Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Killbot's Last Adventure

by udo - Jam Entry

This is Killbot's Last Adventure, one of three ideas I pursued this LD, made in pure HTML5. It's a Riven/Myst-type of deal, being a short walk-through adventure, about 5-10 minutes playing time probably.

# Controls

The controls should be self-explanatory - let me know if you find any bugs or get stuck.
- A, D for walking
- Enter to interact
- Space for killing things

Gameplay hint: since some people found it irritating I'd like to point out that you are not supposed to sit through the complete ramblings of the Planet Improver until the end. You're supposed to go through the gate after any amount of interaction you like.

# Compatibility

This won't run on IE, but any other modern browsers should be fine. The game requires a pretty hefty screen resolution of at least 1600x900. I didn't have time to make a low res mode, maybe I'll make one after the Jam.

# Tools used

This was made from scratch for LD30 with the following tools:
- Text editor ;)
- Cinema 4D
- Logic Pro X
- Audacity

Frameworks and libraries: jQuery, Howler.js, modernizr, Handlebars.js.

I went a little nuts there with the soundtrack, but I was all caught up in the awesomeness that is Logic Pro, which I had just purchased before.

----
# Post-LD Change Log

Patch1: the Chrome issue should be fixed now (thanks, jgthespy)
Patch2: fixed a graphics and control problem in the reactor core level (thanks, Colapsydo)
Patch3: added the YogNet to leave messages

----------------------------------------------
Don't just rate, leave a comment! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#83Humor(Jam)3.47
#114Audio(Jam)3.68
#124Graphics(Jam)4.09
#240Mood(Jam)3.35
#280Overall(Jam)3.37
#295Theme(Jam)3.36
#378Fun(Jam)3.04
#479Innovation(Jam)2.87

Comments

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

I never got past the intro, I waited like 5 minutes with endless text, are you suppose to be able to move while the intro text are displaying?

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35pm

It doesn't seem to respond to my inputs in Chrome.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:30am

Oh, f*ck, that's what I get for testing only in Firefox. Sorry! Yes, you are supposed to be able to move while the "intro" text is being displayed.

I think I fixed it - hopefully. Please let me know if it continues to not work.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Nice to see back Killbot and Cubot :)
I really like the adventure feeling.
I went until the core chamber where I just got blocked after the activation of the ejection.

I want to know what's next, I will play it again later.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Hey thanks Colapsydo :) What happens in the core, are there any error messages? When it says something like "ejecting 3..2..1" the next screen should load automatically after a few seconds. Let me know.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Colapsydo, you were right, the core was bugged. For starters, Killbot wasn't being displayed correctly. I also took the liberty of slightly changing the text of the last chat option so it's more clear that you have to select it to move on. Let me know if that helped!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:41pm

This is a lot of work! Really love the music, interesting locations (well modeled too)
I couldn't get past the second cultist though (killed the first)
Really interesting concept!

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:44pm

liquidminduk thanks. You just have to talk to the second cultist :)

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Wow. This was one of my favorite entries so far. Can't believe you did this in only 72 hours. I'd pay $30 to buy this if it were a commercial video game :3

Akurn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Bit bizarre, but nice outro!

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:01pm

FlashRocks: thanks, that's extremely nice to hear. It cost me a lot of sweat, nerves, and caffeine to push this out. And it's not actually what I had in mind for the game - originally I wanted to have real arcade action sequences in between the scenes, but time was running out... Also, I wanted to have REAL puzzles, the ones I put in are just kind of an excuse for the absence of actual puzzles...

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:06pm

A very impressive amount of content and quality for 3 days, especially since you made the music yourself! Killbot was fairly funny too, a nice surprise after all the serious games.

'Gameplay' was a bit simple and slow, not really my style. Could have been sped up maybe.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:10pm

adrenalinehigh_Jam: thanks :) When I went to bed on Monday, I was so exhausted and disappointed with my game, it's nice to hear that people actually like it. To be honest, you can see content quality degrading as the game progresses...

The music was actually done first (at least most of the pieces), on the first day - before there even was a real game. I kept listening to it as I programmed the levels.

I know, it's slow. Partly, that's intentional, it's supposed to be kind of a relaxing walk-through. But I can see how that's not everybody's style. And the timing is definitely off, I just didn't have the time to revisit the scenes and tweak them.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:38pm

OK, I replay the whole game and everything went ok.
I guess, I did something wrong last time, I went back to the core computer while the ejection message was displayed.

