Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Scribble Death

by chrupp - Jam Entry

Scribble Death is a puzzle game where death is the gate to another (slighty different) world. But those worlds are connected! Your actions can affect not only your current surroundings but also objects in the after life!

Use arrow keys or WSAD to move, SPACE to interact, R to restart.

Made with Phaser and bfxr. Our music guy is sick so we don't have any. Sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#116Innovation(Jam)3.59
#125Theme(Jam)3.71
#273Humor(Jam)2.68
#304Graphics(Jam)3.57
#320Overall(Jam)3.31
#344Fun(Jam)3.10
#461Mood(Jam)2.94
#572Audio(Jam)2.33

Comments

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32am

Love the sketched drawing aesthetic, reminds me of dropbox somehow.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

The sound is REALLY loud. But the graphics are cute and it is FUN. A little wonky to move around but over all awesome job!

polyboxgames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:40am

Love it! The puzzle aspect of the worlds was really creative. The art style is pretty amazing, too.

Sestren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

Fun game and the art style was done well and very cute.

pjchardt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46am

Really nice premise and graphics. I enjoyed the puzzles. I think the controls could use a bit of polish. Also, I played a game recently that let the player undo step by step. This could help the frustration of having to restart when farther in a level.

jpcote says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Good game, it was fun to play. I died so much :)

spotco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01am

interesting puzzle mechanic involving the player's death

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:13am

Awesome graphics and intriguing gameplay! Good job! :)

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14am

Need a lot fo try/restart but very nice and super cut universe, well done :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14am

The best thing in the game was the art, it has a very unique and nice feel to it. Well done overall!

Terrabalt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

Puzzles that needs you to kill yourself. how rare is those type of game is?

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33am

Very original game but I can't find a solution of the nord-east part of the map..(the third death more or less)

chrupp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39am

Thanks for the feedback! Hint: The ghost tells you find a good place to die.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:51am

great concept, nice graphics and very inovative

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:52am

Cute entry, but too much trial and error. overall I liked it

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Awesome graphics. Love it! Nice game.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Graphics is really cool.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12pm

awfully confusing, but still pretty cool.
The visuals are definitely the strong suit, here.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Original and fun but it's difficult to understand

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Good game! I had to restart a lot though

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Interesting idea. Unfortunately, I seemed to get stuck on the spike in the upper-right corner - I kept dying and was unable to move out of the way of the spike as I came back to life.

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Love the graphics, really interesting concept that took some thinking about. I liked the way the sections built on each other though I did find it a little confusing. Oddly emotional!

markusfisch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:25pm

I like the sketch graphics and the idea that you must die to proceed. Definitly something else! Well done!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:54pm

I really like that game. Can you please make some easier introduction levels?

the says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

It is awesome but need one death back instead of full level restart.

chrupp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

Thanks for the feedback! We are working on a post-compo version with better introduction and better reset mechanics. We made the levels in the final hours so we hand not enough time to make them as fun as we wanted.

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:03am

It took me a lot of trial and error to really understand what to do. A couple of beginning gradually-more-difficult levels to start the game would really help. The controls were a little clunky, especially when trying to open doors.

The game already has a fun mechanic, and a fun art style. With some refinement and slower difficulty curve, it would add up to a very nice game.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:12am

Nice little puzzle game, love the pen drawn graphics

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:29am

Simple but really fun game, very smart puzzles.

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:00am

Great art style, great level design, lots of fun. Really great job overall, although I did feel like I had to start levels over a little too frequently.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:01am

Really nice doodle like puzzle game... hey your sound is as loud as in my game... Like the art very much... good job...played it for a couple of minutes... more than the most of all other games ;)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:23am

Niiiceee. Great drawing style and game mechanics. Would like not to have to restart from the beginning each time I press R, but from the last movement I made. Good job!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Good job :)

Larzan says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Wow, that is a great game, beautiful visual style, nice riddles, a complete game, you should develop it further!!!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:17pm

That's really original. Good puzzles and style. It would be great to see a longer game with more of a story. The controls seem to lag a little. Also it says I got 13 out of 4 diamonds :D.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]