yay?
(not exactly my favourite atmosphere, though; I generally prefer to have somewhat solid idea about what happened, eventually ^^")

On a side note, the first screenshot looked like a colour-swapped version of Cheshire Cat from American McGee's Alice. ^^"

Glaydur says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I seem to have kept getting 'bad' or no endings save for one. Damn beautiful artwork though. I also love the typewriter effect!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Unique and captivating. Great work!
~funkeh

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:40pm

This is neat! I was especially drawn by that very powerful first section--the "making of a world," as it were. It reminded me of that section of Watchmen where Dr. Manhattan is... er... assembled. Later prose could, I think, stand to be a little sparser because what you have feels monotone and inflexible as the writing wears on. Of course, if we are talking pretension then there's always the possibility that this was intentional--but I felt specifically *unimpressed* rather than experiencing an immersive emotion, and I can't see how alienation from the player avatar and the story itself at that juncture would serve your purposes.

All those things being said, though, I enjoyed the time I spent with it enough to go find 3 or 4 endings, and really dug the audio and graphics. Thank you for the game!

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:26am

This is actually very entertaining, well done.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Normally not my cup of tea, but I took the time and I have to say it was worth it. Good job and awesome writing!

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:01am

Great writing, nice graphics and superb mood overall :D

Ramiel says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Great writing. Very abstract story but it fit nicely with the graphics and sound.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]