Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sharded

by Arowx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You find a mysterious giant ring that transports you to another realm.

Controls WASD to move and turn and LMB to select options.

Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SCBEv9TDYvo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#365Graphics3.41
#451Mood3.11
#728Humor2.10
#798Audio2.21
#833Innovation2.79
#912Overall2.83
#1026Theme2.41
#1052Fun2.39

Comments

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Good start! but couldn't quite figure out what the goal of the game was.

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Cool concept , perhaps some navigation on where to go would be nice. Got a little lost. If you also want to keep that low poly feel on the character I suggest doing that to all other gameobjects too. Will bring everthing together as a whole. Look up flat shading to get what I mean( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UF8mYdbUWVc )

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I loved the low-poly style! The shape of the land reminded me of Darwinia. The UI was a little jarring though, but it was easy to navigate.

I had fun with the rock-throwing spell, but managed to kill myself in the end haha :D

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Really cool looking game. Teleport is tor the win ;) Interesting story too. Will deffinatelly play more later.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Interesting but very confusing.. kept getting into water and dying from unseen enemies rocks

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01pm

It looks really good! You should make it more clear what is the goal of the game.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44pm

I like the character and intro! I was a bit confused about what to do or where to go, though.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19am

I wandered around, got very lost, got very wet. Is there a run button?

chadiik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I like the graphics very much,
I think however the Teleport ability should have been unlimited! Is this guy real slow or am I missing something?
I was exited to play your game as soon as I saw the screenshot but didn't quite have fun playing it!
I really loved Merlin at the start! :P

Polona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Pretty cool, but needed some explanations how to use the spells. I ended up killing myself with the meteor a bunch of times. Also some information about when they are ready would be nice. But then beeing able to open up portals with a spell. Teleporting around. Shooting different kinds of spells. Running through a meteor shower with a magic shield. Let us see more.

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

cool looking world. I especially liked the old man. keep up the good work :)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Graphics rule keep going could be a sweet game

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Nice graphics but couldn't figure out what to do. Keep it up!

Crosstales says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:58am

Nice starting point for a bigger game!
Keep on jammin'! ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]