Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Konigsberg

by kblaney - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I worked off of the Graph Theory definition of "connected" for this one. That is, a graph is connected provided that between any two vertices there is a path of edges that starts at one and ends at the other. The arguably most famous Graph Theory problem is the "7 Bridges of Konigsberg" which is the name sake of this game. The idea of the problem is to find a way to cross each of 7 bridges without crossing the same bridge twice.

This game is a first person puzzle/maze. Your goal is to visit each house and then pass through each door without passing through the same door twice. Controls are the standard FPS controls: WASD moves, mouse looks. Due to a time crunch, quitting can be accomplished through the console (usual Unreal commands) or with Alt+F4.

If you fail a puzzle, you can reset it by leaving the house and reentering. Solving all of the houses will unlock the final puzzle. Good luck finding and solving the final puzzle.



This has been made with UDK with special thanks to UDKResources.com for some textures and Professor Lamp (jrtheories.webs.com) for the music. As a result, the source provided in the rar is a map file, some UScript classes and some packages. The packages are a wreck right now, so I'll probably do some cleaning to get the download size down a bit.

I wanted to add closing doors and have the bridges between the floating islands to raise up when you finished house puzzles, but unfortunately I really ran low on time and couldn't fit it in. Beyond that I wanted to do more with the puzzle design but ran into some technical issues with BSPs. Basically plenty of stuff on the "to-do" list to make this a proper game, but only if people find the existing puzzles to be somewhat entertaining.

Thanks for playing. If you rate, please leave a note about your game so I can rate you back. Also, please let me know if you finish the final puzzle as it is something of a secret.

Also, as a PSA: Google Chrome is reporting some games as malicious or possibly malicious. It appears to be reporting this because all of these new programs are not downloaded often and haven't been checked by any Google bots, as a result, this warning might go away by itself after a bit. If this is happening to you go to your settings and then show advanced settings so you can untick "enable phishing and malware protection".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#272Mood3.33
#293Graphics3.52
#297Innovation3.50
#353Audio3.05
#505Humor2.40
#623Theme3.17
#646Overall3.12
#892Fun2.65

Comments

jomomomo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

Can't play windows games. :-(

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

Well... I think something went wrong during your compilation. I'm not familiar with UDK but it looks like you've uploaded some sort of template for Unreal multiplayer. It was a level called "Citadel" with a bunch of Boston Baked Beans floating in mid-air? Definitely not what I expected. Not rating this game as I consider this to be unplayable with this error.

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10am

Oh no. Something definitely went wrong packing the game then. I'll double check the settings. Thanks for letting me know.

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53am

Thanks again for the report, DoobieDoctor5000. Figured it all out. Forgot to change one silly ini file in my rush to package at the end. It is reuploading as we speak.

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21am

Interesting idea. And for me it is double interesting, because I am from Konigsberg)

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:10am

All that walking got a bit tedious. :)
But very nice presentation.
Skybox was flickering.

shasharala says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49am

Oh, I love puzzles.
That little melody at the beginning was quite nice and relaxing as well.
I have yet to finish this... and have had some issues resetting some houses (I assumed leaving and entering them worked?), but this was a fun little game.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23am

I like the concept.

I have some issues with the excecution though. The distances to walk are too long, and it is hard to tell which houses you have been to already. A little green light above solved ones or any indicator like that wouldve been very useful.

I also could not solve the big house, as it would reset whenever i went through any door in it.

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Naksrifati, I can only imagine how weird it was to see the name then. Haha!

Talecrafter, noted about the walking and skybox. The original plan was to make them floating islands with a bit more visual interest in between, but there just wasn't the time. (I don't know why I thought there would be.)

Shasharala, I'm glad you liked the puzzles. Yes, exiting and then reentering resets the puzzle to a solvable state. It will also reset the puzzle if you go through the same door twice, which is something of a kludge on my part to save time with Kismet (UDK's visual scripting language).

Lars Faust, thanks for the feedback. The original plan would have included closing doors and the sky bridges connecting the houses rising up from nothing upon completing the puzzles. Completely ran out of time for that. Although your idea got me thinking that maybe a "score board" like object somewhere to indicate what has and hasn't been solved is a good idea also. Definitely something to consider for a further refinement of the idea.

cacciatc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

A lot of walking, but the view was great. Also thanks for the PSA I was wondering why that was the case with Chrome.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Lots of walking, but an interesting take on the 7 bridges problem :)

leDragoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58pm

388 Megabyte download?

kblaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09am

Thanks for playing Cacciatc. Yeah, as you can see that's the going feedback so far. In a refined version I'll definitely put things closer together.

TBamberg, I'm glad you've heard of the problem. :)

leDragoon, yeah, thank UDK for that. Unfortunately it packages a bunch of overhead to run Unreal. (The UDK part was a challenge to me because I failed a previous jam with t and wanted revenge.)

doos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Houses started resetting when I went through every door after a while (6/7), and the music stopped.. Was nice to listen to.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Soooo slooooow. Would be nice to have an ingame explanation. Presentation is very impressive. Overall really nice :)

kblaney says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Doos, hmm... must have forgotten to set the music to loop. Oops:)

Nonetheless. I was hoping to get a bit more feedback into the game for making progress toward finishing a puzzle (audio and visual) instead of outright saying "this is how you solve it". That bit is inspired partially by something Jon Blow said about The Witness which is that he thinks his lack of direct explanation feeds into the exploration aspect of the game. None-the-less (see what I did there? Ha!) I appreciate the feedback. People seem to be able to figure out and actually enjoy like these kinds of puzzles so I think this is worth fleshing out a bit and testing a bit more.

I'd also like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has given me feedback on this, including the people who have done so anonymously with just a rating (can't wait to get those results). You all went a pretty long distance out of your way considering the *huge* download on this thing.

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

I wanted to try this but have mac :(

ra4king says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:00am

Very impressive use of the UDK engine, nice job.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:48am

Nice game! Great idea to use Graph theory here :)
Loved the music and whole presentation of the game. The only thing: I can't reset 5th house and can't figure out how to complete one room inside the house with 3 doors. You use one of the doors to enter the room and have 2 more to other rooms. Maybe I'm wrong thinking that the last door must be the exit, then you can use this room as last room :)

kblaney says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Thanks ra4king, I was getting "revenge" on UDK since I failed at a previous jam with it. Haha!

CoolIron, I just went back and looked at the map to see what you were talking about because there shouldn't be a room in that house with only 3 doors. Apparently one of my subtractive BSPs got out of order in the final version and, thus, didn't actually create the door like it should have... the puzzle is impossible and I'm embarrassed. :(

I was thinking that puzzles of this variety could include houses with 2 exterior doors to take the form like you describe. I didn't include anything like that, but it would be included in a fleshed out version (which I'm thinking might start happening in January). Other fun ideas I had would be using portals to make impossible architecture (thus forcing people to make graphs instead of maps), "one way" doors such as rooms with broken stairs (creating directed graphs), and also extending the idea of the puzzles to not just the houses but also the towns. In this version you were supposed to be able to get a notice if you managed to cross each bridge connecting the houses but only after you completed each of the houses. Since House 5 is impossible, that final puzzle is impossible to activate.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:15pm

It does look very nice, although I'm sure the Unreal Engine helps a bit with that ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]