Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mars communication simulator 2k14

by phasebeta - Jam Entry

Oops - I forgot I can't use outside assets, so this is actually a jam entry.

Game summary:

This game comes PACKED with action, adventure and gameplay rivaling the CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED E.T. for Atari. This has more story than the back of a taco bell HOT SAUCE packet, more ACTION than your last friday night sitting at home watching TV. More ADVENTURE than indiana jones puppy at daycare! Don't pass up on this great game.

This game is ON SALE NOW for the amazing price of ABSOLUTELY FREE. If you ever dreamed of changing the WORLD, you should play this game.


Competition notes:

Art for the walking dude, big alien ship and tilemaps are from opengameart.org. All other art created painfully by hand.

All code, except for FlxExtendedButton and Fx classes (which were created last weekend), were created over the last 48 hours.

All music created using FL Studio.

All sound created using audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Theme(Jam)3.67
#319Humor(Jam)2.54
#427Innovation(Jam)2.96
#462Audio(Jam)2.85
#496Mood(Jam)2.88
#668Graphics(Jam)2.56
#697Fun(Jam)2.33
#726Overall(Jam)2.57
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

Looks like I can do infinite jumps. The sprites aren't reallly fitting, but the intro was amazing. You've also got a lots of points for innovation and theme :)

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

I think Larry said it best when he said, "WHAT THE ****!?" I like the sound and being able to fly. Great effort!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

Was a little confused about what to do and I think I swam into space, but nice job on the art and theme!

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22am

Nice job! I got stuck at the end though. (The battle thing)

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29am

Killer intro! Had me hooked.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

Strange game, couldnt figure out what to do, is there a street fighter character? or final fight?

Jaenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15am

Great game! Also really nice take on the theme! :)

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44am

The guys are flying when we hold down the jump key, weeeee! Nice intro though, the game itself felt a bit weird.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48am

I like your idea on the theme, another take on connected

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:57am

Nice intro!

ploogle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:45am

Very awesome effects and story "delivery" polish. The jumping and movement could have definitely used some work, but the base concept is pretty decent. :)

Music, graphics, and humor were great! High marks for those. :)

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:50pm

I was surprised by the story. The "What the ****" part made me giggle =P Neat concept. The controls are a little iffy but I definitely enjoyed playing it.

tbam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:09am

Music got a little overwhelming, but the concept was cool and the game was fun enough :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]