Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

STREAM

by airdeck - Jam Entry

Would have submitted for the Compo, but I worked a few hours past submission. In the end I don't think this is a very fun game, but it was fun to dust off my programming skills again and make something over the weekend. Had a lot of fun just making something.

Use the mouse and click to aim and start streaming data. Your goal is to stream as much to the other planets in 60 seconds. You can bounce your signal off of satellites, which can be rotates. The A and S keys control the closest satellites, and Z and X control the outer ones. Space bar will halt their movement.

I used Flash as I figure here it's an appropriate choic: it's perfect for rapid prototyping, has an easy workflow for graphics, and aside from mobile/tablet works across browsers and platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#127Innovation(Jam)3.56
#143Theme(Jam)3.67
#424Graphics(Jam)3.28
#597Overall(Jam)2.89
#651Fun(Jam)2.50
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

MaesK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Haha, nice little game, it proved I'm really bad at pointing satellites at each other :D Reminds me of QWOP but with expensive technology!

I only missed some sounds or music, and maybe WASD controls instead of ASZX, but great work! Fonts and graphics are really cool

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Nice game!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:26am

Huh, so there no real objective to the game, other than pointing at antennas to see how long you can do it until time's up and bam game over! Could at least add in an entry, or a leveling system as to get so amount of score before time runs out to level up. -_-

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:55am

Great innovation. Good job!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:23am

I love the concept and it's just as difficult as expected, but it really does lack that purpose that gives a game long-term playability. Understandable from an LD and I hope you keep developing the idea into a more fleshed out game! :)

CoolIron says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:07am

Good job! :)

kristof says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:29am

Nice Game! It is fun to play, on german keyboards it's difficult to play, because y and z are exchanged - wasd would be a wiser choice! Anyway, Great Work!

brokenbeach says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:46am

Cool idea. And it looks lovely. I'd love to see the idea expanded a bit. Perhaps more of an objective. But I understand that games are always a bit rushed during comps.

JangoBrick says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:43am

Nice game, cool graphics. I'm just really bad at it... probably because it's hard to play with a QWERTZ keyboard, where Z is located where your Y key is.
But I like the concept, it is a decent little game.

pansapiens says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:11am

Nice looking planet textures (especially the Jupiter-like one). I think the system and rules you have in place have real potential, but I agree that you didn't exploit it fully to find the fun in 48 hours. Maybe adding some elements (random idea: enemy satellites that orbit to try and intercept the message, insta-death if they do) would make it more interesting. Also, since it's mostly mouse driven, I'd like to be able to drag (or mouse wheel ?) to rotate your satellites.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]