Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Northlonde

by Martins - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Business simulation game. Build factories and rack up the money. But watch out for those shameless chimneys, they might ruin your day* **.

_____
* - air quality does not influence profits.
** - if anyone is wondering this subtle environmentalism is the Theme.



Controls:
[A] or [1] - build Factory type A
[B] or [2] - build Factory type B
[C] or [3] - build Factory type C
[U] or [space] - upgrade selected factory
[D] or [backspace] - demolish selected factory
[left] & [right] - move placeholder/factory selector
[I]- show/hide FPS
[M]- mute/unmute music

Quick tutorial:
Start by building Type A factory (press [A]) in any slot, it will start to purchase
"Fundamentals", transform them into "Components" and sell those.


---
About web version:
a) Please don't use page zoom - it messes up my poorly-put- together layout
b) Might not work on macOSX, please use standalone version


---
Made using:
- Unity
- Microsoft Visual Studio Express
- Paint.net

With help from:
http://www.1001freefonts.com/ (Fonts)
http://www.leshylabs.com/apps/sfMaker/ (Sounds)
http://tones.wolfram.com/ (Music)
http://oobleck.org/steam/ (Game title)
http://www.noisetexturegenerator.com/ (Noise image)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#67Mood3.79
#110Graphics3.97
#379Overall3.38
#528Audio2.75
#623Fun2.97
#634Innovation3.06
#886Humor1.76
#1083Theme2.25

Comments

orukinawa says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Nice job. Business sim games are really rare specially in game jams. ;)
Just my opinion: I think pt and click control would make it easier to play

Martins says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Thanks.
You can play with mouse, forgot to explain:
a) clicking in upper half of screen -selects-slot-
b) in lower right quadrant there are:
b1) if factory is not selected: -build- links
b2) if factory is selected: -upgrade- and -demolish- links

Links do not have hover effect.

ForrestS49 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Love the game!
Is there another effect from the smog besides the graying background?

maxkm5st1 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:44pm

this is amazing great job

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Beatiful design. Love business sim. :)

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:02pm

It is really beautiful! Love the mood.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Very nice!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Good game, graphics are simple but work very well, congrats!

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47pm

A little bit to much information at first, but it's a nice sim. The art style is very great.

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Beautiful

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57pm

great visuals and fun gameplay. It took me a second to realize how things worked, but it was great to see the build up of my factory empire after i got the hang of it.

Kavehes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Very good, the graphics and the music works really well together.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03pm

This is pretty nice simulation game, with interesting graphics.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14pm

The upgrade and demolish commands (keyboard or mouse) aren't working for me at all (I'm playing the web version in Firefox)
I really like the visuals and music. Very bleak and urban.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Loved it!

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Took me a while to get my head around how the game works. The graphical style is fantastic and most of all consistent, evokes the industrial era perfectly. Absolutely great job there.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Loved the artwork, animation and general aesthetic

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47pm

I like the graphics and the concept. I miss some help messages when tryng to build factories without money or else. I don't see the relation with the competition theme.

Fre says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Looks nice! Upgrade/Demolish are not working for me either (web on chrome).

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Fun fun fun!

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56pm

So uncommon to see a business sim in this short of a time period. Very impressed, and it looks great as well.

Majko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I'm not sure how it connects to the theme.

Agecaf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Quite interesting, and the music was well chosen to fit the game!

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Hmm, this game has that old feeling to it (and I like it!), the music (as repetitive as it is), kind of gave me a very weird but calming feeling. However, I felt like this game is just "get fund, upgrade, get fund, buy" kind of game, unless you are going for the time wasting kind of game. Overall, this game has made me played for a while now, thank you for such a good game :)

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Hey that's funny, the game we did is also a factory building simulation!

The graphics and UI are really nice, I really like the way buildings are built, it's clean, innovative, and quite satisfying.

Like Nichii said the down side is that there's not much strategy in play here. What might make the game really awesome is to simply make the buy/selling prices vary with time: build too much of the same thing and your goods will lose their value in favor of other products. The goal would be then to find the perfect balance for maximum and stable profit.

Overall it's a nice and well polished entry, congrats!

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Great game :) Interesting and fun!

Mr. Chelnoque says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Definitely a nice style and interesting minimalistic mechanic to maintain a balance

Fumiko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I like your game. Especially in gamejams most games are a little harder than it's fair - but in northlonde even if i was weary if i was doing the right thing the game didn't immediatly bit my arse. It may be due to the lack of sleep but something about the relaxed pace of this game really appealed to me. However now I have succesfully cluttered the screen with factories and are closing in on 2oo k profits. Well - when I read the description again I guess that makes me the loser then, right? Nice graphics and mood too!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I really liked the old-timey business graphics + feel. You managed to present the tried-and-true business simulation genre in a fresh and interesting way. Very well done! Only complaint is that the music was a bit repetitive.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:36pm

i don't really get how it fit's the theme but it was okay I guess. nothing really influences what happens so it's just "click button, wait, click button, wait" but i guess some people like that :) not my cup of tea but good job :D

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41pm

very original style and approach. I really liked it :)
I actually left this running and switched between the other entries I am playing and keep coming back to it. good work

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Art/design is amazing.

orbitantlers says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45am

Got stuck playing this for a while. Would live to try a more involved version. Wonderful aesthetic.

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:20pm

The game was a bit easy, but I think maybe that's part of the message you're trying to convey. How easy it is to pollute the air.

Cool looking for such a simple interface. Also the sad music fits the message perfectly.

Just not sure how it fits the theme...

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Love simulation entries. This one is particulary good

hadesfury says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:49am

Great game. I love the mechanic

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:53am

visually brilliant and very atmospheric, not sure about the theme, is it the disconnect between profit and environment? I like the sounds as well except the warning sound which is much louder than the other ones and quite jarring.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:15am

I particularly love playing business sim games, so finding yours was a rare treat. However, I must say the audio gets annoying very quickly and there should be a way of speeding up the time. Overall though a good game. Great effort!

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:14am

I love those blocks factory .. the graphic is awesome as it builds up

Artamus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Very nice game, congrats!

ninjascript says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:08am

I love the art style. I'd love to see under the hood a little bit more, but I really like what you've done here.

hbocao says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:21am

Very polished entry. Good job! My only complaint is that I found it kinda slow right at beginning.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:01pm

very cool graphics! i like the style. A bit more possibilities would be great as well.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Nice sim game! It's a little slow paced, but easy to understand. I love the art and design! great job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]