Backgrounds graphics are really beautiful. I was also pleased to see that lock games were not hardcoded.

I can't resign to the idea that it was the last Killbot adventure.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I don't think you did anything wrong, it was just awkwardly coded. I fixed the dialogue flow in that scene so people shouldn't get stuck there anymore. Hey if you hadn't reported the core I wouldn't have realized there was a graphics bugs, too!

> I can't resign to the idea that it was the last Killbot adventure.

I know what you mean :)

Boberro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Opened the reactor, cubot told me it's a one way trip and I'm stuck...

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Boberro: finish the Cubot conversation, that'll get you to the next screen.

Freudian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:22pm

WOW! 72 hours this is definitely an entry that requires attention, nicely polished and a good ending, my guess is that there are alternate endings. Overall a great game!

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Freudian: thank you, this means a lot to me :) No, there are not really any alternate endings - except on the last screen where you get a choice between killing Yog or continuing in his service.

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Good work, reminds me of the old pre-rendered days of gaming like myst. The text could advance quicker or on a click.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:17pm

mechabit: yeah, that was the intention :)
I know, the text timing is off, but I'll leave it like that now.

parahunter says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Waaaay too much text at the start. The game looked quite pretty though but could have used a tutorial. I'd suggest you do some more playtesting during the jam to fix those sort of issues. Also the browser related ones. Music was good

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:47pm

parahunter: Well thank you for your brutal honesty. There are some points I don't understand which make me think you might not have tried very hard to actually play the game. Or it just wasn't for you, that's fine of course.

Tutorial, what are you talking about? The _two_ keys to use at the beginning are both mentioned in the text above as well as on screen in the game itself. All the other things have context-aware hint texts. As far as the "too much text" is concerned, didn't you realize most of that screen is optional? All you have to do is dial the gate, done. How much you choose to interact with that scenario is entirely voluntary.

And pray tell, what are the browser-related issues you found, exactly? Because if you let me know, I'd like to fix them. But merely saying how I should have done playtesting isn't very productive.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Lovecraftian gods and killer robots. Thats all i wish for in an adventure game! Nice little story i very much enjoyed this.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:54pm

blurryroots: thanks, it's very much appreciated!

Remember folks, if you encounter any bugs, I'd like to hear about it! :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:35am

haha "in your face planetimprover!" :D Nice art and cool humor.. like the idea!

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:52am

psychomonster: not sure if you missed it, but the game goes further than the white dimension, right? :)

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

Well made game :) You've got a lot of stars.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:53pm

@udo noticed it... cause thought that this could not be the End :D

villhest says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Awesome! Love the art style. Can I have a Killbot? Please?

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Amazingly polished! The art style reminds a bit of fallout strangely enough. Great work!

gnx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

I couldn't get past the switches :D Production wise everything is really nicely polished and there's a ton of work clearly gone into this.

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Impressive visuals and both music quantity and quality!

Fun game too :)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Fantastic visuals, although I struggled a bit reading the text it fit the aesthetic well, solid game, awesome work :D

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:09pm

This game wsa... odd. I felt like I was playing Neverhood. Pretty interesting experience. I wish to knew some more information about this world.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Very pretty and moody. Damn, you made a lot of models. The first scene remembered me of Lost (the series), but I'm not sure why. Good job with the music, too. Great job!

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:59pm

A storyline over all your LDs. Neat! I like the 90s aesthetic (The lighting is totally off). Also the Okuda UI on the "Intrepid" computers is a nice touch.

jmf says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:05pm

This is an amazing entry. The graphics and music are fantastic.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:05pm

It was confusing, but definitely original. Excellent presentation.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:13pm

I finally killed all the right things. And enjoyed the journey! Nice short adventure, not so short for a ludum dare, quite the opposite. Very well done, great effort!
End of line.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Nice graphics, it almost looked like it was really 3D when the bot rotated :)

invader says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:30pm

wow! the production quality is superb! graphics are rendered unbelievably good and the music is really setting the mood... Also really cool font is used for dialogs.

Great game!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Great production value on the game. Dunno why but i kept having flashbacks of Machinarium game. Really well done.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:22am

"It's a Riven/Myst-type of deal" <3
It didn't feel tooo much like that though - more like a point&click adventure than an exploration/puzzle game. Not that that's a bad thing, I quite enjoyed it! The graphics and music are cool and I like the characters.

PS: I don't remember Myst/Riven featuring a killbot, but they sure were missing out!
PPS: I killed all the right things!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]